Skip to content

Fifty Shades of Gay

May 22, 2012

That is the next book I want to write. Seriously. I wonder how long it will take me to come up with 50 M/M short stories/flash fiction pieces? I have….four so far. Maybe I should gather some co-authors and we can publish a Fifty Shades of Gay anthology. Who’s with me?

But on to Fifty Shades of Gray trilogy.

I don’t usually opine about other writer’s books on this blog. I hold back for a couple of reasons. First, things that bug me in books are usually the same dumb little things that I do in my own writing. How can a pot, in good conscience, call the kettle black? Also, even when the little things about a book bug me, I usually love it anyway. It is no different with Fifty Shades of Gray, so why have I decided to write about the Trilogy here? Well, first of all, the author has sold, like, a buhzillion copies so I am pretty sure she doesn’t give a damn what I think about her books. Second, the trilogy is so ridiculously popular that I would feel remiss not mentioning it on the e-rotica blog.

Now, on to my humble opinions.

Fifty Shades of Gray is hot. It’s chock full of sex, and it would likely serve as inspirational and informative for couples who are toying with the idea of, well, toys…and bondage and what not. When I started the first book, I could not put it down. Luckily, I run my own company so I had the luxury of taking the whole morning off to read it cover to cover. But the ending wasn’t really an ending, which pissed me off. Thank goodness I bought all three books at once because I then had to take the entire afternoon off to read the second book, Fifty Shades Darker.

Fifty Shades Darker had an actual ending, which made me happier. There was also a neat little cliff hanger that made me want to read Fifty Shades Freed, the third book. Another reason I wanted to read the third book was because a conversation between Ana and Fifty’s psychiatrist led me to believe that the reason for her complete lack of self-confidence and awareness might be revealed. I mean, come on? What devastating experiences led to a gorgeous, seemingly intelligent young woman to not feel even an ounce of beauty within herself? And she’s like, 22, right? And still a virgin. That is not so entirely remarkable in itself. I am sure there are a few 22 year old virgins in the United States. But she’s never even masturbated? WTF? Mental problems, right? I really wanted the explanations for this to be intertwined into the third story. They weren’t.

I, of course, lent the books to my mom. I warned her that the author tended to use the same adverbs and adjectives over and over again, she referred to inner goddess to the point of reader exhaustion, and the ending of the first book wasn’t, but I insisted she read the books anyway because they are entertaining as hell, the story line is interesting and the sex is hot.

When my mother returned the books, I asked her what she thought. Here was her response:

“My inner goddess enjoyed them immensely. In fact, she wouldn’t stop doing back flips until I frowned petulantly at her.”

“Mother, you are so mercurial,” I responded.  At this point, we both peeled into laughter.

Teasing about the book aside, my mom enjoyed them as well and lent them to a friend. There were a couple other parts of the book that bugged me (and my mom) but overall, it was a great read. And I am thankful that these books are so popular. I see people reading them on the subway and other public places. What erotica books will they read next? Mine? Yours? Let’s hope so.

So, if you haven’t yet, pick up Fifty Shades of Gray (the best of the three, despite the ending, in my humble opinion). Once you have read all about Ana and Christian, why not move on to another erotica author’s books?  E.L. James was an indie author. Hell Fifty Shades was originally published as fan fiction. It is my sincere hope that, if people will read her books in public and recommend them to friends, they will do the same with other erotica. In the mean time, I’ll be thinking more about this Fifty Shades of Gay idea….

🙂

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2012 4:45 pm

    Looking to forward to reading these books. I’m hearing about them everywhere!

  2. May 22, 2012 6:08 pm

    I agree with you. The first is the best of the three, and like your mom, I got a kick out of her inner goddess in addition to the e-mail exchanges, which occasionally made me laugh out loud. I was glad I purchased all three at the same time, also, and read them almost without stopping. Yeah, they had some problems with repeated words and questionable actions, but I did enjoy them. Unfortunately, all my gay characters are secondary, otherwise I’d take you up on your 50 shades of gay. Thanks for the post.

    • May 22, 2012 11:54 pm

      Glad to know my opinions aren’t way off base! We will call your story Secondary Shades of Gay.

  3. May 22, 2012 10:02 pm

    I didn’t think 50 shades had anything much to recomend it. I got sick of her biting her lip and saying ‘Oh My’. I wondered too why an american girl was using a ‘mobile’ surely they all call them cell phones there. Nit picking perhaps but I found the girl unbelievable. Christian was fairly interesting, but then so are snakes. Crap ending.

    • May 22, 2012 11:56 pm

      If you read the third book, you might have thrown it against a wall over the Mine. Mine. Mine. OMG, I get it. She’s his, He’s hers. Argh!!!

  4. zencherry permalink
    May 22, 2012 10:48 pm

    I’m in. Be forewarned though, I will throw out phrases like throbbing member and replace it with dick, cock, and perhaps even rod of pleasure when I’m waxing the ah…pole. 😉

    • May 22, 2012 11:57 pm

      I much prefer dick, cock and rod to throbbing member but I’m up for all three…um. Wait.

      • zencherry permalink
        May 23, 2012 2:08 pm

        Ahahhaaa! Warn me D.C. I was drinking Tang which burns when I laugh it out my nose. 😉

  5. May 22, 2012 11:47 pm

    I’ve heard very mixed opinions about the book so I probably won’t bother. What I have heard makes me feel I would likely hate it.

    • May 22, 2012 11:59 pm

      Yes, if you have trouble getting past repetitive flaws, it might not be for you. I usually read erotica out loud to my bf but he made me stop not far into the first book because he had “issues” with a couple of sections he found annoying.

Trackbacks

  1. Where the Hell Have You Been? « kimbervale
  2. Fifty Shades of Gay Karaoke, What? « D.C. McMillen

Leave a Reply

