Skip to content

Music Monday: Con te Partiro

November 21, 2011

I am bringing something a little different to the e-rotica blog on this Music Monday. This is Andrea Bocelli’s version of Con te Partiro. You will find the English translation below the video. Before you go thinking I am all sophisticated, though, I feel compelled to admit that, although I have always loved this aria, I only decided to post it only after hearing Will Ferrel sing it in the movie Step Brothers this Saturday, and it has yet to get out of my head.

Con te Partiro English Translation

When I’m alone
I dream on the horizon
And words fail
Yes, I know there is no light
In a room where the sun is absent
If you are not with me
At the windows
Show everone my heart
Which you set alight
Enclose within me
The light you
Encountered on the street

I’ll go with you
To countries I never
Saw and shared with you
Now, yes, I shall experience them
I’ll go with you
On ships across seas
Which, I know,
No, no, exist no longer
With you I shall experience them

When you are far away
I dream on the horizon
And words fail
And yes, I know
That you are with me
You, my moon, are here with me
My sun, you are here with me

I’ll go with you
To countries I never
Saw and shared with you
Now, yes, I shall experience them
I’ll go with you
On ships across seas
Which, I know,
No, no, exist no longer
With you I shall experience them again
I’ll go with you
On ships across seas
Which, I know,
No, no, exist no longer
With you I shall experience them again
I’ll go with you
I with you

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2011 1:54 pm

    This is one of my all-time favorites. It makes my heart do that funny twinging thing that it always does when I’m waxing nostalgic.

    • November 21, 2011 3:28 pm

      Yes, it is definitely moving. And now that I know what the lyrics are, some of them are beautiful as well.

Leave a Reply

