Skip to content

My Weekend With Kids. Surprisingly, It Went Well

June 15, 2011

I had a crazy busy weekend. I was forced to spend it with boys, ages 12-14. That is right. The WHOLE weekend. So on Friday night we watched Gunless, which was a fun movie. Saturday I took them to the Ontario Science Centre, which was also fun. I particularly enjoyed singing at the top of my lungs, making a wire sculpture move elegantly. Not only did the dynamic sculpture look totally awesome, it also afforded me one more  opportunity to embarrass the boys  in front of girls that were approximately their age.

These fish were part of a self-sustaing ecosystem exhibit, and they reminded me of the one in finding Nemo who was obsessed with bubbles:

fish waiting for bubbles

Of course, there was so much to see there, like this gigantic globe:

giant globe

Saturday night, I took the kids to Medieval Times, which I remember as being awesome for kids their age. Turns out it is awesome for kids my age, too. Check out the size of my alcoholic beverage ( a Caesar).

Giant Caesar
And check out the size of my boyfriend’s beer. Yay us!

Giant Beer

There was a particular part of the play when the handsome prince was dragged into the arena. Captive in chains, he was whipped and taunted by his captors and the crowd. Now I am not going to lie, I was a little turned on by this. I will examine this recently revealed part of my psyche at a later date.

captured prince

Sunday, I took the boys sailing around Toronto Island. It was a little windy and sometimes harrowing but the kids seemed to like that part best. At one point we keeled over so far that the top edge of the boat was slapping the waves. I started yelling “I’m not happy, I’m not happy, I’m not happy.” This turned out to be the catch phrase for the rest of the weekend. Luckily, after hosting a barbeque that involved a lot of wine for me, the weekend was over and I could finally send the little buggers home.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

