Skip to content

Spent My Saturday Night In a Barn. Jealous?

November 19, 2012

The boyfriend’s parents took us out for our annual Christmas in November celebrations. Just like last year, they brought us to a barn/theatre/restaurant outside of Toronto. Just as last year, the evening started on the ground floor of the barn where we filled our plates with food such as roast beef, roast pork, cranberry chicken, veggie lasagna, potatoes, sweet potatoes, and peas. The vegetarian minestrone soup is home made by the owner’s mom, as are the various pies for dessert. I filled up on mostly on those two things, although the veggie lasagna is also pretty damn good.

We ate our dinner in a converted cow stall below a sign that read DAISY while listening to an ancient woman play old-timey music on the piano. Around the time we are eating desert, a man playing the guitar joined her and sang songs like I’ve Got A Lovely Bunch of Coconuts between jokes that were almost dirty. I personally love cheezy jokes so I laughed my way through chocolate pie and hot tea. Here was my favourite joke from the dessert portion of our evening:

You can kiss a nun once, you can kiss a nun twice but you just can’t get in the habit.

AHAHAHAHA!!!

Okay, dinner and desert was over. So we headed upstairs for the theatre performance. The upper floor of the barn has been converted into a stage with re-purposed seating from classic theatres that are no longer. The play was chock full of jokes but the premise was boring and I had trouble staying awake after that huge slab of pie. Luckily the collective gasp of the audience that occurred every time the nurse on stage hopped, jogged, danced and – at the end of the evening – bowed, helped me to tune in at minimum every five minutes. Honestly, this actor’s boobs were so massive and jiggly, we all thought they were going to bounce out of her low cut shirt. They did fly partly out of her shirt (quite a bit, actually) but her bra must’ve been made by magic fairies because those puppies remained partially ensconced for the entire evening.

At the end of the play, one of the actors came out and gave a spiel about other upcoming plays, etc. He then ended with a joke that made me giggle like a little girl. Here it is:

Two salmon are swimming upstream. They hit a cement wall. One of the salmon says, “Dam”.

AHAHAHAHA!

Anyhoo, that is how I spent my Saturday night… I hope you all had an entertaining weekend!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2012 9:47 am

    Love that salmon joke!

    • November 19, 2012 1:27 pm

      I can’t wait to tell that one next time I’m in a bar! I can already see my boyfriend’s eyes rolling.

  2. November 19, 2012 6:09 pm

    Both of those jokes had me giggling like a schoolgirl! ;D

Leave a Reply

