Skip to content

Thinking Back on Rocking the MJ

November 29, 2011

Despite my inherent nerdiness as a child (bookworm, enriched programs, entered the high school science fair while in early grade school), my mom made sure my geeky core was generously swathed in coolness. Every morning I would sit patiently while she carefully selected for me something along the lines of leggings, over-sized sweater with matching legwarmers, banana clip and bangles. Every afternoon my mother would sit just as patiently as I explained why my bangles were missing, my sweater had a pull and the knees were scraped out of my leggings. See, along with being crazy about learning, I was also just plain crazy. Often accused of being a tomboy,  I was up for anything that would award me the opportunity to beat the boys, get dirty, or risk my life in fantastically dangerous manner.

There was one outfit, however, that my mother never had to worry about me ruining. It was an ensemble that I loved almost as much as my BMX bike (my mother worked a part-time job for an entire winter to buy me that bike, and it was my most coveted possession). What is this magical outfit, you ask? Why, it was my Michael Jackson outfit, of course.

My Michael Jackson outfit started with ordinary white socks. Then came the black pleather pants. After that it was my white T-shirt or red wet look shirt with a black zipper running diagonally across it.  Over the shirt of my choosing, I would slip on The Jacket. You all know The Jacket I’m talking about, right?

Michael Jackson Thriller Jacket

Michael Jackson Thriller Jacket

Yep, that’s the one. I would moonwalk out of the house, down the driveway and to the bus stop, where my friends would all ooh and ah and ask to try it on. Sometimes I would let them. Sometimes, once I arrived to school, I would hang out in the girls’ bathroom until the bell rang. This way I could arrive to my classroom fashionably late, ensuring all eyes were on me as I moonwalked to my desk. I could feel my teacher rolling her eyes but I knew she was secretly jealous of my coat and my swagger. Looking back, I am now jealous of mini D.C.’s swagger. If only I could find that jacket…

And that is this week’s Time Warp Tuesday, folks. Enjoy the rest of your week.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2011 3:57 pm

    You totally need a video of yourself moonwalking. I remember those days well, although I was never fortunate enough to have all of the MJ gear.

    • November 29, 2011 4:37 pm

      My mom, aunt and I would practice our Michael Jackson moves at my grandmother’s house. I could moon walk and grab my crotch like nobody’s business! Doubt I could do it now, though.

      I was so lucky to have the jacket! My mom didn’t even have one. She has weird priorities. 🙂

  2. November 29, 2011 4:06 pm

    U didn’t have the jacket!! Ohhhhh, I swear if I could find somewhere ‘cool’ enough to sell it I would have the jacket xx

  3. November 29, 2011 5:55 pm

    The moonwalking references got me laughing! That was a cool jacket, but it’s too bad you couldn’t find it.

    • November 29, 2011 6:12 pm

      I wish I still had it, Sharky. It is probably a good thing I don’t, though. Could you imagine a thirty-something year old sausaged into an 80’s jacket moonwalk down the aisle of the grocery store? Not a pretty site.

  4. November 29, 2011 9:38 pm

    I agree with Christina. I want to see a moonwalking video. That’s too funny to imagine little DC getting into the groove. I miss the 80’s. Things were so much simpler then. 😉

  5. November 29, 2011 11:27 pm

    Oh, I could rock it. Let me tell ya! And don’t get me started on my Dead or Alive, Spin me Round dance.

  6. November 30, 2011 5:59 am

    Oh how I miss the days when I could moonwalk without falling over! Yes, even I could moonwalk. I can’t believe you had that jacket! You are the coolest kid who ever was!

    • November 30, 2011 6:10 am

      Yeah, I can’t believe it either. We were not exactly rich growing up. My mom worked a part time job at the appliance store in town and I think she spent her entire paycheques on upping my coolness factor.

Leave a Reply

