Skip to content

So Your Son’s a Princess. Happy Halloween.

October 31, 2012

One of my friends, a single dad, called me the other day in a panic over his son’s choice of Halloween Costume. Apparently, when he asked the kid what he wanted to be for Halloween, he responded with, “A Princess.” In fact, the little boy was adamant that that is what he wanted to be. For reasons that are still unclear to me (um, I have exactly zero children and my only experience with the little buggers is when I’m stuck at a breeder’s  and their spawn won’t stop following me around. I swear, kids are like cats. They hone in on the person whom they make the most uncomfortable and spend as much time as they can pretending to be best friends with said person) , my friend sought my advice.

Him: D.C., I have a problem.

Me: What’s up?

Him: My son wants to be a princess for Halloween.

Me: So?

Him: What do I do? I can’t talk him out of it.

Me: Um, dress him up as a princess.

Him: He want’s to go to SCHOOL dressed as a princess. He’ll get beat up.

Me: Oh come on. How much damage can a bunch of first graders really do? Oh wait. Are you afraid they’ll tear his dress and he won’t be able to wear it again?

Him: This isn’t funny. They might scar him for life.

Me: If you were worried about mental scarring, you shouldn’t have named him Tristan. What is it with parents and that name? I just don’t get the appeal.

Him: Fine. He wants to go as a princess, he goes as a princess.

Me: Sounds like a plan. Send me a pic.

So little Tristan dressed as a princess, complete with lavender hair, a tiara, a wand and princess shoes. Adorable! And my friend called me again today.

Him: I just dropped Tristan at school.

Me: And?

Him: He was one of three boys dressed as princesses.

Me: Man, your kid’s school is gay. I hope they have a killer drama department.

Him: Yeah well, I was just calling to say everything worked out. No one laughed at him.

Me: Was he pissed about all of the other princesses?

Him: Naw, I told him not to worry, he was the fairest of them all. He agreed.

Me: Confident little bugger, isn’t he?

Him: I guessed he has to be to wear a girl’s costume.

Me: And you made such a big deal out of it. Speaking of which, I have the perfect idea for a Halloween costume for you. It will totally go with your son’s.

Him: I’m going to regret this but, what’s that?

Me: A drama queen. Seriously.

image credit

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2012 3:51 pm

    LoL! I can’t believe there were 3 male princesses, but that’s pretty awesome. I wonder what influenced this gender stereotype crossover?

    • October 31, 2012 4:03 pm

      Yeah, I was wondering the same thing. I think it’s awesome, though!

  2. October 31, 2012 4:13 pm

    Count me in on the wonder of it…and also the awe of it…he does seem like a confident kid, sort of like wearing pink and being masculine enough to not question its feminine overtures…only so much more. Just like every generation, everything seems to intensify;) Bravo, little princess.

    • October 31, 2012 5:30 pm

      I love when my bf wears pink. He has dark hair so it looks so good. He doesn’t wear it often but he tries to wear ties with some bright pink in them. He knows how I feel about suits, he knows how I feel about pink. He wears both and he’s pretty sure he’s getting lucky. 😉

  3. October 31, 2012 6:44 pm

    Ha ha. Fair play to him for letting his son dress as a princess. Most guys would be way too freaked out.

  4. November 2, 2012 6:23 am

    I just bought my 4-year-old son “girl” shoes at good ole Payless today. He picked them out, tried them on, ran a few laps around the store, and fell in love. I’m pretty confident the kids at his preschool won’t have a thing to say about it (he’s got an Ariel lunch box, too and no one has said a word about that). But I’m sad for the day–I’m guessing in the next year or two–when someone tells him he “can’t” or “shouldn’t” wear girly stuff like pink. I love that he just honestly is who he is right now!

  5. November 10, 2012 9:06 am

    Three boys dressed as princesses = three awesome sets of parents. LOVE this post!
    http://theycallmemummy.com

Leave a Reply

