Skip to content

Stretched Anthology Up for Grabs: The Results

May 1, 2012

There were so many great entries for my favourite lyric contest. It was practically impossible to judge an yet  judge I did! To make things fair, I covered up all the avatars when I read through the lyrics. Luckily, this piqued the boyfriend’s curiosity and, after I explained to him why a third of my laptop was covered in paper, he helped me narrow down my winner list. Anyway, let’s move on to the big announcement.

The winner of a print copy of the Stretched Anthology is (drumroll, please) Kim, with the following Mumford & Sons lyrics!

And I will hold on hope.
And I won’t let you choke
On that noose around your neck.

Kim, I will email you soon to get your full address. I hope you don’t live in Siberia.

It was very difficult to make up my mind, so I decided to choose two runners up. The first runner up will receive an e-copy of my recently released novella, The Rusty Nail. The second runner up will receive an e-copy of my brand spanking new short story, The Rental, which is set to release in just three days.

The first  runner up is Scott Hernwith Leonard Cohen’s Hallelujah lyrics:

well maybe there’s a god above but all I ever learned from love is how to shoot somebody who outdrew ya

And the second runner up is Lorca Damon with Stephanie Maybe’s Zombie Song lyrics:

Oh, I’d try,
Not to bite and infect you because
I’d respect you too much
That’s why I’d wait until
We got married.

Congratulations to the winners and a huge thank you to everyone who entered!

Just for funzies, here are the three winning songs. Oh, except I’m posting K.D. Lang’s version of Hallelujah because I bloody love it.

~

~

~

Oh what the hell, here’s Leonard Cohen’s Hallelujah as well…

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 2, 2012 12:41 am

    hard to go wrong with those lyrics – love mumford & sons. sorry i missed the contest but then my brain probably would have froze up trying to pick my fave lyrics – too hard a decision! i’m sure you had just as hard a time picking a winner. great idea for a contest, though.

Leave a Reply

