Skip to content

Carolyn Arnold’s Eleven Themed Saturday

November 26, 2011

Carolyn ArnoldHappy Saturday, folks! I am handing the over the reigns to author Carolyn Arnold today. Carolyn is a talented author and fellow Ontarian. Carolyn’s new book, Eleven, came out this month (on 11/11/11, to be exact), and she is here to offer an Eleven themed blog post. Please give a big welcome to Carolyn Arnold.

Eleven interesting facts about me:

1.  I married my husband at the age of nineteen after one real date.

2.  I’m mother to two beagles – a male and female named Max and Chelsea.

3.  I can’t stand people who are one way to your face, and another when you turn your back.

4.  I prefer red wine to white.

5.  I prefer vanilla cake to chocolate.

6.  I work forty hours a week as accounts receivable.

7.  Children, bats and spiders terrify me.

8.  I’ve been known to jump at the crack of thunder.

9.  I can’t stand the color pink, and I don’t have a fetish for shoes.

10.  I love Broadway musicals.

11.  I love winter and watching the snow come down, preferably with a glass of red in my hand and a roast in the oven.

11 facts about ELEVEN

Eleven Ebook Cover1.  Brandon Fisher always wanted to be FBI and is teamed up under the lead of Supervisory Special Agent Jack Harper.  The other members on the team are Paige Dawson and Zachery Miles.

2.  Brandon’s first case takes him to Salt Lick, Kentucky and the find of underground burial chambers which house the bodies of ten victims, and one empty grave.

3.  Salt Lick, Kentucky is a real location and only has a population shy of three hundred and fifty.

4.  The owner of the property where the bodies are found is in his third year in prison, and the last victim dates back to within that timeframe meaning someone else is killing in his place.

5.  Brandon’s boss, Jack refuses to call him by name and refers to him by the nicknames of “kid” and “slingshot”.  Brandon hates it.

6.  Zachery refers to Brandon by the nickname of “pending”, and Brandon hates that as well.

7.  Brandon is claustrophobic and has to work through this to do his job.

8.  Jack Harper is a chain smoker and tests Brandon’s patience.

9.  FBI Special Agents have a probationary period of two years.

10.  Brandon is a red-head and as per the stereo-type can be hot-tempered.  Jack tests his patience through the entire novel.

11.  Jack served as a former Sergeant Major of the 7th Special Forces Group before becoming FBI.

11 line excerpt from ELEVEN:

The following is just after they discovered the “kill room”:

An ominous silence enveloped the room as if we were all absorbed in contemplating our mortality.  The human reaction to death and uncertainty, of wanting to know but not wanting the answers, of sympathy for those lost yet relief that it wasn’t us.

The CSI made his way through the opening.  His flashlight cast more light in the dimly lit space.  I followed and heard the rest of them shuffle in behind me.

After a few feet, I was able to stand to full height.

The CSI looked up at the lit bulb.  “The guy thought of everything.”

The electricity that had been run down here was basic and minimum.  A band of wire ran from the meat room to here.  But it wasn’t so much the electrical that garnered my attention.

~

Carolyn, thank you so much for stopping by and telling us a little about yourself and your newest release, Eleven. Where can we go to learn more about you and your books?  

Amazon Author Page

Website

Blog

Twitter
Facebook page 
Goodreads

Email

Carolyn’s Bio

Carolyn Arnold is the author of several novels in the mystery, thriller and suspense genres.  TIES THAT BIND, the first in a police procedural mystery series surrounding Detective Madison Knight, was her debut novel and published May 2011.

Carolyn was born in 1976 in the rural town of Picton, Ontario.  While her passion for writing dates back to her teen years, it wasn’t until 2008 that she completed her first novel.  She lives with her husband and her two beagles in Southwestern Ontario.

For more information on her books and upcoming releases, please visit her official website http://carolynarnold.net/

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2011 2:37 pm

    Thank you for having me over on your blog D.C.

  2. November 26, 2011 5:39 pm

    Absolutely, and thanks for stopping by. Come back again soon!

  3. November 27, 2011 1:49 am

    I’m just like you on #9 But I do have a sweetness for socks!
    Hi Carolyn! Great interview!

  4. November 27, 2011 3:45 pm

    I love the 11-themed interview, Carolyn! While I don’t understand the lack of shoe fetish (GASP), I appreciate your love of red wine and working a 40-hour a week job as well as writing. The book looks fantastic and I can’t wait to check it out!

    (Seriously, though…not even Prada??) 🙂

  5. November 27, 2011 4:03 pm

    Interesting. I will say that the color pink scares the bejeezus out of me!

  6. November 27, 2011 4:03 pm

    Karen and Raine, thank you for taking the time to come by and read my post on D.C.’s site.

    And nope, Raine, not even Prada LOL

  7. November 27, 2011 6:00 pm

    What a fun spotlight. I love the 11 theme. And I don’t much like pink myself…but I will wear it for kicks…mostly to annoy my husband. Thanks for the fun!

  8. November 27, 2011 7:26 pm

    Well we have a few things in common! Maybe not eleven., but a few. I also hate the colour pink. When I went to a make-up colour consultation they told me I could wear any colour but pink. Maybe that’s why. I’m afraid of children – oh wait, I have one! Still scared…. I can’t stand two-faced people and I don’t have a shoe fetish. All those shoes in my cubpoard are not a fetish. It’s just practical! I can never find shoes when I need them cause I have a small foot so it’s important to buy them when I can. Honest. I don’t do brand name shoes anyway. Never even picked up a pair of Prada shoes. OK, I like Diana Ferarri but she does a nice size 5 shoe.

  9. November 27, 2011 11:34 pm

    I am crazy for pink. Never used to be. I am becoming quite the girly girl! I may not have a huge shoe fetish but I do have a purse fetish.

  10. November 28, 2011 5:56 pm

    Damn, I wanted to be commenter number 11! maybe I’ll leave two comments … ha.

    I hate pink, I’m with you Carolyn. When I was pregnant w/ my daughter (run away, girl–children–eek), my mother wanted an all-pink room. I did blues and greens, w/ a little purple… She disowned me.

    I do like fuchsia tho…if it’s more red than pink. it makes sense to me.

    anyway, great interview.

  11. November 29, 2011 2:34 am

    Thank you ladies for the comments and for taking the time to read the interview.

    Rachel, I believe my dislike for pink came from when I was 12/13yrs old and my mother painted my room a baby-girl pink. *ick* I’m happy to say it didn’t stay that way for long.

Leave a Reply

