Skip to content

Best Greeting Cards. Ever.

April 7, 2011

The One of a Kind Show is coming back to Toronto this spring and I could not be more excited.

I wholeheartedly plan to stuff my face at the ever present smorgasbord of free, gourmet samples. Of course, that is not the only reason I attend the winter and/or spring show every year. I always expect to discover some new artisans and there are several repeat exhibitors whom I watch for every year. Hug and Kiss Designs is the one designer that I showed up for the first time at the November 2011 show and I am really hoping they come back for spring.

When I discovered this most excellent and creative greeting card designer, I spent about half an hour obnoxiously cackling at every card I picked up. I did not feel at all self conscious because I was not alone. Okay, I may have stayed longer than most patrons (I did not leave until I had read every single card) but there were plenty of people who laughed just as hard as I did.  If I ever wrote greetings for cards, these are exactly the quips I hope would to spill forth from the recesses of my mind. I looked up the site online and was pleased to find the following disclaimer:

WARNING THIS SITE CONTAINS LANGUAGE
THAT SOME PEOPLE
| WITH NO SENSE OF HUMOUR |
MAY FIND OFFENSIVE.

Obviously a great start, right? And it only gets better from there. Here are some of the cards I bought back in November, cards which you can still purchase on the website:

Front:
Let’s Go Celebrate

Inside:
I’ll get the hookers.
You get the blow.

hug and Kiss Designs 2

Front:
Your smile makes me smile.

Inside:
Because you look like a fucking goof

hug & Kiss Designs 3

Front:
Hey friend.

Inside:
Did you lose my number?
Jerk.

Front:.
Have you heard the news?

Inside:
My vagina is awesome.

And the next one is my personal favourite, the one that I am not sure I can give away.The one following the koala is for my brother, who insists on throwing himself a birthday party EVERY year (granted he is only 13 but I digress).

Front:
You know who loves birthday parties?

Inside:
Little sissies.

I found this next one on their website and, if they indeed return to the One of a Kind this spring, I  fully intend to purchase it there:

hug and kiss 6

Front:
I don’t know what i’d do without you.

Inside:
I’d probably start fucking your mom.

There are so many more awesome cards on their site. They also have magnets, clothing and paintings. I hope that bring a good collection to their booth this year. Last year they had only cards and magnets so I am not sure if the clothing and art are new endeavours. I would LOVE a shirt that announces how awesome my vagina is. Or maybe I will buy it for my mom….

Visit the Hug and Kiss Designs website address. While you’re their, why not buy lots of awesomeness? Supporting Canadian artists is so easy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

