Skip to content

Friday Spotlight with Rob “Sharky” Pruneda

January 6, 2012

Rob "Sharky" PrunedaToday is the day that D.C. typically turns the spotlight on some unsuspecting author or artist. Since I (Ciara Ballintyne) am taking over D.C.’s blog for the day, I decided to carry on with the tradition and interview Rob Pruneda, author of Pursuit of a Dream, which is now available for download on Amazon.com. Now don’t think that just because D.C.’s on holiday that I am going to go easy on Rob! So without further ado, let’s get this interview started.

Hi Rob! Where are you from?

I grew up in Austin, Texas and I’m currently living in the South Texas Crossroads town of Victoria. There’s not much to do in Victoria, but the great thing about living here is that it’s only two hours or less away from Austin, Houston, San Antonio, and Corpus Christi. So, I get the enjoy small city life (population of about 65,000) and enjoy the big city life with a day trip.

What is your latest news?

I’m currently in transition from tradition employment to self-employment. In late September I ended a career at the newspaper and decided to focus 100% on my home own business (initially from a home office), which I have operated on the side on a part-time basis since 2004. I’ll eventually have a lot more time to work on improving my craft as a writer, too! I’m very excited about this because I’ve always wanted to work for myself and finally decided to take the plunge and just do it! Some may think I’m crazy for doing so, but I think it’s the best decision I’ve ever made. I’m a lot happier now and have a lot less stress. The only downside is while working from home I don’t have as much face-to-face contact with people. That’s a tough one since I’m pretty sociable.

Victory Lane (The Chronicles) - Pursuit of a Dream-1What inspired you to write your first book? 

My older brother inspired me to write when he shared his stories with me when I was growing up in Austin. He also used to draw graphic novels (not to be confused with comics), which initially inspired me to take my own stab at it. My brother was a lot better at it than I was, but I enjoyed it. As an adult, I began writing my first book when I was in between jobs about nine years ago or so. I’m a fan of NASCAR, so naturally I decided to write my first book about a kid with a dream of becoming a professional stock car driver.

Is there a message in your book that you want readers to grasp?

I’ve discovered that there is a bit of misconception on the content of my book Pursuit of a Dream (Book 1 of Victory Lane: The Chronicles). While the story is about auto racing, hence the stock car on the cover, the story is really about Caleb Lockhardt, and his dream. Other family members play important roles in the story, but Caleb is the main character, which you discover after some character building surrounding his family. The main message I want my readers to grasp is that you can achieve anything you want if you pursue it with all of your heart and never look back. That’s what Caleb has to struggle with because no one in his family has ever been involved in auto racing. This is my first book and it is a bit lengthy at 155,000 words (about 488 pages in 6×9 format), but I enjoyed writing every word of it and I think my readers will too.

Where do you find inspiration?

I find my inspiration from all of the awesome and supportive writers I have met on Twitter, particularly those I met in the virtual pub #Pubwrite. It was these supportive authors that helped me through the process of getting Pursuit of a Dream online as an e-book and starting my author site and blog SharkbaitWrites.com. Without them I would have been completely lost.

What book are you reading now?

I read kind of slow, so I’m still working on Gabriel’s Redemption by Steve Umstead. It’s my first Sci-Fi read; I normally read fantasy and horror, but I have really been enjoying this book and will definitely continue to read the entire trilogy. If you are a fan of SciFi, you’ll definitely want to pick up a copy of Gabriel’s Redemption.

Are there any new authors that have captured your interest?

That’s a tough one because there are so many new authors that I have purchased books from that I’m looking forward to read. Off the top of my head I think Steven Montano is one of the authors I think has captured my interest the most for grabbing my attention about vampires in Blood Skies. I rarely watch movies about vampires and never read books about them, but Montano may have converted me, as long as his vampires don’t start sparkling in sunlight. J

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My current and only published book is Pursuit of a Dream, the first of three planned books in the Victory Lane: The Chronicles series which follows Caleb Lockhardt’s dream of becoming a professional stock car driver. Caleb’s interest in NASCAR and stock car racing goes much farther than just being a hardcore fan. His mind is set on his dream at such a young age. His father, and especially Caleb’s older brother Jared, initially pass it off as nothing more than just a fleeting dream. However, as Caleb continues to become more insistent about his dream, his family starts to take notice, particularly his grandfather. As Caleb’s dream gets more defined, his family life gets more complicated and stressful with a turn of events that completely changes the dynamics of his family. None of this changes Caleb’s focus, though. He also ignores the fact that no one in his family has been involved in auto racing and chooses persistence over a defeated attitude. As a child, this seems relatively simple, but as the road to achieving this dream becomes more difficult to travel, patience grows thin and even he begins to have his doubts.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your fans?

I want to thank everyone for the opportunity to share my story with you and always appreciate any feedback (good and bad). As a writer, it is important to know what my readers like and dislike so I can continue to improve and produce stories that you’ll enjoy reading. I’m also still looking for that niche audience and have several ideas for stories ranging from Christian, thriller, and even horror.

Now for those questions designed to get to know the inner you.

Who is your favourite superhero?

Jaws! Oh, wait. I guess the big fish doesn’t qualify. vV””Vv  I guess my my favorite superhero would have to be Batman because of all the cool gadgets he has…and the Bat Mobile. I own a black 1981 Corvette Stingray which my friends dub “The Bat Mobile”, so having Batman as my favorite superhero only makes sense. Unfortunately, the “The Bat Mobile” is stuck in the “Bat Cave” until I can get the ignition fixed.

Do you love or hate Christmas?

I absolutely love Christmas! It’s my favorite time of the year. What I enjoy most about Christmas is getting together to spend time with my family and friends. I also love watching Christmas movies, listening to Christmas music and seeing all of the creative decorations in the neighborhood. This year I finally put a couple of those motorized reindeer in front of the house, but that’s about as crazy as I got. I don’t need a backup generator when the lights go up at my house.

What is your favourite Christmas carol – and the one that most makes your ears bleed?

I think my favorite Christmas carol, which dates back to my childhood, would have to be Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer…probably because I could relate to Rudolph after getting picked last during kickball all of the time! Needless to say, I really stunk at sports! LOL!

Finally, Where can we find you?

Blog and author site: http://www.SharkbaitWrites.com

Twitter: @SharkbaitWrites

Amazon page: http://www.amazon.com/ROBERT-PRUNEDA/e/B004WDX2PG/

Shameless self-promotion of business  🙂 : http://www.JirehMultimedia.com

Thanks for visiting D.C.’s blog, Rob, and for stepping under the spotlight with me!

Ciara Ballintyne

www.ciaraballintyne.com

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2012 4:39 am

    Awesome interview! I love Jaws too. Thanks to Ciara for introducing us to Rob.

    • January 7, 2012 5:56 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed the interview, Erica. Jaws is the sole reason why I’ve never been in the water at the beach. I know, I know. How could I live so close to the water and not ever swim at the beach. Maybe one day. vV””Vv

      • January 9, 2012 9:15 am

        There is really only one beach I’ll swim at.Besides sharks, I have a fear of undertow!

  2. January 7, 2012 3:44 pm

    Great interview, you two! Thank you both for taking the time to take over my blog!

    • January 7, 2012 5:57 pm

      Thanks for inviting me, D.C. I had a lot of fun with my very first official interview. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas holiday and I wish a happy new year to you and your family!

      Cheers!

  3. January 10, 2012 3:34 am

    I really enjoyed learning more about Sharky. He’s a great guy 😉

Leave a Reply

