Skip to content

Friday Spotlight w/ Erica Lucke Dean

December 2, 2011

We have an extra special Friday Spotlight this week. We are bringing back a lovely lady and talented author, Erica Lucke Dean! For those who do not know, Erica was the very first artist spotlighted on the e-rotica blog. We talked about her awesomeness and penis shaped cakes, among other things. You can read that interview here.

Daywalkers SeriesErica has one of the most fabulous blogs on the net and on that blog she has the most fabulous weekly series. It is about sexy vampires, and it is called The Daywalker Chronicles.

I am honoured that Erica has chosen the e-rotica blog to unveil a very special installment of The Daywalkers. It is a love letter from one sexy vampire to a soon to be other sexy vampire. After we have read the love letter, Erica will fill us in on The Daywalker Chronicles and let us know about a contest she has running.

Without further ado, let’s get this Friday Spotlight started!

My Dearest Victoria,
I think of you, and I am certain I have been bewitched.
In these final moments before the dawn, as the bitter streaks of morning stain the sky like a trail of blood, I think of you.  I have nothing but your faded portrait, and your tender words written in a letter not meant for me. But I hold these things as dear as if they were my own heart, beating in my hands.  It is here, in the endless abyss fashioned solely by your absence that I wait. My only solace comes from conjuring the image of your lovely face in the dark recesses of my mind.  The mere shadow of your countenance chases away the last vestiges of night, like a comet blazing across a velvet sky.  And you, like its bright tail, are forever burned into my vision. Darkness has no purchase as long as I am able to envision you beside me in this dreary barren place.  My darling, it is no longer gravity tethering me to this earth…it is you. My center. My sun.  I gladly surrender myself and go willingly to my doom.  What sun…what moon…could compete with such beauty? What stars dare glimmer in your presence?  There cannot be a heaven above us while you walk upon this earth. Nor a hell more frightening than a life without your love. I would gladly bargain with the devil, himself, and all the flames of hell for but a fleeting moment in the sun with you.  And trade all eternity for just a single day…a single hour…a single minute basking in the glow of your love. If I could ask but one thing of you, it would be to return my love with even a glimmer of the fervor with which it has been given.  All the world would be yours in exchange. 
Your humble servant…
Sebastian
Sebastian animated
My eyes opened to the same inky darkness as the insides of my lids and I blinked twice. I should have been used to waking up in total darkness, it was an occupational hazard, but it always seemed to surprise me just the same. I pushed up against the plush interior just hard enough to raise the lid a few inches. A sliver of moonlight seeped in and reflected off the white satin, bathing the interior of my ultra-deluxe casket, model A666, in a soft glow…
I’d overslept again.
This is how week one of Tales of the Daywalkers, from The Daywalker Chronicles, opens.  Our unlikely heroine, Victoria is a nearly two-hundred fifty year old vampire living a rather normal existence in the modern world with her very human servant, Claude.  When Victoria’s sexy, undead husband tracks her down looking for more than a reunion with his beautiful wife, things start to get a little… unpredictable.
After all…this is a story with bite!
16 weeks into the story, we not only have so much more to look forward to from our sexy undead characters, but there’s also a fun new contest to sink your fangs into!
Based on the artwork by J Fields Jr, the contest challenges the readers to “Get into Character” and embody their favorite Daywalker. The contest runs from December 1, 2011 to Jan 1, 2012 with judging to follow.  Readers can win $25 Amazon gift cards in three categories…Team Sebastian, Team Victoria or Team Claude.  If you haven’t discovered this story yet, it’s time you did.
Go on, I dare you to take a bite!

Claude Plucked

~~~

Thank you, Erica, for that awesome love letter and info for The Daywalker series.

Read all of installments of The Daywalker Chronicles to date.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2011 3:23 pm

    Thank you DC, for inviting me to hang out with you, and for sharing the Daywalkers with your readers. It’s been fun! I look forward to seeing you on my blog tonight with a wicked game of broken telephone.

  2. December 2, 2011 3:48 pm

    That was beautiful! Finally we see a softer side of Sebastian, and see that he truly did/does love Victoria. Don’t get me wrong-I’m still a card carrying member of Team Claude, but Sebastian has more depth now in my eyes. 🙂

    To those of you who haven’t gotten bitten by the daywalkers, you should really check it out! The writing is excellent, and the story is addicting! There are a bunch of us who look forward to it every week, but I think everyone would love it! You’re only 15 episodes behind-start reading today!!:)

    • December 2, 2011 5:15 pm

      I went back the other day and read them from the beginning just for funzies. I am honoured that Erica chose to publish the love letter on this blog!

      • December 2, 2011 5:55 pm

        Thank you for suggesting I do a letter! You not only squeezed some humanity out of Sebastian, but you’ve inspired a detour in the storyline! Back to 1783 we go!

  3. December 2, 2011 4:41 pm

    That is an amazing love letter. Erica, you are such a beautiful writer, and D.C. Is wonderful to bring you on for another spotlight. Totally deserved. Now I’m heading to your blog to see what naughtery you cooked up last night.

    • December 2, 2011 5:15 pm

      I hope my guest post turns out alright. It will definitely not be as eloquent as Erica’s love letter.

    • December 2, 2011 5:54 pm

      Thanks Amberr…I struggled on that letter. But I’m happy with how it came out. 🙂

      • December 2, 2011 6:06 pm

        And DC, I can’t wait to post your guest spot. It’s delicious fun with a twist of naughty.

  4. December 2, 2011 5:23 pm

    Great letter, Erica! The contest is so clever, and I can’t wait to see what people do with it. Really enjoyed your post!

    • December 2, 2011 5:32 pm

      If you go look at the Gallery on the Daywalkers page there are already a few pictures. I think people are going to have a lot of fun with it!

  5. December 2, 2011 5:54 pm

    Beautiful love letter. Sebastian is an awesome guy/vampire. I love the Daywalkers, it’s fun and short and reminds me of a weekly serial that I can enjoy on my time. Thanks for that.

    • December 2, 2011 6:01 pm

      Thanks Kelly! I really like doing the weekly thing because I can literally create the story as I go, so I’m almost as suprised as the readers are each week. I do get a little bit of a heads up, but it’s often the comments I get each week that shift my direction with the story. Hearing team Sebastian say they wanted to see more of his good side inspired me to write the letter from him rather than Claude, as everyone would have expected.

  6. December 2, 2011 6:14 pm

    Thanks for the mention! The love letter was beautiful and inspiring! I’m a big fan of not just Daywalkers but Erica as a writer with a distinct voice and style. All of her stuff has honestly been great (she has stories posted in the Writer’s Corner on her site.) It was fun drawing the pics and interpreting Erica’s vision, it made the serial special for me and I enjoy it every week. I also love me some DC, and both of these amazing ladies in one place was especially cool for me!

    • December 2, 2011 6:39 pm

      Thank you for all your support! The beautiful artwork has been an inspiration as I write the story, and having you there cheering me on the whole way has been an extra special bonus!

  7. December 2, 2011 6:39 pm

    The Daywalker Chronicles is one of my not so secret addictions! So glad I get to read more!

    • December 2, 2011 6:48 pm

      I love that I’ve created something so addictive. And it’s not even fattening! How cool is that?

  8. December 2, 2011 7:34 pm

    Well, I know who to go to if I ever need a love letter written 🙂 Thanks for sharing Amber 🙂

  9. December 2, 2011 8:11 pm

    Wow – who knew Sebastian, that rebel, and rascal, had an undead heart 😉

    Thank you for sharing & you’ve also got a new subscriber (well, not that new)!

  10. zencherry permalink
    December 2, 2011 8:46 pm

    I think…Erica? Will you cybermarry me? What a beautiful letter. (Melts into a puddle) 🙂

  11. Stephen Moran permalink
    December 2, 2011 8:50 pm

    I like the letter—-NOT. Just kidding. it was beautiful. However, I’m still captain of Team Claude and I’ve got my eye on you!

    This was really well done, an amazing change-up and perfectly executed. I really loved it. I was quite surprised by the depth of true emotion in that letter. no simple vampire story here.

    I can’t wait for Sunday.

    • December 2, 2011 9:32 pm

      Don’t you worry Stephen…Claude has tricks up his sleeve that will positively piss off team Sebastian! Tune in Sunday.

  12. December 3, 2011 4:31 pm

    I don’t keep up with the weekly series but I’m so impressed Erica with the amount of FANS who do! And I don’t use exclamation marks lightly.

    You are such an amazing writer, my dear. Never doubt that.

    DC, awesome venue for your crazy brain. I laugh every time I come over. Thanks for being such a wonderful soul.

    • December 8, 2011 5:19 pm

      Thank you Rachel! That means a lot coming from someone with such a strong, devoted fanbase.

  13. December 8, 2011 1:22 am

    Now there is one of the reasons I am and will always continue to be on Team Sebastian! Great Letter Erica! <3.

Leave a Reply

