Skip to content

Music Monday: The Violent Femmes

January 23, 2012

I am in a mood. A difficult define, I’d have angst if I wasn’t so lazy kind of mood. What better music is there to suit my bubbling not-quite-fowl but far-from-content emotions than some Violent Femmes? Indulge me, won’t you dear blogisphere?

~

~

~

~


~

I would acquire and then give my left nut to have the Violent Femmes get back together so I could see them in concert. Sigh.

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2012 6:24 pm

    I have a couple of Violent Femmes stories for you. One random one, I saw them open for the Grateful Dead in the summer of 1991. Totally weird seeing them on stage with all the hippies. And I distinctly saw one of the dead’s drummers Mickey Hart on the side of the stage checking them out and digging it.
    Other story – I worked at Tipitinas which is a famous music club in New Orleans and has about a 1,100 capacity. I saw and worked at probably 500 – 600 shows there and by far the wildest crowd was for the Femmes. That included GWAR and other weird alt / goth / metal bands, the crowd just was insane at those Femmes shows. Great, great band.

  2. January 23, 2012 6:34 pm

    I needed some Violent Femmes today. Thanks for that, I feel much better now. 🙂

  3. January 23, 2012 7:29 pm

    I love this post! Zthe Violent Femmes bring back so many good memories. Its raining here and I’ve got Massive Attack running on a loop as I write.

  4. January 23, 2012 10:23 pm

    I LOVE THE VIOLENT FEMMES!!! Sorry. That just needed to be emphasized. 😉 Thanks for the share.

  5. January 23, 2012 11:42 pm

    Violent Femmes = awesome.

  6. January 24, 2012 8:16 am

    The Femmes totally rock. Also partial to NIN. A listener after my own heart!

  7. January 26, 2012 7:43 pm

    Thanks for the memories. The Femmes were a standard at all parties in college.

Leave a Reply

