Skip to content

Time Warp Tuesday Strikes Again

March 6, 2012

I haven’t done a Time Warp Tuesday in a while but today I was feeling…inspired.

Do you remember M&M’s? Okay, sure. M&M’s are still around. But do you remember the M&M’s from back in the day? Can you recall a time when Red and Blue did not exist but light brown reigned supreme? Maybe this commercial will jog your memory.

Now, let’s go back even further. In the 1940’s, Forrest Mars Sr. patented the process of candy coating the little chocolate buttons and all that melt-in-your-mouth-not-in-your-hand goodness was rationed to soldiers. The general public would have to suffer through melty chocolate covered hands for the time-being because M&M’s were off limits. The original colours were red, yellow, brown, green, and violet.

In the 50’s, peanut M&M’s were introduced.At first they were all one colour – light brown. With time came the awesome blue M&M but only for peanuts, not for milk chocolate. It was also around this time that the lower case m on the candy was changed from black to white.

When fears of carcinogenic red die were raised in the late 70’s, the red was temporarily booted out and the orange guy was in. It wasn’t until the mid-nineties, however that the light brown colour was ousted. After a huge campaign that invited consumer voting, blue was voted in over pink or purple. Personally, I would have voted for pink. Come to think of it, I probably did vote for pink. I did a lot of stupid shit back then.

Nowadays M&M’s come in the following varieties: milk chocolate, dark chocolate, crisped rice, mint chocolate, peanuts, almonds, orange chocolate, coconut, pretzel, wild cherry, cinnamon and peanut butter.

And I fucking love the pretzel ones. I also love the latest M&M commercial:

I would totally be Red in that situation. Also, my mom in the form of Yellow would jump in and start dancing with me. Or even more likely, she would have her legs wrapped around a pole. And with that image swirling around in your brain, I am done.

Source: Wikipedia, duh.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2012 9:42 am

    Love the information from the history of m&m. And LOVE the new commercials! Thank you for the fun.

  2. March 6, 2012 1:49 pm

    I don’t even have to watch the commercial to suspect that I’d be the stern brown one rolling my eyes at DC and her mom!

  3. March 6, 2012 5:34 pm

    Thanks for the M&Ms history lesson, DC. I had no idea. It’s not something you think about when you’re stuffing your mouth full of chocolate after a stressful day. Now I’ll reminisce about all of those colors (past and present) on a deeper level. Nah! I’ll only be thinking about the sugar high I’m going to get after eating two or three bags.

    • March 6, 2012 9:26 pm

      I see your three bags and I raise you a cookie jar full of the little buggers.

  4. March 6, 2012 9:08 pm

    Thanks for that, DC. You know I love Time Warp Tuesday. BTW, I voted for purple. 🙂

  5. March 7, 2012 4:25 am

    My husband and I met over a pack of M&Ms. Wish they still made light brown…

Leave a Reply

