Skip to content

Friday Spotlight with Wendi Zwaduk

February 10, 2012

I am so excited about this week’s Friday Spotlight! We are shining the light on Wendi Zwaduk.

Wendi, thank you so much for stopping by, Tell us a little about yourself.

I always dreamt of writing the stories in my head. Tall, dark, and handsome heroes are my favorites, as long as he has an independent woman keeping him in line. I earned a BA in education at Kent State University and currently hold a Masters in Education with Nova Southeastern University.

I love NASCAR, romance, books in general, Ohio farmland, dirt racing, and my menagerie of animals. I’m published with Total-E-Bound, Changeling Press, Liquid Silver Books and The Wild Rose Press. Come join me for this fantastic journey!

Wendi, I am a very happy girl today because you agreed to take part in a flash fiction challenge.  For those readers who don’t know the rules, Wendi was given a photo prompt and finished a two hundred word flash fiction piece in less than 24 hours

So lets get on with the challenge!

Goldilocks and the Bear

“I told you not to visit me here.” Goldilocks crossed her arms. “He was my boyfriend.”

“He looked tasty.” I licked my paws. Young, tender human male was one of my favorite delicacies. “I guess you shouldn’t have picked a blonde.”

“You broke into my house.” Her bottom lip stuck out. “I didn’t even know you were here.”

“Imagine that. I didn’t think a 300 pound bear could be so quiet. Score one for me.” I licked my paw and slicked the remnants from my muzzle.

“Is this punishment?” Her shoulders sank and she puffed out a breath. “Trying to get me back for something?”

“Hmm.” I tilted my head. Punishment? I don’t punish. Get back at her. Yes, yes I was. “I seem to recall you breaking into my house and not only eating my porridge, but breaking my chair and sleeping in my bed. You didn’t even have the decency to make the bed when you got up.”

“Oh my God.” Goldilocks frowned. “Give it up already.”

“Well, kid, consider the playing field leveled. You took my food, my chair and my bed for six hours. Who takes a six hour nap? Besides, he He smelled like feet.”

Fantastic, Wendi! You are both brave (for taking the challenge) and talented. If you don’t mind, I would like to ask you a few questions so we can get to know you better.

First, where are you from?  

The great state of oHIo. Lived here all my life and wouldn’t go anywhere else. Why? I love the smell of cornfields and soybean fields. And hey, farm hands make a darned good landscape feature.

What genre/s do you write?

Contemporary, erotic, romance, paranormal, sci-fi/fantasy and I dabble in historical. Call me a Jane of many genres.

How do you name your characters?

They name themselves most of the time. They tell me what their name will be and I run with it. Only once did I have a character that I said, wow, I want to write this name a story. What name was it? Sully.

When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing because I’d read a Harlequin novel with a sport theme involved. NASCAR. I love racing so mixing romance and racing seemed cool. But I didn’t like how neatly the ending came together. Life isn’t neat. So I thought about how I’d rewrite it. That’s when the characters started talking. I wrote it, sent it out and got the story royally rejected. But I didn’t give up. I learned the craft, realized that just because you can talk well doesn’t mean you can write well, and learned how to sell myself. I’m still learning, but I’m hoping I’m getting better.

Tell us all about your latest news!

I’m taking part in the Heart Attack collection with Total-E-Bound. Four authors, four heart pounding stories of mystery and suspense with a healthy dose of sex involved. My story, Over My Head is about a stripper and a cop. I know, I know, it’s been done, but I’d like to think this is my take on the topic.

Can you tell us a bit more about Over My Head?

Here’s the blurb!

What happens when two opposites realise they have more in common than expected?

I’m a dancer…and a damn good one. I work at the Silver Steel Gentlemen’s Club. My hard and fast rule? No freebies and no office dating. Except for Slade. Hard, fast, slow, gentle…I don’t care. I’ll take him any way possible. But he’s not that into me.

Or so she thinks. I’m a bouncer at the Silver Steel. Astra doesn’t realise I see her—I can’t help myself. She captivates me every time she’s on the stage. I want her, but I have a…problem. I’m not at the Steel to pick up chicks or even work the room. I’m there to stop the influx of drugs into the community. Yeah, I’m a cop. But if the job means sampling the dancers… Well, as long as I keep my heart out of it, I’ll be fine.

I hope.

Reader Advisory: This book has a kick ass hero, a dancer with all the right moves, hot sex, a little mutual anal play for good measure and mention of drug use.

Awesome! And hot cover. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your fans?

Thank you for reading and thank you for the comments. I appreciate the ratings, even when they aren’t the highest and wonder why you felt the way you did about the book. I’m very eager to learn from what my readers have to say and encourage them to email me (theauthorwendizwaduk AT gmail DOT com) and tell me what they think.

Finally, where can we stalk you?

Site: http://wendizwaduk.com/

Blog: http://wendizwaduk.blogspot.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/WendiZwaduk

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/wendi.zwaduk

Thank you so much for stopping by Wendi. I hope you had as much fun with this Spotlight as I did.

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2012 12:16 pm

    Loved the flash fiction! They are so much fun. Thanks, Wendi and DC.

  2. February 10, 2012 5:11 pm

    Had a blast writing the FF! HEE HEE. The bear was great!

  3. February 10, 2012 9:18 pm

    It’s so nice to get to know you, Wendy! This was a marvelous flash fiction piece. Told from the bear’s POV? AWESOME. And as for Slade…ooooh, my! 😉

  4. February 10, 2012 9:31 pm

    That was an awesome spin on a famous classic. Nicely done, Wendy!

  5. February 10, 2012 11:21 pm

    LOVE IT! And do you hire the bear out? I occasionally have someone over who a) needs to be eaten by a bear and b) smells like feet.

  6. February 10, 2012 11:40 pm

    Great interview! Loved Goldilocks and the bear. That picture rocks!

  7. February 11, 2012 3:00 am

    Great pic, great story, Wendy. I’d love to have a bear bodyguard, particularly apropos for my latest blog post regarding dumbasses #justsayin’

    I could so see your story going further. That might be kinda fun…

  8. February 11, 2012 9:02 pm

    I’d love to take the story a little further, but just haven’t had time. 🙂 Glad you all liked it. I had to write it from the bear’s POV. Who wouldn’t?

Leave a Reply

