Skip to content

A Decent December Cover Reveal and More

November 13, 2012

Today is a happy day in the land of D.C. McMillen. Why, you ask? Well, I just received my cover for A Decent December, a short erotic humour story, which will be coming out through MuseItHot publishing in…yeah, December.

I am just dying to share the cover with you. So, without further ado, here it is, folks!

What do you think?

As you can guess by the skyline on the cover, this story takes place in Toronto. This is the first story I have written that is so obviously centered around the city I live in, and I would definitely like to write more stories with a Toronto setting. It was fun for me to visualize my characters interacting in some of my favourite spots and hangouts.

As made obvious in the title, A Decent December takes place in the last month of the year. I chose December for a couple of reasons.  I liked the contrast of a frigid month and the melting heat of a budding relationship. I also wanted to imply Nina’s positive nature despite internal conflict. Instead of looking at the demise of her previous relationship as a shitty ending to a shitty year she chose to perceive it as a new beginning, as if the New Year (and the opportunity to turn over a new leaf) came a month early for her. Here are the opening lines of the story:

December is supposed to be the month of wrap ups, of endings. The year comes to a close, and it gets you to thinking about ending old habits. About closing doors and filing all the shit that’s happened to you over the course of the year under ‘S’ in the old mental filing cabinet. This December, however, turned out to be a month of discoveries.

When A Decent December releases next month, I hope you will take the time to give it a read. I love Nina’s character. She is funny, honest and charming. Below is a short (and hopefully humorous) blurb so you will have a good idea about what A Decent December is about.

A Decent December, blurb

When Nina finds her boyfriend playing hide the sausage with a local deli clerk, she decides to swear off men for a yet to be determined amount of time and head to Toronto with her faithful companion, an English bulldog named Betty. En route, she picks up a Hitachi Magic Wand to help keep herself (ahem) occupied. When Nina meets her adorable new next door neighbor, Ned, however, she may have found someone who can give her resolve and old Mr. Hitachi a run for its money.

voilà! I hope you are half as excited as I am about A Decent December’s impending release.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2012 5:11 pm

    Cover is lovely. Congrats.

  2. November 13, 2012 6:56 pm

    Being a SoCal gal, I’m not familiar with the skyline immediately. It’s a gorgeous cover though! I love this time of year, and these heart-warming releases. Congrats.

    • November 13, 2012 10:47 pm

      Thanks Louisa! If you ever make it to Toronto I will show you around.

  3. November 13, 2012 11:34 pm

    Sounds awesome…I love me some Toronto! Congrats!!

  4. November 14, 2012 8:50 pm

    Congrats on the book coming out – nice cover!

  5. November 15, 2012 3:53 am

    Cover is pretty, book premise seems interesting.

Trackbacks

  1. Pre-order A Decent December, Why Don’t You? « D.C. McMillen

Leave a Reply

