Skip to content

Creep-tastic Halloween Songs

October 31, 2011

Happy Halloween! I love today.

For this extra special Music Monday, I would like to share 15 Halloween songs that everyone should be listening to today.

I know this one is extra long, but the story behind Requiem (if you are to believe the 1984 film version, Amadeus) is creep-tactular.

As creepy as the story of Amadeus is, though, Tocata & Fugue is ridiculous scary. This is one to blare from your front porch so all the annoying kiddies will stay away while you eat everything in the candy bowl.

Getting only slightly more current, this was one of my favourite Halloween songs when I was a kid. You know, I never could figure out if it was a one eyed, one horned, flying, purple people eater or a one eyed, one horned, flying, purple, people eater. Either way, a creature that can play rock & roll out of its horn is alright in my books.

Next!

Are you still here? Can you handle the scary? Then how about this neat, sweet song? (snap snap)

And how can we let Halloween slip by without a little Alice from Jefferson Airplane?

Or black magic?

While we are talking voodoo, here is Screaming Jay Hawkins to put a spell on us.

If Screaming Jay freaked you out, this sweet transvestite might calm you down with a little folk dancing.

Since we’ve gone down the Rocky Horrror Picture Show road, Let’s do the time warp! I mean, how could we not?

Do you remember Little Shop of Horrors? Well, I do. The Dentist Song is what made me terrified of the dentist. If I watch it again, I know I will get nightmares. Instead we can watch Suppertime.

Speaking of nightmares, how about the Halloween theme song?

Holy shit that was scary. Let’s lighten the mood with Ghostbusters.

Now, before I get to my favourite Halloween thriller (clever foreshadowing)I really want to feature Will Smith and Jazzy Jeff’s Nightmare on My Street but the embedding is disabled. So instead, I’ll show this fan video.

Without further ado, here is my final favourite Halloween song!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2011 4:03 am

    Michael Jackson’s “Thriller” has always been my favorite Halloween song and will forever remain a classic.

  2. November 4, 2011 8:59 pm

    Absolutely! It is not Halloween until I’ve heard Thriller play on the radio.

Leave a Reply

