Skip to content

Fra-gil-eh? It Must Be Italian!

December 6, 2011

Happy Christmas fun time is right around the corner and I for one am getting pretty damned excited about it. This is a picture of a Christmas gift sent to me last year by one of my good friends. This good friend is acutely aware of the fact that he lives in the middle of Nowheresville, Idaho, and he likes to remind me of this fact at every opportunity. Obviously, last Christmas was just such an opportunity.

 

Best Christmas Gift Wrapping

I know that you are probably thinking this is the coolest wrapping job you have seen in your entire life but what does it have to do with Time Warp Tuesday? Well, of course it is the lampshade leg ornament at the centre of the wrapping.Β  Here is the link to that particular scene in The Christmas story.

I love lamp.

 

16 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2011 11:24 am

    LOL It’s the bear that does it for me, with his wee little hat, best wrapping paper ever x

    • December 8, 2011 10:15 pm

      The wee hat and the wee gun. He must be the owner of the antlers. πŸ˜€

  2. December 6, 2011 1:55 pm

    I’m loving the antlers.

    • December 6, 2011 5:09 pm

      Exactly what I was gonna say… Beat me to it goddammit! xD

      • December 8, 2011 10:15 pm

        The antlers look so ridiculous on my tree. My boyfriend and brother just roll their eyes.

  3. December 6, 2011 2:57 pm

    I like how the orange ribbon brings out the subtle pattern of the camoflage wrapping, reminding me of the first morning hunt of the season. The bear, wrapped in his winter garb and carrying hunting rifle and binolulars, is ready to tackle any game animal he might come across. I love how this designer added the enormous rack of horns bedecked in little jingle bells to ring in the Christmas season.

    But the reason I picked this wrapping job as this years winner is the whimsical leg lamp from that timeless classic A Christmas Story. It adds a touch of class to this package that the others failed to achieve.

    • December 8, 2011 10:14 pm

      Yes, thank goodness for the whimsical leg lamp. If not for that ornament, I may have missed the gift entirely. πŸ˜‰

  4. ryoko861 permalink
    December 6, 2011 3:50 pm

    I have the same wrapping paper!! I used if for my son’s birthday gifts though, not for Christmas. My son would be so lucky if it had antlers hanging off it. Not gonna happen.

    I have a leg lamp, too. That’s in my son’s room as well.

    And a couple ornaments.

    So I guess you can tell I’m a BIG fan of “A Christmas Story”.

    “That’s not one of those where all the needles fall off?”
    “Nah, that’s them balsams…”

  5. December 6, 2011 6:16 pm

    Oh antlers on a package! This is awesome. I may be the only women in the Americas who hasn’t seen A Christmas Story. Don’t all hit me at once.

    • December 8, 2011 10:12 pm

      Oh Erica! You HAVE to watch it, if for no other reason than to understand the reference, “you’ll shoot your eye out!”

  6. zencherry permalink
    December 6, 2011 8:04 pm

    The wire nest? Ahhaaaa! Now I’ve got to find a leg lamp. Must.

    • December 8, 2011 10:11 pm

      I saw the an actual replica a few years ago but didn’t buy it. I will have to see if I can find the pic.

  7. December 7, 2011 7:51 am

    I too love lamp.

  8. December 9, 2011 8:37 pm

    The antlers are an interesting touch. Hahahaha!

Leave a Reply

