Skip to content

Gifts From Someone Else’s Nana

December 20, 2011

The boyfriend and I visited his Nana last week to wish her a Merry Christmas. We presented her with a book called 50 Years of Coronation Street but it turns out she already owns it so now I’m scrambling to find the receipt. I should have known she would already have at least one copy; that lady has two of everything on the planet. In fact, at 89 years old, she does not really bother to go Christmas shopping any more. She simply gives items from her home.

Amber Glass Table Top LighterThis year she gave my boyfriend a gift that is probably cooler than anything I picked out for him. She presented him with this amber glass, art deco, table top lighter that used to belong to his grandfather. After replacing the flint, the lighter works just as well as it did in the 70’s. Needless to say, the boyfriend is quite happy with that gift.

Avon Bubble BathAs for my gift, the nana-in-law gave me the same thing she does every year – products from Avon. She has a basement so full of unused Avon products, she could open a beauty shop and keep in fully stocked for months. So I got Skin So Soft hand cream, several tubes of lipstick and bubble bath. Pretty soon I am going to have enough Avon under my sink to stock my own small store. In previous years I have given much of the make up, hand creams and lotions to my mom but she refuses the bubble bath so I now have plenty on hand in case someone ever stops by for a bubble bath party or something. You never know, it could happen.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. zencherry permalink
    December 20, 2011 3:41 pm

    The lighter is so COOL! A bubble bath party sounds awesome and with Skin so Soft you won’t have to worry about mosquitoes. (Packing towel now) 😉

  2. December 20, 2011 6:18 pm

    I like the lighter, too. I wonder how fast I would get kicked out of the building if I poured bubble bath in a hot tub? >:)

Leave a Reply

