Skip to content

5 Star Review for The Rusty Nail

July 15, 2012

Hi folks! I just received a wonderful review for The Rusty Nail! I loved this review so much that I simply had to post it (show it off) here.

5.0 out of 5 stars An Interwoven Tale of Sultry Mayhem,July 10, 2012
This review is from: The Rusty Nail (Kindle Edition)

D.C. starts the story out in a bar named, (you guessed it), The Rusty Nail.

Each chapter she weaves has a character that seems a vignette in and of itself. Each vignette tying into the next or the one before it, until all characters have brushed up against each other, (some quite intimately heh heh), at one point or another. This is a difficult feat as a writer, making certain all lines stay un-knotted and eventually carrying the reader into an understanding of what’s being done so aptly for them.

I loved the usage of the vernacular where appropriate instead of ‘throbbing member’ euphemisms that generally just make me frustrated and jar me away from the reality that I was making come alive in my mind.

I see no other option but to give this a 5-star review as the characters were complex and played true-to-form with a few surprises, (the Irish guy was HOT and took me aback w/the heat index I felt as I read it.)

I look forward to more from D.C. and am a HUGE follower of her blog on Thursdays. (And other days too but Thursdays rock pretty hard.) 😉

How awesome is that? Doesn’t it just make you want to run out and buy a copy? 😉

Since today is Sunday, here is a little six-sentence excerpt of The Rusty Nail:

I cautiously abandoned my intention to move seats.

“Um. How is the, uh, wine?” I asked.

“Sour. Like my mood before you sat down,” she purred. That would have sounded like a lame pick up line coming from anyone else but when she said it, I actually felt my chest tighten and my breath catch. I watched her move her hand towards mine.

I hope you enjoyed that tiny snippet. If you’d like to read other six-sentence excerpts, please click on the Six Sentence Sunday category on this blog.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2012 9:40 am

    She said it so well. 🙂

  2. July 15, 2012 2:15 pm

    What an awesome review. Good going, DC!

  3. zencherry permalink
    July 15, 2012 3:35 pm

    I ❤ your writing so much D.C. and you too, naturally. 😀

Leave a Reply

