Skip to content

Friday (the 13th) Spotlight: Michel Prince

April 13, 2012

Author Michel PrinceWe have an spectacularly superstitious Spotlight for you today. Michel Prince, the beautiful and talented author of Chrysalis joins us with a guest post on superstition. She begins with a fab excerpt from her book.

Michel, you have the floor!

~

Half time was almost over when Oscar came to me. 

“I have a problem.  I’m out of gum.  I thought I had enough.  Can you run and get me some?”

“Your problem is you’re superstitious.  Come here.”  I curled my index finger to draw him closer.  Kissing him, I slowly slid a piece of Juicyfruit from my mouth to his.  His tongue licked mine in thanks. 

“It’s fresh, I promise.  I just put it in.”

“You really love me, don’t you?”

“Yes.” 

He took off back to huddle with his team.

“What was that?” Kelly asked.

“It’s a Friday game.  Friday he has to chew Juicyfruit.  Tuesday it’s Doublemint.  Thursday’s Big Red.  Saturday, bubblegum-flavored Extra.”

“He’s insane.”

“He loves me.  He’d have to be.  I just try to keep a pack of whatever day it is in my pocket.”

“So you have a whole pack?”

“Minus that piece.”  I smiled and Kelly looked at me shocked.  “What?  Can’t I want a kiss?” 

-Chrysalis by Michel Prince

Chrysalis

~

I still put my right shoe on first every time.  Why?  No I don’t have OCD, I have CDO it’s like OCD but in the correct alphabetical order.  Just kidding.  I put my right shoe on first because in seventh grade Reita Sievers told me I had to or I’d play lousy and possibly cost us the game. Okay, costing the game may have been my over active imagination but as the new girl in seventh grade everything was taken to dramatic extremes.  Oh who am I kidding it still is.  Back to my silly superstition, I don’t even know if Reita even believed the right shoe theory, but since seventh grade it’s right shoe first for me.  Ironically I just learned that my husband was told the left first, it must be like buttons on a man’s shirt verses a women’s.

Athletes and actors seem to be the worst with superstitions.

My son always has at least one corner of his shirt untucked and never has it tucked during warm-ups.  If my husband wins the first game of the season driving a certain route to the home stadium…he’ll take that route every time.  We’ve also found that if we video tape or take pictures of our son playing any sport he’ll do poorly.  And sure, if we admitted these eccentricities to a psychologist we might earn a seventy-two hour pass in a padded room.

Don’t people understand that if you don’t lock pinkies with another actor and say “break a pinkie” the stage floor will collapse and possibly take down the whole theater and kill thousands.  I’m not the crazy one, right?

I love black cats as much as the next one, it just better not cross in front of me.  Never split a pole with someone you’re walking with, they could possibly die or you could depending on the day.  However, I did step on a lot of cracks when I got mad at my mom, so I debunked that myth.

When does the superstition cross from obsession into insanity?  My estimation would be when you can’t function. Sure people have bad days, but most just realize the sun will rise tomorrow and we’ll be able to keep going, just not wearing our unlucky shirt.  That one’s going to Goodwill, because my bad luck may be your good.

Check out Chrysalis, because Oscar’s an athlete raised by a superstitious Southern father, so getting the right gum on game night is the least of the superstitions that run through the whole series.

~

Thank you so much for stopping by, Michel. And for letting us know that you put your right shoe on first to get here. Your excerpt was excellent and I believe all of your superstitions are, at the very least, 83% valid. I’d like to give you 100% but then I’d have to knock on wood and I am not sure if the wood veneer of my desk counts. (Ikea has screwed me again.)

~

Folks, please find Michel at the following links and, before you go, make sure to check out the trailer for Chrysalis. You will be so glad you did!

www.michelprincebooks.com
www.facebook.com/michelprincebooks
8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2012 4:25 pm

    Thanks for having me D.C. and yes pressed wood is a problem for us all.

  2. April 13, 2012 7:33 pm

    Lol! pressed wood is one of my many problems.

    Thanks again, Michel. Come back any time!

  3. April 13, 2012 9:39 pm

    I have a black cat that I love dearly, saved me from a coyote one time, so he must be lucky for me! I think the stories behind the superstitions are all fascinating. I’m really not sure there is one I take seriously. Fun post! Thanks, Michel!

  4. April 14, 2012 4:09 am

    Superstitions are part of our hard wired neurology–humans look for patterns and jump to conclusions for our evolutionary protection.
    That said, there’s magic everywhere.
    Aloha
    Toby Neal

  5. April 14, 2012 5:59 pm

    Great interview, terrific trailer! Love Sierra’s voice, the interplay between the two — sweet & hot. Can’t wait to read it! xo

  6. April 14, 2012 6:48 pm

    No, I’m not superstitious. I throw salt over my shoulder because it’s an all-natural abbrasive for the tile. Duh. Who am I kidding, I’ve done it on the carpet, too.

  7. rainethomas permalink
    April 14, 2012 8:19 pm

    I grew up with three brothers who all played sports, so superstitions were prevalent in our house. You do NOT want to know what an unwashed jock strap or pair of socks does to a bedroom’s odor. My mom eventually made them store their gear in the garage to spare the rest of us. Anyway…the book sounds great, Michel! I’m adding it to my to-read list.

  8. April 15, 2012 4:23 pm

    I really loved the interview and the trailer. Nicely done!

Leave a Reply

