Skip to content

Apples. There Are Worse Things I Could Be Picking

September 24, 2012

I stopped at the grocery store the other day to pick up a few brown bag lunch items.  I was a little shocked when my balance came to over $40 because I really hadn’t bought that much. When I got home, I checked the bill and immediately found the culprit/s. Four Honey Crisp apples came to $8.75. Holy shit!

Well, being a resourceful kind of girl who is not willing to give up her apple consumption OR part with nearly ten dollars for less than a half dozen of the buggers, I packed up the boyfriend and two dogs (mine and my mother’s because I’m dog sitting for the weekend) and headed for the apple farm. We commuted from farm entrance to orchard via wagon pulled by a tractor. I had a little fun by pretending I thought the tractor pulling us was a Kubota though it was clearly an International. My boyfriend, who works almost exclusively on International trucks, was like, “What other brand could it be? Who else makes tractors?”

“John Deer?”

“Try again.”

“Um…CAT?”

“Nope, who else?” He asked, trying not to lose his cool.

“I really don’t know any other brand.”

“Yes. You. Do.”

“Nope, sorry.”

“How about International? You know, the company I work for?”

“Oh sweetie. International doesn’t make tractors. Honestly, you should know that.”

So things were off to a good start.

We picked apples while the dogs ran off leash. I picked one off the ground and threw it. My mom’s dumb-as-dirt dog fetched. And fetched. And fetched.

Dumb Dog

This dog just looks dumb, doesn’t he?

Stella loves to fetch, too but she showed no initial interest in apples. She was clearly more interested in chasing sticks. She ran into the woods and came back with this one.

Stella with Stick

“Screw the apples. Throw the damn stick!”

When she had no takers on the stick fetching thing, she gave up and chased an apple. At which point she discovered that apples are delicious. Sherlock, my mom’s dog just sort of looked confused as his toy disappeared.

Dog eating apple

“Holy shit! Did you know you can eat this thing?”

After the apple picking, we stopped off at a winery, a honey stand and then a farmers market. It was a good day and I can now commence with preserving/canning. That’s right, I’m a girl with many talents. At least, that’s what I tell myself until I have to test that theory by eating said preserves.

Dog with Apple

“Give me the fucking apple!”

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2012 6:54 pm

    I love Stella! The hubby and I want a Boston Terrier so bad. But seriously – the apple thing? No joke! Almost any decent piece of fresh fruit requires getting a small loan – crazy!

    • September 28, 2012 3:03 pm

      We did a lot a research before choosing a BT. Totally paid off! I couldn’t ask for a better dog. 🙂

  2. angelicadawson permalink
    September 26, 2012 12:40 am

    You shoulda come to my house. I have tons of apples falling off my tree. 😉 Speaking of which, where’s my husband? He should be picking them (I’ve gotten all the ones at my height).

    • September 28, 2012 3:04 pm

      I’m so jealous of you right now. If there was any way to fit an apple tree on my balcony, I would be all over that.

  3. Elizabeth Knightbridge permalink
    September 26, 2012 10:50 am

    Great post…really enjoyed the “trip to the farm”. Sounds like a wonderful day….so cute the way the terrier fetched and so forth…thanks for the minute vacation!

Leave a Reply

