Skip to content

Friday the 13th Was My Lucky Day

May 14, 2011

I am honoured to have won a monthly writing contest held by What the Dickens, a writing and literary gifts store in the UK. I believe the flash fiction piece (250 words), entitled The Unlucky Fruit, will only be on their site for the next four weeks so, if you have a moment, please mosey on over to their site and check out my story about love and loss in the produce aisle. Then come back here and let me know what you thought of it. Unless you hated it, in which case, please give me a sugar coated version of what you thought.

After a quick search I found this fun image:
orange and tomato

Find a larger version of the image (and other cool ones) here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2011 8:48 pm

    Congratulations, D.C.!

    I loved the story and I’m going to share it with all of my friends (and I don’t mean just the cyber ones, either). It gave me a good laugh, and I found myself feeling sorry for the poor rejected fruit. Or maybe I was just having a flash back. Anyway, great story!

  2. May 14, 2011 9:04 pm

    Thanks Sharky! I’m glad you liked it. The theme of the contest was: Parting is such sweet sorrow.

    I always feel sorry for rotting fruit. lol!

    • May 15, 2011 3:21 am

      When I was in the produce aisle today, I thought of that poor little rejected fruit. Sad… so sad. I felt guilty when I didn’t pick the rotting fruit. 🙂

  3. May 15, 2011 12:55 am

    Oh, and thank you for sharing it with your friends!!!!

  4. May 16, 2011 10:04 pm

    Congrats! I’ll be sure to go and check it out 🙂

  5. May 16, 2011 10:32 pm

    Thanks Carolyn, I hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

