Skip to content

Friday Spotlight with Melisse Aires

February 24, 2012

We have the talented Melisse Aires stepping into the Friday Spotlight today!

Melisse, welcome to the Spotlight! Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

In grade school I was an underachiever because I spent a lot of time day dreaming stories and drawing illustrations. My favorite teacher told my mom not to worry—someday I would find something that mattered to me and I would excel. Finally, with my children nearly grown, I’ve found something that matters to me, scifi romance. I want to write stories that take readers away from our ordinary lives to places distant and exotic, where a man and a woman face unusual challenges as they fall in love and learn to build a life together.

Where are you from?

I was raised in Montana and now live in Wyoming.

How do you name your characters?

Some names I make up. I also search baby name sites.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I wrote poetry and plays in college, tried some short mysteries and children’s books when my own kids were small, then got involved in fanfic for a few years. By then romance e-publishers were getting online, so I started submitting romance fiction.

Do you have a specific writing style?

I write sensual romance that include family and friendships. I like to write good and honorable characters in unusual circumstances.

Where do you find inspiration?

I’m visual so I look at lots of graphics on places like Deviantart, or click through wallpaper/desktop sites. Every thing gloms together and I start asking “What if…?”

What books and/or authors have most influenced you?

Zenna Henderson, Anne McCaffery, Andre Norton, C.S. Lewis, Amanda Quick/Jayne Castle, Julia Quinn, Loretta Chase, Elizabeth Phillips, Peirs Anthony, Robert Heinlein, Terry Brooks, Stephan King are all on my keeper shelf.

What book are you reading now?

Taunting Krell, Laurann Dohner, SF romantica

Can you share a little of your most recent work?

This is my latest release:
Blurb: A steampunk spacewestern romance in the Starlander Frontier series.

Asteroid miner Jack Starlander stumbles upon the illegal sale of a woman and child with unusual abilities. In the ensuing shoot out, two important men die. Jack, Sophie and her daughter, along with Jack’s close neighbors, are forced to flee to safety. Their journey takes them into deadly danger. Sophie is a creature from myth and she recognizes the mythic thread in Starlander’s family legend. Perhaps his family legend can save them.

Starlander

That sounds awesome!

Let’s switch it up a bit and ask a few fun questions.

What is your favourite guilty pleasure?

Days of Our Lives

Camping in the great outdoors or resting at the spa?

Spa! Though I camped all over Montana and Wyoming as a child and loved it.

Favourite childhood movie?

Disney’s Swiss Family Robinson

Finally, do you have anything specific that you want to say to your fans?

I have an exciting SFR release in April and am planning a blog tour and a contest, so check out my blog!

Where can we find you?

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Yahoo Loop

Bonus Question:
Who should I include in my next Threesome Thursday?

Hmmm. Some one from the SFR Brigade!

Thanks so much for stopping by, Melisse! I hope you stop by again in April, and I hope everyone reading this will commence stalking you…now!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2012 10:39 pm

    Your blurb sounds great! Interesting mix of genres. Great interview, nice to meet you.

  2. February 24, 2012 10:45 pm

    Wonderful post, and good luck with your captivating crossgenre read!

  3. February 24, 2012 10:47 pm

    I enjoyed the post, Melisse! Many of your “inspirational” authors also inspired my writing. I look forward to checking out your work!

  4. February 24, 2012 10:57 pm

    Thanks Kelly and Raine. I’m working on the next in my Starlander Frontier trilogy. Also, I have free books on my yahoo loop–paranormal romances from a publisher that went out of business.

  5. February 25, 2012 12:07 am

    Love the combination of outer space and steampunk! And I’m always amazed when authors have such stylish covers. I’ve seen some truly bad “it screams home made” covers, so I really appreciate a good professional looking one. And it helps that they are both on the hottie end of the spectrum!

  6. February 25, 2012 3:06 am

    I was thrilled to get a great professional cover artist, Nancy Donahue. I wanted the warm sepia type tones, and a couple on the cover so readers would know it was a romance. I really need to get it made into a coffee mug!

    PS. Thanks so much for hosting me, DC!

  7. February 25, 2012 3:17 am

    No problem, Melisse! Please come back any time.

  8. February 25, 2012 3:49 pm

    I enjoyed your interview. It’s nice to meet you!

  9. February 25, 2012 5:47 pm

    I love romance, any kind of romance and your cross-genre work intrigues me to no end. 🙂 I will definitely have to check out your work!

Leave a Reply

