Skip to content

Awesome 80’s Cartoons

August 23, 2011

We’ve covered awesome My Ultimate 80’s Toys and My Three Fave 80’s Music Videos. Heck, I’ve even covered  wicked 80’s rap a while back. Now it is time to cover awesome 80’s cartoons. Keeping in mind that I did not have cable, and had to watch whatever cartoons I could around the schedule of my grandmother’s soaps (she lived down the street and was one of the few people in town with the magical cable box), here were (are?) my favourite 80’s cartoons. Oh, and after much contemplation, I decided puppet based shows count.

She-ra, Princess of Power

She-ra, Princess of Power

Jem, Truly Outrageous

Jem, Truly Outrageous. Truly, Truly, Truly Outrageous

He-man, The Most Powerful Man in the Universe

He-man, The Most Powerful Man in the Universe

WWF, Hulk Hogans Rock 'n; World of Wrestling

WWF, Hulk Hogans Rock 'n; World of Wrestling

The Smurfs

The Smurfs

Care Bears

Care Bears

Thunder Cats

Thunder Cats

Fraggle Rock

Fraggle Rock

Mr Dressup

Mr Dressup

As I started creating this list more and more popped into my head.  I had to stop somewhere. I stopped after Mr. Dressup and before Transformers. Sorry. Oh, and of course there was Sesame Street, but that goes without saying.

There it is folks, my list of awesome 80’s cartoons! What’s yours?

UPDATE: Want to see more cool 80’s cartoons? Visit Lisa McFerren’s blog. She posted videos complete with descriptions!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2011 1:08 am

    DC, you bring back some great memories. When I was a kid, I loved watching Fraggle Rock! I found out recently that the new Nick channel, The Hub shoes old episodes of Fraggle Rock. Although, I don’t think it would be the same watching it now. 🙂

    I also loved watching G.I. Joe, Transformers, Thunder Cats, He-Man, She-cough-cough-Ra-cough-cough, the Smurfs (and no, I’m not seeing the new Smurfs movie), and Dungeons & Dragons.

    Dungeons & Dragons was probably my favorite, considering I used to play D&D a lot with my older brother.

    Great post, DC!

    • August 24, 2011 2:41 pm

      I would love to see Fraggle Rock again just for funzies!

      Did you check out Lisa’s blog? I think she posted some video of Dungeons and Dragons.

      • August 25, 2011 1:26 am

        Yes, I did. I have the entire Dungeons & Dragons series on DVD. I got a great deal on Amazon.com last year.

  2. August 24, 2011 6:39 pm

    LOVE THIS POST!!! I miss the 80s cartoons (I know, they are all on DVD but still) — My 6 yr old son loves the SuperFriends and it’s so much fun to watch with him.

Leave a Reply

