Skip to content

Friday Spotlight with Erica Lucke Dean

October 7, 2011

I am so excited to have the talented and hilarious Erica Lucke Dean visit the blog today. Erica, I think you are very brave to participate in my first ever Friday Spotlight. For the  very few who are not aware, Erica writes romantic comedy, paranormal, and suspense novels. Her highly entertaining blog is about life and other assorted ridiculous things. Now that everyone is up to speed, let’s get this interview started!

Q. Welcome, Erica! So….where ya from?

A. Loaded question.  I have a hard time answering the “where are you from” question because I have lived in so many places.  I was born in New York State and lived in several different cities until I was a teenager when I moved to Pennsylvania.  From there I went to California, then Alabama, then Georgia, where I now live.   I think of myself as a “Yankee” living in the south

Q. Tell us all about your latest news.

I’m currently on Week 7 of my new fiction series, Tales of the Daywalkers.  I’m very excited about it.  The fans seem to love the story, and I get constant reminders to
keep it going.  I should be editing my current WIP or the book I have in submission with an agent, but I find myself writing Daywalkers instead.  It’s all good.  This is why I became a writer.

Q. Good lead into the next question! When and why did you begin writing?

A. I have been writing for as long as I can remember.  I used to write stories for my friends in middle and high school.  They still remember me as the girl who came up with the crazy stories.  We used to use them for skits in our classes.

Q. What inspired you to write your first book? 

A. My ex-husband inspired me to write my first book.  We were still married at the time, and I wrote the antagonist based on his personality.  He’s a horrible character, and he meets a terrible demise.  It was my passive revenge against the man.  The best revenge is to eviscerate someone in fiction.  It’s forever…you can even do it again and again

(Yeah, I love eviscerating people. Eviscerating people is the best.)

Q. Do you have a specific writing style?

People tell me there is something about my voice that comes through in the writing, so I guess I do have a specific style.  I would be hard-pressed to put a name on it, but I’ve had people who haven’t seen me in years send me a message telling me they could “hear” me while they were reading my blogs.  As if I was standing right next to them again.  So I would say that’s a pretty solid style.  What it means?  I have no idea.

Q. Where do you find inspiration?

A. I find inspiration in the strangest places.  For example…I asked my husband to describe something to me the other day…it was a smell…and as he was describing it, it made me think of a character.  I didn’t use a single word he came up with, but I pulled the imagery from that moment into the writing.  It was great.

Q. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?  

A. I learned that I could totally do it.  Write a book I mean.  For so many years I think I resisted actually diving in and doing it because of the fear of failure.  When I forced myself to stick to it and finish a whole book it proved to me that I had the stamina…the drive…and hopefully the talent necessary to really do this.  It’s absolutely the best job ever.  Now someone needs to pay me to do it. LOL

(lol!)

Q. Do you have any advice for other writers? 

A. Writers write.  Never forget that.  If you want to call yourself a writer, get in there and write.  Every day. Best advice anyone ever gave me.  Thanks Dad.

Okay, Erica. It is time to switch tacks and ask those difficult questions that will help us get to know the real Erica. )

Q. Who is your favourite cartoon character?

A. I’m still a Bugs Bunny girl.  I bought the DVD collections of all the great old Looney Tunes cartoons so I could watch them on Saturday mornings or when I’m feeling nostalgic.  I save them for those times when I really need to feel like a kid again.

Q. What is your favourite guilty pleasure? 

I’m a closet Twilight fan.  Ok…so maybe not in the closet at all.  I had a Twilight party and made cakes shaped like penises.  I frosted them and added sparkly sugar and declared them to be Edward Cullen cakes.  Everyone loved them.  Well, everyone but my husband.  He wouldn’t even have a piece after they were cut into innocuous shapes.  He said it was enough to know what they represented.  Hey, more cake for me, right?

(Holy shit, that’s brilliant. From now on every sweet that enters my household will be sparkly, penis shaped and mine, all mine.)

Q. Sparkly penis cakes aside, What is your oddest quirk?

A. I like to make up dirty show tunes and sing them to my husband.  Sometimes I belt them out at the top of my lungs when no one is home.  They’re highly inappropriate, and therefore, deliciously fun.

Q. Erica, in my books, you have just reached and surpassed an entirely new level of awesome. Now, speaking of highly inappropriate, why don’t we show our readers some sample pictures of cakes in the shape of cocks?

A. penis cake pan

penis cake

penis cake

penis cake

Q.  Thanks! On that note, do you have anything specific that you want to say to your fans?

A. I’m just happy to say I have fans.  I just want them to know I appreciate every last one of them…and hope they keep coming back for more.

Q. I don’t think you will have any trouble getting them to come back again and again, Erica! Now. Before you stop slumming it in this neigbhourhood and go back to your own blog, I have one final question for you. Who should I include in my next Threesome Thursday?

A. You must use Robert Downey Jr, Emma Stone, and Colin Farrell for Threesome Thursday.  These are the fan picks for my vampire trio.  (Best Emma Stone pic ever is on my website)

Done and done. 

Author Erica Lucke Dean

Author Erica Lucke Dean

Dearest readers, if you have not already done so, please mosey on over to Erica’s clever and entertaining website, www.ericaluckedean.com. Also, be sure to follow her on Twitter, @ericaluckedean. You will be glad you did.

Want to participate in the Friday Spotlight? Learn more here.


7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2011 11:19 am

    What better way to start my day than with a cock shaped cake?

  2. October 7, 2011 4:07 pm

    Thank you for the best interview ever! Ok, it was my first interview ever but that means it will always be the best one. And there’s nothing better than a sparkly cock cake at any part of the day.

    • October 7, 2011 8:31 pm

      Thanks Erica! That was so much fun! I think it was the best interview ever, too.

  3. JC Mapes permalink
    October 8, 2011 2:10 am

    Well, anymore there is nothing that Erica could say or do that I would find surprising or shocking. Usually Cock shaped cakes said to be of Edward Cullen might throw an alarm in my backward and admittedly fucked up brain. But I cannot imagine being shocked if even she had said they performed a dark unholy communion ceremony, mixing bites or cock cake and sips of real blood to transubstantiate said cake into a real Edward Cullen cock. This is not say that Erica is in anyway predictable or boring. That would be akin to saying that watching a full grown Kodiak bear tearing entrails out with claw and teeth, chomp-crushing a skull and completely devouring a screaming Eskimo is completely dull. No, Erica is as exciting as they come. And she is sexy. I don’t mean sexy in a sluttish penthouse magazine sort of way. She takes sexy into places that no one else can. And hey, writing a horrific dark erotic story sweet as the blood pumping through a candy heart and still maintaining wit that punches with lip splitting humor is certainly skill worthy enough to be admired. I love Erica. Her words move me and inspire. I get so much out of her and she evokes thought from a deeper place within us, and does so with class. Thank you, D.C. for a great interview with such a wonderful, intelligent, and dare I say SEXY, woman and one I really do admire even if I give her a hard time now and then.

Trackbacks

  1. Threesome Thursday: RDJr, Emma Stone and Stupidhead « D.C. McMillen
  2. Friday Spotlight with Erica Lucke Dean « D.C. McMillen

Leave a Reply

