Skip to content

Stacy Green’s Thriller Extravaganza

August 3, 2012

Mystery and suspense author Stacy Green is visiting us today to give us the lowdown on an upcoming event that mystery, thriller and suspense fans will not want to miss.

Stacy, welcome  and take it away!

 

Hi D.C.! Thanks so much for having me today. I’m really excited to tell your readers about Thriller Extravaganza.

 

A couple of months ago, I posted this question in my Suspense, Mystery, and Mayhem group in Kristen Lamb’s WANA Tribe: how can we help each other?

 

I wanted to find a way for our group of writers–ranging from paranormal suspense to crime thrillers to romantic suspense and more–could make each other better. Some of us, like Diane Capri and Kassandra Lamb, have multiple books out while others are still drafting their first novel.

 

Several ideas were discussed, and many of the questions were craft related–although marketing came in a close second. I believe in having the best book possible before you even think about marketing it, so I sat down and started to work on how I could help my fellow writers.

 

I’m no expert. My first novel releases November 30th, and I plan to follow up with my second this spring. I’ve come a long way, and I’m confident in the two books I’ve written, but my experience is limited. What our group needed–and what every writer needs–is advice from experienced authors who’ve clawed their way up the ladder of success.

 

So I needed to throw a party and celebrate some great writers. Give them a stage to dance on.

 

My Thriller Thursday posts are a popular staple my blog, Turning The Page, and seemed the natural place to throw an awesome author party. So I had the location, but I didn’t have any kind of theme, much less decorations or cool party favors.

 

And then it hit me: Thriller Extravaganza! Five Thursdays in August, four amazing writers, and one fantastic craft expert giving up their secrets to writing killer suspense and thrillers. WANA is all about authors helping authors, and thanks to August McLaughlin, Catie Rhodes, and Piper Bayard, I managed to line up some amazing authors.

 

But what’s an extravaganza without prizes? Each author will be giving away a copy of their book (or class), and we’ve got TWO grand prizes!

 

For writers: Kristen Lamb is offering a silver spot in her WANA International blogging class. This is an awesome opportunity for anyone looking to figure out their brand and the best way to utilize social media.

 

For readers: a $25 Amazon gift card and a box of healthy goodies from August McLaughlin. Stuff your face with yummy and your Kindle with books!

 

I’m so honored (and excited!) to bring you this line-up of bestselling authors. I hope writers and readers alike will benefit from their posts. Don’t forget to stop by and enter the contest!

 

 

 

Thriller Writers Extravaganza

August 2
R.J. Ellory, bestselling author of A Simple Act of Violence
* Creating Tension *

August 9
Margie Lawson, writing coach of awesomeness
* Killer thriller craft *

August 16
Kathy Bennett, police officer turned crime writer (A Deadly Blessing),
* Writing authentic crime scenes *

August 23
Allison Brennan, bestselling author of The Lucy Kincaid Series,
* Tricks of crafting a superior series *

August 30
Vicki Hinz, bestselling author of The Mind Reader

Find Stacy Online:

Twitter     Facebook    Blog     Goodreads

 

BIO:

Raised in southeastern Iowa, Stacy Green grew up watching crime shows with her parents, so her love of suspense and psychological thrillers is no surprise. She’s fascinated by the workings of the criminal mind and explores true crime on her popular Thriller Thursday posts at her blog, Turning The Page.

 

After earning her degree in journalism, Stacy worked in advertising before becoming a stay at home mom to her miracle child. She rediscovered her love of writing and wrote several articles for a city magazine before penning her first novel. She shelved the long drama and began working on a suspense book set in Las Vegas, featuring a heroine on the edge of disaster, a tormented villain, and the city’s infamous storm drains that house hundreds of homeless.

 

Into The Dark is suspense with a dash of romance, and Stacy is hard at work on her next book, a darker, grittier thriller set in the Deep South.

 

When she’s not writing, she spends all her time with her precocious daughter, supportive husband, and their three obnoxious but lovable canine children.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2012 12:47 pm

    Thanks for visiting, Stacy!

Leave a Reply

