Skip to content

Cuba Recap

January 11, 2012

Cuba.

My trip involved some highs and lows but overall I have to say the trip was pleasant.

So what did I do in Cuba? Well, I spent a lot of the time testing out the many beaches.

A Beach in Cuba

A Beach in Cuba

Of course this means that I spent a lot of time at these places. Beach bars are the best.

Beach Bars Give Your Beer

Beach Bars Give You Beer

I ordered about a billion cervezas per day from these places. I know, I know, I planned to drink only fruity stuff but after trying two or three I realized that they weren’t for me.

Finally! A Cristall I Can Afford.

Finally! A Cristal I Can Afford.

Of course drinking cerveza wasn’t the only activity I enjoyed. I spent a lot of time on the water, in catamarans, hobbycats, paddle boats and, my personal favourite, kayaks.

Kayaks on the Beach

Kayaks on the Beach

Not on the water activities included entertainment shows (they really sucked, and are a story in themselves), dancing (the disco smelled like vinegar) and playing poker with my friends. We didn’t have any chips and we were low on pecos because we wanted to have as little change as possible so I collected shells from the beach, which we converted to bills later.

Poker Time

Poker Time

When we left the resort, I spent a lot of time looking at Cuban art.

Cuban Art

Cuban Art

Art Imitates Life

Art Imitates Life

And weird flowers and trees and stuff.

Thorny Tree

Thorny Tree

The food on the resort was the shittiest I have ever tasted. I did have some excellent food when I went into Camaguay, though. I also had the chance to eat freshly shucked (?) sugarcane. Holy shit, it was heaven.

Sugar Cane

Sugar Cane

If I could have spent the whole week eating sugar cane, I would have. I also spent mucho time listening to Cuban music.

Cuban Band

Cuban Band

Every single band wholeheartedly fulfilled my request for Guantanamera, which made me very happy. In fact, the only time I was not happy in Cuba was when I was eating in the resort or about to step into a washroom (five star, my ass). Even the washroom in my room was one I wished to avoid. I would have to get my boyfriend to go in ahead of me to stomp on any cucarachas that happened to be scurrying about.

squished cucaracha

squished cucaracha

So that, in a nutshell, is my trip to Cuba. Oh, except New Years (my birthday). Here is an attempted photo of the New Years party.

New Years in Cuba

New Years in Cuba

I think I should frame this photo, yes?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. zencherry permalink
    January 12, 2012 12:25 am

    I love the one of the guy on the bench and I just gotta hear about the entertainment shows now. 😀

  2. January 12, 2012 1:11 am

    The artist actually sculpted that exact guy sitting in that position years ago. He sits on the bench like that so people will give him pecos. I have more images of her sculptures, if you want to see them. I can post them next week.

Leave a Reply

