Skip to content

Thoughts of the Hot and Nerdy

November 12, 2011

revenge of the nerds

As many of you know, I love nerds. I am pretty nerdy, myself, and there is nothing hotter than a guy who can maintain an intelligent conversation for even a nominal amount of time.

Why am I bringing this up now, you ask? Well it just so happens that one of my fave childhood movies is on MovieTime right now; Revenge of the Nerds! Now I am supposed to be writing an article for a client but…the movie. It is on. So I am doing that silly thing where I sit in front of the television with my laptop on my lap so I can pretend to be multi-tasking but really I am just thinking about nerdy things, like writing a blog post about what I am thinking…sigh.

You know what is pretty nerdy? Um, besides me and the movie I am watching, I mean. Google. Google is pretty damn nerdy. And those folks over at Google are always looking for opportunities to allow their loyal minions (us) to revel in their nerdiness. Like the other week when we typed Barrel Roll into the search bar about 12 times just to see the screen roll over. Or how that wily company stole over 40 seconds of my life with this year’s Halloween video. Sadly, that neat little trick and that catchy video are no longer. Type in Barrel Roll and you just get information about how Google had a Barrel Roll trick. Sigh.

Although Barrel Roll seems to have been a temporary thing, there are a couple of other tricks with which we can amuse ourselves instead of writing articles for clients or dealing with other important matters. Here are a couple examples.

Type Askew into the search bar and this is what you get:

askew Google
Do you recall the PacMan Google search page? It was only on the main search bar for one day but if you type in http://www.google.com/pacman you will still get it.

PacMan

Here is one that my writer-ly (that’s right, I make up words) pals might appreciate. Type Recursion into the search bar and Google will ask: Did you mean recursion?

Recursion

Of course, it just so happens that the one I love the most is one I do not think was actually created by Google, although it looks like it was. It is the Chuck Norris search, and you can find somewhere on the page if you type Chuck Norris, but it is a few listings down.

Chuck Norris

I am sure I am missing a lot. If you have a fave Google trick, please let me know about it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 2:38 pm

    I don’t know any fancy Google tips, but I’m all about some hot nerds. My husband is one of them, and he looks pretty sexy transferring data and syncing up Apple products, amongst other things. Haha!

    Hope you had a great weekend!

  2. November 14, 2011 10:15 pm

    There is nothing like syncing and transferring. Aw yeah. 😛

Leave a Reply

