Skip to content

The “Cube”

November 15, 2011

This week’s Time Warp Tuesday is kind of a twofer. First we have the Rubik’s Cube. You remember the Rubik’s Cube, right? It was that little puzzle that you would try to solve by carefully peeling off the stickers and then precisely rearranging them so that each face of the cube featured one solid colour.

What’s that? You didn’t solve the puzzle that way? The hell you say. So you are more like that little three year old girl who solved the Rubik’s Cube while sitting in her high chair. Well fine, you go ahead and watch the video while pffft’ing at the screen and feeling superior because you can beat her 119 seconds. The rest of us, however, will collectively think “that bitch!”. No? Just me? Okay fine. I take it back; she’s not a bitch. But can she do this?

By the way, that introduces the second half of this twofer. Mario Bros! And not the new Mario Brothers that you play on the Wii (yes I still play my Wii. Mario Kart is frackin’ awesome on Wii). I mean the old school Mario Brothers.

Boom! That just happened.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2011 1:23 pm

    My little brother could do the Rubik’s cube in some ridiculous time frame. It used to piss me off. Love the time warp Tuesday!

    • November 15, 2011 3:21 pm

      He is probably some sort of evil genius. I would keep my eye on him, Kelly.

  2. November 15, 2011 4:54 pm

    I loved the original Mario Bros on the old-school Nintendo. 2nd best was Mario Karts on some system I can’t remember. I never had the patience for the cube, so the 3yr old beats me out.

    • November 15, 2011 5:58 pm

      I would play Mario so much that the music would play in my brain while I was trying to fall asleep at night. Tetris, too.

      • November 15, 2011 6:02 pm

        During the summer one year I played Tetris for almost 24 hours. I felt like I was in the twilight zone when I finally walked away. A total sensory siege!

  3. November 15, 2011 6:15 pm

    I bow down to you, Amberr.

  4. November 15, 2011 7:43 pm

    Yeah the three year old beats me too, best time was like 10 minutes or so I think. Loved mario too, mario kart is fun, but the wii got too loaded with shovelware for me so I sold the thing.

    • November 15, 2011 9:27 pm

      I used to get bored / exasperated within the first three seconds of holding the damn thing.

  5. November 16, 2011 1:12 am

    I LOVE Mario Bros. I also still play my Wii. Though I’m more of a Resident Evil junkie. Rubik’s cube. That’s another story. It’s evil on a whole new level. Thanks for sharing the video of the five minute Mario game! I had a laugh remembering that exact course.

    • November 16, 2011 6:33 am

      Thank you for stopping by, Natalie! My brother is the Resident Evil Junkie. He can’t get enough.

  6. November 16, 2011 1:22 am

    I so miss Mario Brothers now that my kids took my video games away! I love Tetris and Dr. Mario. Sigh…

Leave a Reply

