Skip to content

D.C.’s Bucket List

January 25, 2012

Bucket ListDo you have a bucket list? I do. Well, sort of. I have a semi-formulated bucket list rolling around in my brain but I’ve never put officially typed out a list. Today is the day I’m going to rectify that. Many of the items that I have mentally formulated have already been checked off but I still have some items to share with you, my internet peeps.

So here goes.

D.C.’s Bucket List

  • Travel to India
  • Travel to Costa Rica
  • See a play on Broadway in New York City
  • Learn basic Spanish
  • Give a $100 bill to a homeless person
  • Publish a novel (I’ve already written it but, having been burned by a publisher before, I’m hesitant to choose a publisher and actually send it off)
  • Go zip lining
  • Enter a baking contest
  • Feed a baby pop rocks
  • Hold a baby sloth
  • Ride in a hot air balloon

Okay, that’s all I can think of for now. I will now follow up with the disclaimer that I reserve the right to add items and otherwise modify this list.

Now, to help me stay positive that I’ll actually complete this list, I will list a few items that have already been ticked off this list.

  • Travel to Europe
  • Have tea and crumpets in London
  • Hike through a rain forest
  • Ride an elephant
  • Gamble in Las Vegas
  • Get published
  • Feed a lion
  • Hold a baby tiger
  • Learn to drive
  • Teach a kid to fish
  • Change a person’s life for the better
  • Sell a painting
  • Eat clam chowder in Boston
  • Meet a tweep (twitter friend) from another city in person (this one wasn’t technically on my bucket list but I always thought it would be cool. Guess what? It was.)

Now, here are a few things that were never on my bucket list but I did them anyway and had I known how fun these experiences would be, they would have been at the top of the list:

  • Kiss a dolphin
  • Drink Turkish coffee in Turkey
  • Watch a whale breech from ten feet away
  • Pink dolphin watch off the coast of Hong Kong
  • Visit the Big Buddha
  • Get drunk in Thailand, rideΒ  a tuk tuk
  • Own a sail boat

So there it is, my bucket list for your viewing pleasure. Do you have one? What’s on it? You can tell me, it will be our little secret!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2012 1:38 pm

    I am on your ticked off list? (Gamble in Vegas)
    What awesome lists–We share a few. One on my bucket list is to skydive.
    I’m thinking if we all just made a list and set our minds to checking one off each year, we’d actually do it. Hmmm. Working on my list now….

    • January 25, 2012 5:13 pm

      I totally plan to come back to Vegas, Kelly. We can gamble together if I do. Or at list drink beverages that the bartender names after us. Hot Nutty Kelly’s and… Cool Cucumber D.C.’s?

      • January 25, 2012 5:14 pm

        And, yes. I hope by actually writing out my list, I will start formulating plans to make it all happen, instead of just sort of jumping into a chance to knock off a bucket list item. Hopefully.

  2. January 25, 2012 2:33 pm

    If you ever hit New York, I’ll make the four hour trek up there to see the play with you! πŸ™‚

    My bucket list is really short:

    Fix my relationship with Zack, marry him, have kids, and a picket fence.

    However, I have a feeling it’ll take a lifetime πŸ˜‰

  3. January 25, 2012 3:20 pm

    Wow you sold a painting? That is awesome!
    I have a couple
    1. be in Times Square New Year’s Eve
    2. Go back to Vegas (I haven’t been there in 36 years!)
    3. See Mount Rushmore
    4.Meet Stephen King

    And one that I got to do last year, Meet Ozzy Osbourne. That one I could do again and again!

    Great lists. I’ll have to work on mine some more.

    • January 25, 2012 5:18 pm

      I ended up selling a few to an art dealer and a couple of businesses on Bay Street. Then I realized my art pretty much sucked and I gave it up. I am a much better writer than artist. I hope.

      I keep going back and forth on Times Square on New Years Eve. It almost made my list. I really want to do it but its cold and you’re not allowed to drink alcohol to keep warm. What a dilemma for a lush like me.

  4. January 25, 2012 8:54 pm

    I almost went sky diving once…but then I thought, “Why on earth would I jump out of perfectly good airplane?” πŸ™‚ I’ll have to write a short blog post about that. Just realized my first comment was posted from my business account. LOL!

    • January 25, 2012 9:10 pm

      Yes, I would like to hear that story, Sharky. I might just jump out of a plane one of these days. My mother has done it and she keeps throwing it in my face that I haven’t yet. Okay, she doesn’t really but she mentions it sometimes.

      Don’t worry, I will delete the other comment. πŸ™‚

      • January 25, 2012 9:13 pm

        Maybe I’ll use the skydiving story in tomorrow’s post. I need to put together a bucket list of my own sometime. Sounds like fun. Loved the movie! πŸ™‚

  5. January 27, 2012 4:52 am

    I have held a baby sloth and walked across Costa Rica. Skipped the zip-line though. I know enough Spanish to make a fool of myself. Good luck with your great bucket list!

Trackbacks

  1. D.C.’s Slightly Updated Bucket List « D.C. McMillen

Leave a Reply

