Skip to content

I Should’ve Asked

May 29, 2012

I’m a Yes girl.

I am always up for an adventure, and if someone asks me to do something weird, crazy or just, well, different, I can usually be counted on to say yes with no questions asked.

Sometimes. Sometimes I should really ask questions first, though. For example:

“D.C., do you want to dress up in a mascot costume for a weekend?”

Instead of immediately agreeing, I should have asked the following:

“Will I be outside in the blistering heat for several hours?”

and

“Are people mean to mascots?”

and

“Will this be filmed and then subsequently televised on national television?”

These were things I should have asked instead of simply shrugging and saying, “Sure! I’ve never done that before.”

Next example:

“D.C., my sister needs to move to British Columbia. Will you drive there with her so I know she’s safe?”

Instead of saying, “Sure but you owe me,” here is what I should’ve asked.

“Will we be driving in a rented U-Haul with no air conditioning or shocks in the blistering heat of summer for six days?”

and

“Will there be a screaming new baby seated between us the whole way?”

and

“Will your sister insist I stay in B.C. to help her unpack, find a job and provide emotional support through the midst of what seems to be a nervous breakdown?”

and

“Will your sister make any attempt whatsoever to accommodate my vegetarianism or will she try to force feed me meat for the entire trip?”

Example Three:

(In Hong Kong) “D.C., would you like to go on hike?”

Instead of saying, “Hell yeah, I would,” here is what I should’ve asked:

“Will this hike take place on three mountains known worldwide as Dragon’s Back?”

and

“Are you a semi professional athlete who will demand that I keep up as you practically jog the path?”

and

“How long will this hike take?”

and

“Should I bring a change of clothes for after the hike?”

Next example:

“Hey D.C., want to go for a ride on a thirty person bike?”

Instead of answering, “Sure I do!” I perhaps should have asked:

“Will this bike have more than one gear?”

and

“Will everyone peddle equally or will some people find it funny to put their feet up for the ENTIRE ride?”

and

“Will I spend over an hour getting there to find the bike ride is just around one block?”

and

“Am I supposed to get donations?”

Another example:

(In Budapest) “Hey D.C., want to go on a wine tour then visit some natural hot springs and mud baths?”

Instead of saying, “Abso-fucking-lutely!” I should have asked:

“What is the alcohol content in this wine?”

and

“Is the point of this wine tour to sample wine from sixty different caves in a two hour time frame?”

and

“Are the hot springs hot enough to boil eggs?”

and

“Is it a requirement that I must be naked to enter the mud baths?”

Final example:

“D.C., want to go to Karaoke Box tonight?”

Instead of saying, “Sure, why not?” I should’ve asked:

“What the fuck is Karaoke Box?”

~~~

Yes, perhaps if I had half a brain in my head, I would have asked questions instead of jumping in to all of the above activities. Oh who am I kidding? I would have done all of them anyway. I can’t help it; I’m a Yes Girl!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2012 11:44 am

    Jumping in is what makes it fun and interesting..Not knowing what to expect really…

  2. May 29, 2012 2:13 pm

    I’ve been the one asking questions first. Seems like you’ve had MUCH more fun

  3. May 29, 2012 2:35 pm

    That hiking adventure sounded like a lot of intense fun though.

    • May 29, 2012 6:06 pm

      It was, and I felt like I had accomplished something very cool when I was done.

  4. May 29, 2012 9:09 pm

    Woohoo! Hey D.C., wanna go mudriding and noodling with my family and me?

Leave a Reply

