Skip to content

Steampunk (and other stuff) is Alive and Well in T.O.

April 18, 2012

When I found myself at Comic Con in Toronto this past weekend I learned a lot. For example, we have a Ghost Busters gang right here in the T Dot. I also learned that we have a Steam Punk Society!

Steampunk Society

~

Steampunk Stuff

~

Not only do we have a group of individuals dedicated to Steampunk, we also have a Steampunk street fair coming to Queen street this summer. Steam On Queen is taking place in and around the Campbell House on June 23rd, 2012. Admission is free and there will be a plethora of freaky side shows, performances and music. There will also be a lemonade and cider garden, and a gypsy encampment. Of course there will be lots of vendors as well.

Steampunk Vendor

~

Aside from the Steampunk Society, I also found out that there is a Doctor Who Society of Canada. Aside from Comic Con, these guys do a lot of stuff. Check out their website for all of their upcoming events and activities.

Doctor Who Society of Canada

~

Outside of Comic Con costumes and formal groups, there was a lot of artwork that caught my eye. Sure, there was a lot (and I do mean a lot) of comic book and fan art.  I am not that into comic books, with the exception of Mad comics and Archie and his gang, so to me they just seemed to be rows and rows of talented people signing their work. Here is some more off-the-wall art I saw:

Zombie Art

~

More Zombie Art

~

Now, I do happen to be a huge Tim Burton fan. When I met the fabulously talented Torontonian artist Ken Turner, it was immediately apparent to me that he is an even bigger fan than I am.

Ken Turner

~

Grow Up to Be Tim Burton

~

He did have some non-Timburtonesque fan art but I stuck to what I like and purchased this book from him:

Ken Turner's Eye Candy Volume 2

~

And this print:

Ken Turner's Cheshire Cat Print

~

I am so excited to have discovered this guy. Maybe one day I will commission something from him (I checked, he does do commission work).

~

Finally, there was obviously a lot of product there. I had to resist the urge to buy some original Nintendo games. Sigh.

Original Nintendo Games

With this third post on Comic Con, I have pretty much summed up my learning experience from this weekend. I will post all of my Toronto Comic Con Photos on Facebook as well.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2012 12:40 pm

    Way cool..I would have loved to see this..Love steampunk..It is so fun and interesting.

  2. April 18, 2012 3:09 pm

    It was a very interesting crew. Hopefully I will make it to Steam on Queen in the summer.

Leave a Reply

