Skip to content

Music Monday: Songs I’m Embarrassed to Like

April 2, 2012

I was at a party this weekend that was kinda fun. The most fun part for me was when everyone did twelve or so too many jello shooters and started bringing out their iPods. People took turns dropping their iPods into the sound dock to  play their favourite lame songs. Not content to stop there, party goers  also used beer bottles, a hair brush or candle sticks as microphone props to belt along to their music.

Okay, I realize this all sounds a little sucky but you were not at the party I was at the weekend before, the highlight of which was when everyone (including an 80 year old ex-boxer) started inhaling the helium from balloons and singing ballads. Obviously this event was  a step up. Besides, if you haven’t seen my boyfriend lip syncing and dancing to It’s Raining Men then you, my friend, are missing out. Big time.

So what songs are on my iPod that I’m just a little embarrassed to know all the words to and yet I can’t help but sing along?

 

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

~

Next week I plan to share some songs I am totally not embarrassed to love, even though I perhaps should be.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. rainethomas permalink
    April 2, 2012 7:21 pm

    I knew I liked you for a reason, DC! We both have the same taste in (embarrassing) music. 😉

  2. April 2, 2012 8:22 pm

    Well, I am NOT embarrassed to like ALL of those songs…

    jdobypr
    http://jdobypr.com

    • April 2, 2012 9:33 pm

      Excellent! I will blare them even louder on my crackling minivan speakers.

      • April 2, 2012 10:46 pm

        See that’s what I am talking about…except i don’t have a minivan LOL

  3. April 2, 2012 8:31 pm

    LOL, that’s my drunk playlist! I also throw in Foreigner just to keep everyone on their toes! These songs are fantastic! Being lame doesn’t make them lame…It makes them awesome! LOL

  4. April 2, 2012 10:43 pm

    Hey, I know most of those songs, and they rock! Although I do remember one of the last times I went niteclubbing, Ice Ice Baby came on. My friends and Iwere all ‘Woo! yeah!’ and everyone else had this look on their face that said ‘What is this shit?’ They didn’t even know what it was! Then I realised I was getting too old to be niteclubbing.

    • April 3, 2012 1:41 am

      lol! I’ve had just such an epiphany under a slightly different version of that experience.

  5. April 3, 2012 12:44 am

    What’s sad is that not only do I like all of those songs, but I’m not really embarrassed about it. Add the Spice Girls “Wannabe” and Tone Loc’s “Funky Cold Medina” to that list and you’d have a mix I would listen to over and over!

  6. April 3, 2012 1:41 am

    Funky Cold Medina rocks! I’m totally not embarrassed to like that song.

  7. April 3, 2012 7:10 am

    Oh honey … now that’s some embarrassing song-love. I’ll call you with a little Wham U.K. new wave action.

  8. April 3, 2012 5:58 pm

    I don’t think I have any embarrassing song loves. A friend told me that if you like something (music, books, movies), don’t feel guilty about it. I’ve adopted that mentality.

    However, I used to feel guilty about my love of Air Supply and and The Humpty Dance. No longer.

Leave a Reply

