Skip to content

Making a Mountain Out of a Molehill with Goodreads

July 18, 2012

I am finally FINALLY catching on to the whole Goodreads thing. I tried a while ago and in my infinite stupidity could not figure out how to add my books, make friends, upload my blog, etc. So I did what any normal girl with the attention span of a fly would do; I gave up after ten seconds. I wrote it on to my To Do list and shelved the whole debacle in the deepest recesses of my mind. Yep, Goodreads sat between my online Spanish lessons and how-to knitting supplies. Until a few weeks ago, that is.

What I lack in computer smarts, I make up for in tenacity and dumb luck. I decided to try again. I spent a morning first changing my name from D.c. Mcmillen to D.C. McMillen (a feat I have yet to accomplish on Facebook) and then somehow managed to add my blog feed and books. I asked all of my Twitter pals to be friends with me on Goodreads and, fascinatingly, they accepted. A couple of them even added one or two of my books to their To Read shelves. Yay!

I feel like I’ve climbed about midway up the molehill that is somehow a mountain for me and yet I’m still having issues. For example, I don’t like that my Amazon reviews do not show up on Goodreads. Of course, should I actually have more than three reviews on Amazon, this would be more of an issue. Sigh.  (Lyssa, thank you for re-posting your Amazon reviews to Goodreads. You are a doll!!!). Another issue I have is with indie authors’ works to which I have given stars and reviews on Amazon. I am having trouble wading through Goodreads and then, when I can’t find the book I lack the time and follow-through to upload the books myself. Much like many of the characters in my books, I am into a more quick and easy kind of experience.

The simplest solution I can think of for this is, if you are an indie author and you know I’ve read your book because I’ve given reviews/stars on Amazon or tweeted you that I loved it, please send me a book recommendation on Goodreads. I can then mark it as read and copy my review from Amazon, write another or, at the very least, give a star rating and add it to my book shelf. I only have three shelves right now – To Read, Read and Reading – but I hear a rumour that I can start separating the shelves by genre.

The next problem I have with Goodreads is the three shelves I just mentioned. I like these functions because I can add books that I discover and want to read. There are countless books out there that I have seen and put on my mental To Read list and then promptly forgotten both the title of the book and author name. Thanks to Goodreads, this is a thing of the past! When I get to it, I can simply change the status from To Read to Reading. The potential issue comes when I have to change the status reflect that I have actually finished the book. When I do this, I feel like I have a responsibility to give a star rating. After all, everyone saw it on my shelf (well, anyone who was bored enough to look) so now they want to know what I thought, right? I mean, the books can’t just sit on my To Read Or Reading list forever. So what if I hate the book? Do I skip the rating and just mark it as finished? That seems a little wishy-washy to me.

Anyway, as I muddle through Goodreads, please feel free to join me, if you have not already. Advice is appreciated, as is the restraint you show by not pointing and laughing over the fact that it took me an entire morning to figure out that, yes, I could remove typos from my own fucking name (unless I’m on Facebook, which is why it was effed up in the first place).

Book Mountain

12 Comments leave one →
  1. juliabarrett permalink
    July 18, 2012 6:02 pm

    I just closed my Goodreads account. Not particularly user-friendly nor is it an especially welcoming environment for authors. I realize authors are readers too, but I feel like that’s a moot point.

    • July 19, 2012 5:35 pm

      I have yet to figure out if it’s a fun valuable tool or total time waster.

  2. July 19, 2012 1:42 am

    Well, I’m on Goodreads, but you apparently know more than I do, because while you may not be able to yet use some of the functions you’ve mentioned, I didn’t even know some of them existed!

  3. July 19, 2012 9:36 am

    D C…. Goodreads and I have a love/hate relationship. Lol. I started my account way back in early 2000 something…… and got frustrated so walked away…. attention of a flea – blond life – I came back after a while…. did okay, the hit a fubar again….. walked away again. Then I started my own blog, thank the Goddess for wordpress, blogger and live journal just were too complicated for me – remember blond is a state of mind not only a hair color. So once I got my review site up, I started consistently doing reviews, they go on my site, then Goodreads, then amazon. Then any other site I can find the book on that will let me post…. do you know there sites that won’t let post unless you buy the book from them! How rude! Lol. I am hoping by working with reviews it will help me make a tighter story line when I wright. 🙂

    Glad you and Goodreads are on speaking terms, makes it easier some times for the review to get put up. 🙂 have fun!

    • July 19, 2012 5:37 pm

      I haven’t tried the blogging platform on Goodreads. I’m glad it works for you, I love your reviews!

      • July 19, 2012 6:07 pm

        I don’t blog on there, my blog is lyssareviews.wordpress.com. unless my blog is connected to theirs. Lol

        I just type my reviews at work and copy and paste. 🙂 I find I love reviewing, it is a good outlet for m frustrated writer. 🙂 Glad you like them.

  4. justinbog permalink
    July 19, 2012 4:53 pm

    Love Goodreads now too DC — my initial experience and attitude mirrors your own — I spoke to a Librarian there (contact) and the book veil parted. They are very helpful and want to help everyone (even we authors – who multiply like rabbits – would that be called harerotica?) – very fun thoughts and best always, Justin

    • July 19, 2012 5:40 pm

      If I run into issues again, I will follow your lead and talk to a librarian. If I ever write a harerotica piece, I will name one of the little bunnies Justin. 😉 😉 😉

  5. July 22, 2012 6:17 am

    As an author, the thing I despise most about Goodreads are one star reviews sans any reason. There’s an army of casual readers out there who don’t understand that telling an author what bothered them is helpful. Then again, there’s the “the writing sucked” school of review which is silly. I don’t think my pub companies would commission “sucky” writing.

    Yeah, I do have a love/hate relationship with Goodreads.

    Also it’s easy to become a librarian. Being a librarian makes life a little easier.

    Feel free to ask for help!

    S.A. Garcia

Trackbacks

  1. Ethics Of The Written Word by @RachelintheOC
  2. Erotica Readers and Writers on Goodreads « D.C. McMillen

Leave a Reply

