Skip to content

Friday Spotlight with Kay Dee Royal

December 23, 2011

We have a very special guest in the spotlight this week! Author Kay Dee Royal is here and she will be talking about her soon to be released book One Plus One. Not only that, Kay Dee will be offering a free copy of One Plus One to a lucky commenter. Simply leave your email along with your comment at the bottom of this post.

For those who do not yet know, Kay Dee Royal writes paranormal and fantasy romance. She pens tales with wild, rugged heroes and strong, intelligent heroines. She resides in Southern Michigan with her family (her dogs, her cats, her caged husband… you get the idea).

Hey Kay Dee! Welcome to the Friday Spotlight!

Before we get started with our interview, D.C., I’d like to thank you for inviting me to your blog. It’s a lovely place to hang out…and I especially am enjoying your company. Now…please be gentle with the interview questions. *smile*

Gentle? Okay I’ll give that a go. Kay Dee, what inspired you to write your first book?

My first book is actually a children’s novel under another pen name. It’s about six years old and yet to be published. The inspiration came from my grandchildren and my own childhood. I’ve pulled it back out to polish and submit.

Where do you find inspiration?

I find it everywhere, in every experience of my own or in someone else’s, in television shows or movies, in books, people watching, an overheard conversation…everywhere.

What books and/or authors have influenced you?

The early books of Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta series, Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver series, Susan Squires paranormal works, and Kate Douglas’ paranormal series (any of them). I grew as a writer while reading all of these authors…character driven books.

1+1 by Kay Dee RoyalCan you share a little of your current work with us?

One Plus One ~ Contemporary Erotic Romance

Tagline: Lacinda and Blade discover more than sexual ecstasy on a lust-filled singles cruise. Winners can’t be losers.

One Plus One Blurb: Releasing from Muse It Hot on December 30, 2011

Coerced by her friend, Lacinda, a woman crushed by love, winds up on a three-week singles cruise.

Blade, a man of means, discovers Miss Right under the guise of a singles cruise set up by his business partner.

Once Blade focuses his efforts he always gets what he’s after, until Lacinda throws his arrogant reputation back in his face.

Can Blade break through Lacinda’s angry barriers? Will she ever see him as anything more than a player?

I am beyond intrigued! Who designed your fab cover?

Delilah Stephans designed my One Plus One cover art. She’s the head of the art department at Muse It Up Publishing. She and her dept. create exceptional covers.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Not so much “in” my writing, but…Yes—getting to it. Once there, I’m good, but if I step away for a few days, it’s all I can do to get back to it. I edit also and find a challenge making time for editing, blogging, promoting, and writing. I can keep my backside in the chair, but my priorities once in the chair could use an overhaul. LOL

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write what makes you happiest…your passion will shine through.  AND, never, ever give up.

That is great advice! Now for some questions to reveal the real Kay Dee. What is your favorite guilty pleasure?

I’m addicted, unabashedly so, to mocha latte`s – must have one as often as I can. LOL

Dr. Suess or Disney?

Disney all the way!!

Where in the world would you most like to visit?

Alaska…to see the whales and then inland to visit the rest of its grand wildlife.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your fans?

Not sure I’ve been around long enough to have fans…but anyone visiting, I wish you Happy Holidays and thank you for your support…I’m truly honored by it.

Trust me, you have fans! Where can they find you and your work?

http://www.kaydeeroyal.blogspot.com

http://ravencraftrealm.blogspot.com

Facebook

Muse Info/Buy Page

 

Who should I include in my next Threesome Thursday?

A character from Vampire Diaries ~ Damon Salvatore OF in real life, Ian Somerhalder *smile*

Thanks for stopping by, Kay Dee! I had a fabulous time and I hope you did, too.

Dear readers, don’t forget to leave your comment below to win a copy of Kay Dee Royal’s latest work, One Plus One!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2011 11:22 am

    Good Morning DC! You’re looking lovely this morning…as usual *smile*

    I’ve been looking forward to spending time with you at your awesome place…brought a couple mocha latte’s with me if you’re interested.

    I thought I should share something more about One Plus One…it isn’t my usual paranormal/fantasy…in fact, it is neither of those genres – this story is contemporary erotic romance. I had a lot of fun with Lacinda and Blade…and had a big surprise when Mazie joined the group of stars…she’s really something ~ bold, wild, uninhibited…I’m not sure, but she might require her own story (LOL).

  2. December 23, 2011 4:51 pm

    Great interview, Kay Dee, and I cannot wait to read One Plus One!

  3. December 23, 2011 5:21 pm

    This is a fantastic interview! I can’t wait for your book to come out, Kay Dee, it sounds like something I’d really enjoy! 🙂 And I agree totally with the choice of including Ian Somerhalder in a Threesome Thursday post. I’ve modeled one of my characters off of his looks. I always get distracted from writing whenever he’s in a scene I’m writing. #yum 😉

  4. Danielle Ravencraft permalink
    December 23, 2011 5:29 pm

    Hey there Raven Sister/Muse Sister! I saw two of my favorite authors on one blog and HAD to check it out! 🙂 Fantastic interview, ladies. DC, let me know if you do the Threesome post with Damon LOL – I’d love to read that. 🙂

    ~ Danielle Ravencraft

  5. December 23, 2011 5:33 pm

    Karen and Danielle, I will definitely do him (ahem) soon. The next one I am in charge of.

  6. December 23, 2011 8:25 pm

    hey Kay dee, great interview.

    And congrats on the release.kiddo.

    btw, are you one of Muse’s best sellers. I thought I saw your other book on the list and keep forgetting to ask you about the best seller list. If so congrats on that too.

    btw, you can consider me your number one fan you lady.

    Jerry Race
    Seductive. Sensual & haw romance.

    my site: http://authorerryrace.webs.com

  7. December 23, 2011 8:34 pm

    Nice to meet you, Kay Dee! I sure know what you mean about finding the time to get everything done. “One Plus One” sounds great! Hope I get to check it out. 🙂

  8. December 23, 2011 10:01 pm

    DC – WOW…this is great, having such a good time today. Everyone seems in a festive mood…spirit of the season and all.

    Karen ~ thank you for stopping in and for your kind comments. Yes…Ian, omg, he’s so beautifully handsome and yet such an awesome bad-boy…gotta love him!

    Danielle ~ Muse sister/Ravencraft’s sister *grins* So nice of you to stop in…and I’m with you on knowing when DC will post Ian’s threesome. Hugs!

    Jerry ~ Bless you for stopping in to visit. Thank you…thank you for your comment too – good luck in the drawing.

    Hi Raine – It’s great to meet you, too. Glad my book interests you…good luckin the drawing.

  9. Elena Gray permalink
    December 24, 2011 12:51 am

    Happy Holidays Kay Dee and DC! Love the sound of One Plus One! Added to my wish list.

  10. December 24, 2011 3:59 am

    Fantastic interview. I really need to check out your book. I’m getting a Nook for Christmas (Santa let it slip when we were…oh nevermind how I know) I’ll definitely put your book on my list to read in the new year.

    • December 24, 2011 6:36 am

      Ooh! I hope you like your Nook! I hope finding out about your nook was good for you.

Trackbacks

  1. And the Winner Is… « D.C. McMillen

Leave a Reply

