Skip to content

I Wore That. Seriously.

January 24, 2012

Do you recall that ridiculously popular fashion phenomena that also happened to be the worst fashion idea on the planet? You know the one I’m talking about. The magic t-shirt known as Hypercolour by Vuarnet. Why it took me an entire summer to figure out that a t-shirt pinpointing exactly the hottest spots on my body might not be the smartest thing to don, I will never know. Of course, I quickly solved the problem of bright pink under arms on an otherwise purple shirt by wearing an under shirt. But then I was wearing two t-shirts in the middle of summer! Urgh! Don’t even get me started on a rant about all the pervy boys in my school claiming that pink hand prints on my shirt were the only reason they were grabbing me. Man, I was dumb.

Hypercolor

Thanks a lot Vuarnet. Assholes.

Once fall hit me on the head, I closeted the Hypercolour and brought out my old standby, Cotton Ginny. Man I loved those shirts. I had three or four  t-shirts and two or three sweatshirts. I would always wear them (both tees and sweatshirts) with wear turtlenecks that matched the print.

cotton ginny

But those days are gone and so is the company. Farewell Cotton Ginny.

Some of my friends cared more for Coconut Joe as opposed to Cotton Ginny. I think I had just one Coconut Joe sweatshirt that I stole borrowed from my cousin. He was a guy and he had no business wearing aqua.

Is Coconut Joe still around? Is he still a legend in his own mind? When did he start making soap?

And that is it for Time Warp Tuesday, folks. ‘Til next time!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2012 6:20 pm

    I must have totally missed this craze. Am I too young? or too old? No…don’t tell me. I think I already know. I suppose it could have been worse though…at least Vuarnet didn’t make pants. They didn’t did they?

  2. January 24, 2012 6:52 pm

    I missed this craze, too. At 31, am I too young or old, or was this a purely Canadian trend?

  3. January 24, 2012 7:23 pm

    Hmm…I’m in my early 30’s so maybe it was only a Canadian thing. Vuarnet is from France and I heard there’s a bit of tension between you two countries.

  4. January 24, 2012 8:55 pm

    Nope. Not a Canadian thing. I lived in Washington State in the early 90’s and we, too, wore Hypercolor shirts. And I was laughed out of English class for having hot pink “stains” underneath my arms while sharing a book with my crush. I never lived it down.

    I’m with you. Vuarnet = Assholes.

    –Brooke Moss

    • January 24, 2012 9:32 pm

      Lol! I was beginning to think my school was the only one who fell for this unfortunate trend. Thanks for sharing your pain, Brooke.

  5. January 25, 2012 1:03 am

    Oh no, we had hyper color too. And coconut joe. I agree, vuarnet = assholes lol. So much fun trying to explain those handprints!

    But it sure does take me back to the brand-mania of the 90s. Good times, not necessarily good clothes!

  6. January 25, 2012 1:56 am

    The running shoes were pretty hot, though. Maybe I’ll do those on an upcoming Time Warp Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

