Skip to content

Get Laurel Crement’s Latest Release and an Amazon Gift Certificate!

October 19, 2012

We have the talented Laurel Cremant stepping under the spotlight this week to offer up a guest post about why she chose to write contemporary erotic romance , a taste of her latest release, Negotiating Skills and a killer contest! Up for grabs to one lucky commenter will be a copy of her latest release and a $25 Amazon gift certificate.

For those of you who do not yet know Laurel, here is a little bit more about her.

Laurel is a romance author, who like most writers loves to read. Her first love (pun intended) has always been romance. From the sappy YA romance novel to the more risqué erotica novels, Laurel is a sucker for a good love story.

Laurel writes paranormal and contemporary romance and is a self proclaimed, out of the closet nerd. She admits that she can’t seem to avoid adding a bit of “nerdology” or “geek-dom” to all of her books.

Laurel, please tell us how your latest release, Negotiating Skills was conceptualized and why you chose the genre of contemporary erotic romance.

I’ve always loved reading and writing paranormal romance. For me it is the ultimate escape from the real world. So I was more than a little surprised when I came up with the premise for Negotiating Skills. Don’t get me wrong I also enjoy reading a good contemporary romance as well, but in the past all of my story ideas have always veered toward the paranormal genres. I mean sexing a hot vampire just seemed like more fun than a rolling around with a hot firefighter or a being bent over my desk by a sexy, dominating billionaire or spanked by a strong and righteous police detective, or…oh wait…yeah, so let’s just say my perspective has changed somewhat.

The premise for Negotiating Skills slowly evolved after I had a somewhat lively conversation with a friend of mine regarding what we both considered sexy when it came to romance novels. Despite my bent towards the paranormal I found myself defending the old Plain Jane/Handsome Boss model that I used to love reading in Harlequins as a teenager.

I wasn’t arguing that side just to be contrary (although I am known for that). I argued because during the course of the conversation I realized exactly what I loved so much about those old Harlequin books. Those books all had one thing in common that even as a teenager I found sexy. That thing was a concept that isn’t dependent on the existence of vampires, flying cars or physics. It’s the concept of tension (okay so maybe physics is slightly involved here).

The right amount of tension in a romance novel can make or break the sexy quotient (at least for me), and what better example of tension than the classic Plain Jane/Handsome Boss model with its inherent power dynamic struggles? Hence Negotiating Skills was born, an erotic contemporary romance filled with lots of tension and plenty of steam (I hope).

The book revolves around a power struggle between Veronica James a spunky computer programmer and her new client Victor Rossi, a sexy and successful business mogul. I of course had to revamp the Plain Jane idea. I like my heroes bold and my heroines strong, smart and feisty so I made sure my “Jane”, Veronica, gave just as good as she got. Trust me when I say these two had fun honing their negotiating skills.

And now I need to learn more about Negotiating Skills! Can you offer up a blurb and an excerpt?

negotiating skillsNegotiating Skills, blurb

Witnessing a private act leads to some interesting negotiations… Software programmer Veronica James is struggling to make her new business a success. Unfortunately, after finally landing a major account, she’s at risk of losing it all when she catches her new client Victor Rossi in a very compromising position. In an effort to regain the upper hand, Rossi insists on some very sexy and compromising concessions that have Veronica reconsidering her hard fast rule of not mixing business with pleasure.

Negotiating Skills, excerpt

With her decision made, she straightened her back and locked her gaze firmly onto Victor’s cold green eyes.

“I won’t sleep with you,” she said calmly.

“I don’t believe I asked for that pleasure,” he replied, quirking his eyebrow in a way that Veronica was finding increasingly annoying.

She pressed her lips together firmly. He was behaving like a jackass. She couldn’t believe that she had spent all that time fantasizing about such a ruthless jerk.

“And no one else will be aware of this…arrangement except the two of us,” she continued.

“I’ve never been one to discuss private business matters with outside parties,” he said with a slight smile playing across his lips.

“Fine,” she said as she dropped her gaze from his and reached into her purse to pull out a pen. She pulled the contract forward and signed the bottom page with hands she fought to keep steady from shaking. After she placed the pen down, she couldn’t prevent her hands from clutching tightly on the cool glass top of Victor’s desk.

She pulled in a shaky breath and raised her gaze back to his. She kept her eyes steady on him as she pushed back her chair and began to raise her skirt.

“Not so fast,” he said harshly, his words halting her movement.

Veronica let her skirt fall back down to her knees. For a split second, Veronica again thought that Victor had changed his mind, but his eyes remained cold and she knew that wasn’t the case.

“The deal is that you would show me yours, so come here,” he said gesturing to his side of the desk.

If it weren’t for his cold gaze Veronica almost believed that his voice had grown huskier. She locked her knees to keep them from trembling as she made her way around his desk.

“Continue,” he said when she reached his chair. She watched and struggled hard not to reach out and slap his smirking face as he leaned back in his chair and rested his folded hands across his flat stomach.

Veronica felt her knees tremble and her stomach quaver at his focused stare and tried not to let her surprise at her body’s reaction show.

As pissed off as she was at his demands, it seemed as if her body had yet to receive the message that the recent object of her obsession had turned from a sexy crush to an arrogant ass. Even now standing in front of him about to submit to his ludicrous demand, she couldn’t keep a warm flush from spreading throughout her body and a lick of desire settle in her stomach.

She didn’t know who she was angrier with at this point, herself for being so aroused, or Victor for putting her in such a demeaning position.

“Sometime this century please,” he said arrogantly. He no longer looked in her eyes. Instead he kept his eyes fixed squarely below her waist.

Steeling herself against the need to physically hurt him, Veronica kept her gaze trained on him as she clasped her skirt in her fists and pulled it up to her waist. She saw Victor stiffen and hoped that he was just as uncomfortable as she was.

She held her skirt up with one hand and reached down to hook her fingers into the hip of her blue lace thong with the other. She paused only briefly before pulling it down over her lips and releasing her fingers to let the patch of lace pool at her feet.

She was about to smooth her skirt back down over her hips when Victor’s hands reached forward in a flash and grabbed her hips firmly in his hands.

“I gave you more than just a few seconds worth of a look last night,” he said huskily.

“I’m pretty sure I’m owed more than just a quick peek now,” he said as he moved her over slightly.

Veronica felt the cool glass top of his desk graze her ass as he shifted her over. Her muscles felt frozen. The moment his hands clasped her hips she felt such a rush of heat she was afraid to speak. It burned so quickly, she struggled to keep it from fogging up her mind completely.

She stood quietly, locked in a shocked haze of heat, as his hands leaned her back against his desk. The movement caused her legs to splay open slightly, just enough to give him a full view of her pussy.

His thumbs stroked across her hips and down slowly to the crease of her inner thighs. He kept his touch light, his fingers never touching the aching juncture between her legs.

“I wouldn’t have figured you for the clean shaven look,” he murmured.

Thank you, for an excellent excerpt, Laurel. Where can we find you and your book online?

 
Website & Blog: www.LaurelCremant.com
Twitter: @LaurelCremant
Availability:
Amazon– http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00905DHEC
All Romance– https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-negotiatingskills-918286-149.html
Barnes & Noble– http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/negotiating-skills-laurel-cremant/1112559528?ean=2940014887151
Kobo–http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/Negotiating-Skills/book-xf39HkoKPkKiDOPqn7n43A/page1.html
~
 Ladies and gentlemen, as previously mentioned, Laurel is generously offering up a copy of Negotiating Skills and a $25 Amazon gift certificate to one lucky commenter. Please leave your comment below for Laurel!
25 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2012 12:05 pm

    Hi D.C. Thanks so much for hosting me today 🙂

    • October 19, 2012 1:41 pm

      Of course! Please visit again, and I can’t wait to read Negotiating Skills.

  2. Cherryce permalink
    October 19, 2012 12:32 pm

    Good interview .

  3. DeLeetra J. Staley permalink
    October 19, 2012 2:43 pm

    Awesome Job Laurel great interview. Loved Negotiating Skills great read and hot hot hot. 🙂

  4. October 20, 2012 2:26 am

    Loved the book! Stayed up last night reading it, posted the link to it on our Facebook group page and snuck re-reading excerpts of it on my Kindle at the office today. Not giving anything away but I will say it is a RECOMMENDED read. First time reading anything from this author and if her other books are as entertaining as this one was I look forward to blowing my budget with her work in my Kindle!

  5. October 20, 2012 1:57 pm

    Great excerpt. Congratulations on the release and wishing you many sales.

    • October 20, 2012 10:34 pm

      Thanks Patsy. I had a lot of fun with this one. My next release is a paranormal contemporary but the next book in this series will be right behind it 🙂

  6. October 22, 2012 1:29 pm

    I love visiting with D.C.’s guests! I agree with you about the old Harlequin formulas, Laurel. They were successful for a reason. What a great idea to change it up a bit to bring in some spice! I look forward to checking out Negotiating Skills.

    • October 22, 2012 7:41 pm

      Yes! Harlequins still have a place of honor on my shelves. I still remember my very first one was a Penny Jordan that I still have now and hope to find in ebook format soon because it is has been read ragged!

  7. juliabarrett permalink
    October 22, 2012 2:48 pm

    Great interview and an intriguing excerpt! Best wishes with this release.

  8. October 22, 2012 3:03 pm

    Nice interview. There’s a little Harlequin in all of us. Good luck with the book

  9. October 22, 2012 3:48 pm

    Fun interview and spicy except! What’s not to love about those skills?
    Aloha
    Toby Neal

  10. October 22, 2012 6:36 pm

    What I disliked about the old Harlequin romances was that the woman always set out to change the man from an aloof pig into a mature, loving man…and she did that all by keeping her legs crossed! Sheesh! I have always used “harlequin-romance” as a euphemism for girlfriends who have the same trouble with men over and over again, because they think they can change a leopard’s spots. Not bloody likely, girlfriend!
    My Mom used to drop-kick the books across the room because they didn’t have any actual sex-scenes! Like mother, like daughter, eh?

    • October 22, 2012 7:45 pm

      Hahahahahaha! I started doing the same once I grew older and actually KNEW what was happening after the smoldering looks and hot kisses. But I still have some favorites regardless. To be fair Harlequin does have their Blaze and Desire lines now, but yes I think even those can use a bit more spice. I think you’ll be happy with the level of heat and description in this book 🙂

  11. October 23, 2012 3:48 am

    Sounds very enticing! I’m so curious to see where it all goes 🙂 Good luck with the book!

  12. sadidy permalink
    October 23, 2012 7:52 pm

    I really love the cover, and I’m a bookcover snob. lol. I’ve said this before, I really admire romance/erotica authors because I really struggle with the intimate scenes. Good luck with the book, it sounds great.

    • October 24, 2012 12:00 am

      Thanks Sadidy. The lovely Ravven (www.ravven.com) did the cover art for me. She was amazing to work with and surprisingly affordable. The intimate scenes were difficult at first but after a few lines you embrace the heat and run with it 🙂 The real test came when my mom asked for a copy of the book, lol!

Leave a Reply

