Skip to content

Wedding Songs for the Wedding That’s Not Happening

October 16, 2012

wedding coupleEvery once in a while the BF and I discuss the M word. That’s marriage, for those of you who can’t or don’t want to bother reading my mind. I’ll be honest, we probably won’t get to it any time soon. We’ve already been together for a billion years and have no plans of making babies. My mom is not the marrying kind, she discovered after about three marriages (I love that lady but she can be a slow learner in some areas) so she is not pressuring us in any way. The BF’s mom is super Catholic so she would really like to see us get hitched but she is too polite to really hammer us with her wishes. She is more the type to drop little hints and almost subtle comments.

Even though we have no immediate marriage plans, we do think we will maybe get to it some day. We’ve even gone so far as to discuss the type of wedding we want, assuming we don’t get blind drunk in Vegas and wake up as Mr. and Mrs (the most likely scenario, by far). We’ve discussed the winery setting, the brewery setting, the swanky yet laid back bar scene setting…I think you can see a theme appearing…

One thing is for certain, the party will be late in the evening and there will be no sit down dinner. This is not to save money but rather to discourage people from bringing the kiddies and to leave much more room for dancing and mingling. The drinking will start an hour before the wedding, so that my family will be too buzzed to make snide comments about my dress, hair and jewellery choices (the favourite activity at weddings in my family seems to be dissing the couple who just spent $30,000 on a celebration that includes free food and unlimited alcohol). The ceremony will be short and un-boring as possible. I am not sure if we will have speeches or whatever but what I have done is tentatively picked out some song selections to get the party hopping as fast as possible. So, without further ado, here are the choices thus far. Once you’ve checked them out I of course want your opinions as to what we should add or alter.

FIRST DANCE

~

FATHER DAUGHTER DANCE (and yes, we will be busting the actual Pulp Fiction moves)

~
THIRD DANCE (everyone on the floor, bitches!)

~

FOURTH SONG (stay on the floor!)

Either –

~

or

or

~

FIFTH SONG

~

After that, I will leave the song choices to the D.J., although I will have some suggestions for him, such as…

Little Green Bag Pulp Fiction
Ice Ice Baby Vanilla Ice
Deeply Dippy Right Said Fred
Can’t Touch This MCHammer
The Night Patty Murphy Died Great Big Sea
Mari-Mac Great Big Sea
Hooked On A Feeling Resevoir Dogs
On the Floor Jennifer Lopez
Candy Man Christina Aguilera

 

So, this is what we have the music choices at for now. Suggestions? Comments? Opinions?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2012 7:49 pm

    Sounds like a good day.
    The whole church, long reception thing that seems to be every single wedding in Ireland never appealed to me.

    • October 18, 2012 4:16 pm

      Ugh. I know what you mean. The best weddings that I have attended have been short, sweet and loaded with booze.

      • October 18, 2012 4:43 pm

        There has to be booze and lots of it!

  2. October 16, 2012 11:05 pm

    Don’t be so subtle as to just arrange the evnt to discouirage children, put on the invitations ‘We regret this is a child-free event’ – even if you don’t 😉

    • October 18, 2012 4:20 pm

      Would you believe my jerky boyfriend won’t let me?! He is afraid of insulting family with smaller kids.
      I’ve been to weddings that ask for no kids and there is always one or two couples who bring them anyway, which only serves to make the parents who did follow the rules feel resentful. Honestly, I think this is why we keep putting it off. It is more work to deal with family then it is to plan the damn wedding.

  3. October 17, 2012 6:36 am

    Love your music choices and your venue choices. 🙂 it is totally up to you whether this happens or not, so might as well have fun with the planning. 🙂

  4. October 17, 2012 1:59 pm

    Great playlist. I would attend that wedding. Send me an invite if you every do decide to get it over with even though you have been together for a billion years. HAHA.

  5. Amy permalink
    October 17, 2012 4:41 pm

    Love it and the playlist. My now hubby and I were not really into the whole wedding thing so we eloped. It was perfect. Your playlist though, makes me want to party. Saying hi from Triberr!

    • October 18, 2012 4:21 pm

      The eloping idea appeals to me so much more than a wedding. I guess time will tell. 🙂

Leave a Reply

