Skip to content

Kindle Fires, e-books, and New Years Memories All For the Taking

January 4, 2012

Welcome to DC’s blog! Leave a comment today to win a free e-book of your choice from D.C.’s Nauti-Lust series! Also up for grabs is a Kindle Fire and an $80 gift certificate for Amazon. Holy shit those are great prizes!

Now for some bad news.

Unfortunately, DC will be unable to post her New Year’s special today as promised, because her blog’s been hijacked. See, I had a long year of mundane, domesticated normalcy in 2011, so I decided to shake things up a bit and start off 2012 with random acts of naughtiness. This is only the first of many.

Although this seems like small stuff, I’m building up courage towards the ultimate goal–being brave enough to take pin-up photos for my husband this year wearing only a sexy slip and a smile. I’ve never done naughty photos, and I want to, but I’m painfully shy.  I feel DC’s blog would be a nice start, because I’m always hesitant about guest posting, too. I figured this would be good practice.

But I digress…

You’re probably wondering who I am, so I’ll start with a little background. I’m Amberr Meadows, and I’m a blogger, travel editor, and writer. My creative space is Like a Bump on a Blog, but you might remember me from a small blurb on here for DC’s 12 Blogs of Christmas post from several days ago. Then I was sharing my love of Blue Moon beer, and today I’m here to share my favorite New Year’s memory. It’s probably not very exciting, but it was more than enough excitement for me…

When I became a mother almost six years ago, I had already stopped going out with my friends for New Year’s Eve  a couple years before. I didn’t like having to worry about planning everything out, spending too much money, or finding a way to get home after discovering our respective designated driver drunkenly tossing back Kamikaze shots at the bar.  I also didn’t enjoy waking up with a nasty post-celebration hangover in someone’s garden bathtub or other random place, and I disliked having to recall the ways I’d embarrassed my friends and/or self during the partying. And they always loved to remind me.

When I was dating my now-husband (I’m on #3, but that’s a story for another time), he proposed we go out for a New Year’s Eve Party at his favorite bar. The venue was large and fairly close to home, and he’d already worked out all the details. At first I tried to use the “can’t find a babysitter excuse”, but he had that covered, too, and I could see that he’d carefully considered each detail in the planning. He clearly wanted to go out, so I just didn’t have the heart to say no.

New year’s Eve came along, and all dressed up, we went with some friends to the party. The food was sucky, but the drinks were flowing, and after a little while it didn’t matter. I also felt better than I in awhile in my pretty black dress  and heels, and I felt more like a woman than a mommy. Before that night, I wasn’t sure if my husband was capable of going a little wild and having a good time, but he proved himself worthy on the dance floor. Surprisingly, he even kept up with my moves.

What’s memorable about that New Year’s is that it wasn’t very memorable; or at least not memorable for the usual reasons.  There wasn’t drama, the DD stayed sober, and I didn’t do

anything to embarrass myself or others. I didn’t drink to excess, because I didn’t want to suffer the consequences the next day, and nobody else did anything to ruin the night, either.

It wasn’t an overly exciting time, and it didn’t have to be. It was just a bunch of us friends, some of us in love, excited to welcome the New Year and all of the wonderful potential of starting afresh for the upcoming year ahead.

Happy New Year, everyone!

Amberr Meadows

www.amberrisme.com

P.S. Make sure to visit these other blog hop participants to win great prizes!

45.
50.

 

66 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 2:33 pm

    It is so nice to be that “pretty lady” instead of :mommy.” I can relate, having begun the mommy track 6 1/2 years ago. The moments of indulgence are few and far between, but can be found in the dress, the long bath (when there’s privacy) and in writing wicked stories.

    Great post!

    – JT

  2. Maria permalink
    January 4, 2012 3:44 pm

    Sounds like everyone had an enjoyable time without having to get sick later:) I usually stay home, eat too much, watch movies and have some champagne to toast the New Year.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    ringpop2010 at gmail dot com

  3. January 4, 2012 3:57 pm

    Mine aren’t memorable either, but I enjoy them. I think it’s better to have a good time than a possible great time followed by a crash. I guess i like to play it safe: home, family, good food and movies.

    acm05atjuno.com

  4. Lindsey E permalink
    January 4, 2012 4:24 pm

    You had fun and that is the point of getting together with people for a party. Thanks for sharing and take the pictures, you will be glad ou did.
    linze_e at hotmail.com

  5. Kathryn H permalink
    January 4, 2012 4:38 pm

    You hijacked her page? LOL! I LOVE it! Being a parent involves responsibility, so I don’t take the chances of going out either. I spend the evening, safely inside my home with my family. We celebrate the end of one year and the beginning of the next, and that makes it very special 🙂 richnkathy718 (at) msn (dot) com

  6. January 4, 2012 4:59 pm

    I totally love uneventful new year’s eves 🙂 Happy new year!

    mihoxli at gmail dot com

  7. teressa oliver permalink
    January 4, 2012 5:12 pm

    Mine is when I was in the Navy and we had a huge party before we shipped out to Iraq
    teressaoliver at gmail dot com

  8. January 4, 2012 5:48 pm

    Happy New Year count me in!!!

  9. Eva P. permalink
    January 4, 2012 6:15 pm

    Some of the most memorable ones are really not that memorable in other’s eyes but our own 😉 That’s the way they are for me, I have no had the most memorable ones, but each stands out on its own because I have spent it with family, just watching tv, eating snacks and playing games.

    • January 5, 2012 7:36 pm

      Eva, I agree totally. Your good time sounds a lot like mine. Thanks for your comment!

  10. zencherry permalink
    January 4, 2012 6:27 pm

    Amberr! Woot! New Years Eve with awesome dance moves? That’s a memorable night! You do the photos you gorgeous woman, your husband will repay the treat tenfold. 😀

  11. JeanP permalink
    January 4, 2012 6:49 pm

    Great post. I think any time we are with the ones we love that makes it a memorable evening.

    skpetal at hotmail dot com

  12. January 4, 2012 7:08 pm

    Isn’t it great that wonderful memories can be the simple stuff that brings us joy? You had a great time, felt beautiful, and danced the night away. Sounds fantastic to me!

  13. jennifer permalink
    January 4, 2012 7:17 pm

    I don’t have a favorite NY but all the great ones were spent with friends or family.

    Jennifer

    wocaworld @ gmail.com

  14. savannah miller permalink
    January 4, 2012 7:32 pm

    🙂 Great post!
    brandon_savannah@yahoo.com

  15. January 4, 2012 7:39 pm

    A small group of friends getting together is my idea of a great celebration.

    caity_mack at yahoo dot com

  16. Sherry S. permalink
    January 4, 2012 8:00 pm

    Sounds like a good New Year. I never do anything but stay home with my family. This year I just stayed home reading.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  17. January 4, 2012 8:00 pm

    Huh, what a memorable night! Thanks for sharing this with us! 🙂

  18. CrystalGB permalink
    January 4, 2012 8:02 pm

    Wishing you a properous and happy new year! Some of the best memories are those spent with those we love.

  19. mystchevia permalink
    January 4, 2012 8:15 pm

    I’m with zencherry – take the plunge, girl, and so will he *smirk!*

    I have never been one to stay awake to bring in the New Year – but when I was 21 years old, my best friend drug me out with her husband and friends to a pub to a New Year’s Eve party that was really quite fun, so I’d have to choose that one, since it was my only experience *chuckle*

    Thank you so much for participating in this hop and for the giveaway chance!

    Happy New Year!

    robertsongena@hotmail.com

  20. January 4, 2012 8:28 pm

    I always just spend NYE with family. I can’t stand crowds, can’t drink much due to taking blood thinners, and don’t like obnoxious drunks (and there are always a few). So, I just stay home with family, this year with my sister and 2 of her kids, watching a zombie marathon on TV. I have to say it was great.
    June
    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

  21. January 4, 2012 9:13 pm

    Well my birthdays New Years eve so I could tell tons of stories from that! LOL But one of my most memorable would probably have to be last year just for how funny it was. My friend was 9months pregnant. Due any time and she decided that she wanted to play ‘Just Dance’ on my wii. So she seriously got into it. It was insane watching her dance with her big belly. I have it on video. Probably the funniest thing I’ve ever seen. 🙂 Thanks!
    -Amber
    goodblinknpark@yahoo.com

    • January 5, 2012 7:38 pm

      Vampedchik, that is hilarious. I’d love to see the video! Happy belated birthday 😉

  22. January 4, 2012 9:58 pm

    me i just did blog hops this year and finishing this one soon i hope hop hop hop
    desitheblonde2msn.com

  23. January 4, 2012 10:13 pm

    It’s definitely easier to stop drinking earlier when you know you’re going to be dealing with the kids the next day. Any party is a good a memorable one, when noboby overindulges and wrecks it for everyone else.

    Happy New Year!

    mnjcarter@charter.net

  24. January 4, 2012 10:27 pm

    New Year’s Eve can be a grand time. But as I’ve said before, I like to relax in quietness and just reflect, maybe plan for the coming year.

    Happy New Year!

  25. Joanne B permalink
    January 4, 2012 10:27 pm

    I normally just stay home with family and we watch movies, play games and eat and drink too much.

    e.balinski(at)att(dot)net

  26. Bre A. permalink
    January 4, 2012 10:44 pm

    I don’t really celebrate New Years but I normally stay home and watch Tv shows.

    charmed_sphere_mage69@hotmail.com

  27. Gloria permalink
    January 4, 2012 11:10 pm

    I’m glad 2011 is over & am hoping for a better year this time around. I’m going to try to make that happen as much as I can. Thanks!

    geschumann at live dot com

  28. January 4, 2012 11:11 pm

    I like the nice relaxing unmemorable ones so much better than some of the memorable ones I’ve got. I’ve done the ER visit on new years, the so drunk you wake up STILL drunk thing, and the giant party with so many people you can’t remember everyone. I much prefer the family get-together, dinner at a quiet restaurant, or a small party at home with close friends.

    a_breen87@yahoo(dot)com

  29. Sarah Ulfers permalink
    January 4, 2012 11:20 pm

    My birthday is NYE and one of my sisters is NYD so we have a combined birthday party at midnight.
    snulfers at hotmail dot com

  30. Shadow permalink
    January 4, 2012 11:47 pm

    This new years was my favorite. My family stayed home and watched movies. We had tons of fun! We ate snacks and toasted the new year. It was great! Thank you for sharing! Your new years sounds fun! Happy new year!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  31. Heather Cox permalink
    January 5, 2012 12:24 am

    thank you so much for being part of this giveaway!!! Happy New Year!

    yankeedragon4 at gmail dotcom

  32. bookattict permalink
    January 5, 2012 12:28 am

    Every year, my best friend and her husband throw a massive NYE party. After almost everyone leaves, I sit around with some of my best friends, (we don’t see each other nearly as much as we’d like to),and we just talk about the year just past, good memories — it’s just a wonderful way to celebrate, and we’ve made it an annual ritual.

    Thanks for the giveaway and have a Happy New Year!

    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  33. January 5, 2012 12:54 am

    Sometimes the best times are the quiet times. You get to focus on who you are with and not the wild antics of others.
    Happy 2012!

  34. January 5, 2012 12:55 am

    Opps! Forgot email.
    mcv111 at hotmail(dot)com

  35. Meagan B permalink
    January 5, 2012 1:00 am

    My mom would make shirley temples and snacks for new years eve celebration- loved it!

    mconnolley(at)yahoo(dot)com

  36. January 5, 2012 1:15 am

    Great guest post, Amberr!

  37. Juliana permalink
    January 5, 2012 1:27 am

    Shooting champagne out of my nose the first time I accidentally tasted it when I was 10! Thanks for being part of the blog hop! Happy New Year!
    OceanAkers@aol.com

  38. catherinelee100@gmail.com permalink
    January 5, 2012 1:37 am

    Go for it…Get the sexy glam shots for the hubby. He’ll love them…and so will you.

    Cheers,
    catherinelee100[at]gmail[dot]com
    @capefearlibn

  39. Cathy m permalink
    January 5, 2012 1:49 am

    New Years Eve will always be special since it was the night my hubby proposed. After 35 years together, I still adore the man.

    caity_mack at yahoo dot com

  40. Anne R permalink
    January 5, 2012 2:01 am

    My favorite NYE memory is the one I spend with my now husband. We went out with my best friend and her (then) husband. It was horrible. They fought the whole night but at one point during all that craziness he leaned over and told me that he loved me.
    Thanks for the great giveaway!

    areeths at new dot rr dot com

  41. elaing8 permalink
    January 5, 2012 2:04 am

    I just stay home.Happy New Year
    Thanks for the great giveaway
    elaing8(at)netscape(dot)net

  42. latishajean permalink
    January 5, 2012 2:20 am

    I had a very Quiet New Years Eve stayed home watched movies with my mom! Thank you very much for taking part in this fun blog hop! Happy New Year too you!
    Latisha D
    tishajean@ charter.net!

  43. Barbara permalink
    January 5, 2012 2:20 am

    We usually spend the evening inside with family and friends, lots of good eats…playing cards (poker) and listening to music until the ball’s about to drop. Then the wine is poured, toasts made, kisses shared…and then the party usually continues for a little while longer. Those that drank a little too much, or came without a designated driver snuggle in for the night…that’s just how we play. Better safe than sorry. 🙂 Happy 2012!

    barbbattaglia@yahoo.com

  44. Susan W. permalink
    January 5, 2012 2:55 am

    Hubby and I just stay home for New Years Eve. It works for us! LOL!

    suz2@cox.net

  45. Theresa Newbury permalink
    January 5, 2012 2:57 am

    Come on….do it!!! Live daringly! *smiles*

    brbalways(at)yahoo(dot)com

  46. SiNn permalink
    January 5, 2012 3:19 am

    honetsly i stay at home and vege with a horror film and my better half and call it good

    ty for the chance and happy new year

    mortalsinn(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

  47. Donna B permalink
    January 5, 2012 3:41 am

    Best memories are playing cards with family and friends and drinking Irish coffee’s after the ball drops in Times square. Happy New Year

  48. jeanette8042 permalink
    January 5, 2012 3:54 am

    My favorite new years was when I had a fun and crazy party with friends last year, the champagne was literally flowing everywhere since one of my friends tried to make a champagne fountain but it turned into a river instead!

    lilazncutie1215[at]yahoo[dot]com

  49. Christine T. permalink
    January 5, 2012 3:55 am

    No big special memories. I usually have a drink and a quiet evening to ring in the new year 🙂

    christinetoney (at) hotmail.com

  50. January 5, 2012 4:16 am

    I usually spend New Years with my party animals of a family aha. I would much rather prefer spending my night with a cup of tea and a good book though. Thanks so much for the giveaway and have a wonderful new year!

  51. January 5, 2012 4:25 am

    Too cute story! Thanks for sharing it with us!!

    Happy New Year to you and yours!

    thewildtwo @ sbcglobal (dot) net

  52. Lori Z permalink
    January 5, 2012 4:45 am

    The husband and I usually go to our favorite Mexican restaurant and then spend a quiet night at home.

    Lori

    knitrix29 at gmail dot com

  53. January 5, 2012 4:56 am

    Hello. Injustice wanted to let you know that you are not alone. I’ve been there many times. The last was 1999 when I drank way too much and ended up in an ice cold shower. I finally grew up when I met my wife. I am happy for you and I wish you all the best.
    Drop me a line anytime.
    Sincerely, Arthur
    Happy New Year

  54. deb pelletier permalink
    January 5, 2012 5:02 am

    I’m a Dick Clark girl.

  55. January 5, 2012 6:33 am

    thank you for the chance at such a great giveaway.
    my favorite memory is the year my husband asked me to marry him.

    tammy ramey
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

  56. January 5, 2012 7:46 am

    I stay home with my loved ones now … safe from all the drunk drivers.

    And I get to kiss the one I really want to…

    Pamela Jo
    pmjg(at)E-jama(dot)net

  57. January 5, 2012 7:52 am

    My family parties at home with lots of good food and we watch the ball drop in Times Square.

    Thank you for the wonderful contest.

    I hope you have a very prosperous New Year.

    orelukjp0 at gmail dot com

  58. Brian K. permalink
    January 7, 2012 5:38 am

    Yeah for the pinup photos. He will enjoy them if you’ve never done that before. It is a nice surprise for ne when my wife sends dirty pics. Love it.

  59. January 7, 2012 3:53 pm

    Thank you, Amberr, for the excellent post and for everyone who commented. I’ll announce the winner in my next post!

Leave a Reply

