Skip to content

Friday Spotlight with Elle Amberly

December 16, 2011

Elle BioAnother Friday Spotlight is upon us and I, for one, could not be more excited. We have Elle Amberly in the spotlight today, folks, and she has bravely agreed to an interview from moi.

Before we get to the interview, though, let’s learn a little more about Elle’s books.

NLTH CoverNowhere Left to Hide by Elle Amberley

 “A heartfelt tale, told with a deft touch” novelist Rowan Coleman.

Natasha has fled her home many times. Tired of running scared, she doesn’t hesitate when she’s offered the chance to study in California.  Thousands of miles to free herself from her past. In Santa Barbara she finds love and friendship away from the ghosts of her childhood. But what will she do when her visa expires and her boyfriend asks her to marry him?

‘Lyrical from start to finish, Elle Amberley embraces the essence of women and friendship in Nowhere Left to Hide. ‘ Ana Lewis, Founder, WomenontheVerge.net

Occupy Me CoverOccupy Me, a French affair by Elle Amberley

The arrest of a French politician in New York brings back unwanted memories as a French woman recalls her ordeals. After a brief holiday back in France, she gets caught in the upheaval in America and witnesses her boyfriend being pepper sprayed at a peaceful demonstration.

Elle, thank you so much for getting under the covers at the e-rotica blog. I can’t wait to learn more about you. So tell me, what is your latest news?

Nowhere left to Hide is my latest release. I’ve also had two short stories, Occupy Me, a French Affair and Queen of the suburbs.

I have a fair few more to come and my next novel, Lost in your time is scheduled for publication next Spring.

Is there a message in your book that you want readers to grasp?

Most of my novels have a positive message. In my latest novel abuse I wanted to convey the message that victims can get on with their lives. We all have the power to get up and start again. We have a choice on how we react to whatever happens to us.

One reviewer said she’d pass my book on to her teenage daughter and her mother. I like that, love it in fact, being able to appeal to different generations.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding time to write. I’m a busy mum and I homeschool so I often write in the midst of complete chaos. When I write my first drafts I’m on fire, nothing stops me. It’s fast and furious. I have to get it all out. It’s avery emotional process for me as I feel all of my characters’ emotions. Probably explains why I write so quickly, I’d probably go mad otherwise.

Also I’m not so keen on the promotion aspect. I love talking about my novels though and I love interacting with readers. It’s the Me, Me, Me I struggle with. You know the ‘Look at me’ thingy.

Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I travel a lot and have lived in many countries so I have a lot of material and it is also very inspiring. I’m quite a bohemian in that sense, finding it hard to settle anywhere. Home is wherever I’m happy with my family. For some strange reason I always feel very much at peace when I’m in Portugal. On the beach with my children…Oops I’m daydreaming again.

Who designed your covers?

Most of the time, the in-house graphic artist but for Nowhere Left to Hide I had a concept and I was determined to have it my way. I’m pretty stubborn at times. I knew exactly what I wanted to do and luckily my publisher agreed.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learn all the time from writing, be it articles, short stories, poems or novels. Not just the facts you discover whilst doing some research but I also learn a lot about me. I keep finding more about who I am, difficult to explain. I have lots of lightbulb moments when some memory pops up and I will have a better understanding of the event and the people who have been in my life. It’s a perpetual self-discovery.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write and keep at it. Try not to be too distracted by social networks, beware of so-called experts who know it all. Concentrate on writing and read a lot. You must be an avid reader before you can write.

Of every work you have written, which is your favourite and why?

That’s a funny one because my favourite is always the last baby I’m working on. In this case it’s Lost in your time, to be published in February 2012.

Once I’ve completed a project I’m eager to get on with the next, fickle writer!

Okay Elle, it is time to ask those difficult questions that will help us get to know the real you.

Milk or dark chocolate?

Both

I like your style. Where in the world would you most like to visit?

Places like Jordan and Israel.

Dr. Seuss or Disney?

Disney

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your fans?

I love to hear from my readers. They’re always very welcome to chat with me on Twitter  and Facebook or drop me a line via my website.

Elle Amberley Author

Elle Amberley Facebook

Elle Amberley Twitter

Elle Amberley Google

Elle Amberley on amazon.com

Elle, thank you again for visiting! I will commence stalking you at all of your above links…now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 1:03 pm

    I love the thought of the reviewer passing your book on to daughter/mother. What a wonderful compliment.

  2. December 16, 2011 8:34 pm

    I think so, too. Somehow I don’t see that happening with many of my books. 😉

Leave a Reply

