Skip to content

12 Days Of Christmas: Drinks to Get You Toasty Warm. Or Just Toasted.

December 19, 2012

Last year about this time a great group of friends (twelve to be exact) got together together to do what we called the 12 Days of Christmas. Each of us chose a specific Christmas-centric topic (my topic of choice was Christmas drinks), and then everyone who participated visited each blog to share their favourite item in that category. Confused? I was at first, too, but it all worked out in the end. Just so you don’t have to waste anytime catching up to speed, below is a re-post of my 12 Blogs of Christmas Drinks, complete with updated links. Make sure to read my super important update at the end of this re-post.

12 Blogs of Christmas: Christmas Drinks

Like it or not, Christmas is fast descending upon us. Like a looming storm cloud, I feel the big day hovering closer. Questions swirl, “Where did I put that gift I bought for my mom?” “Why haven’t I ordered the turkey yet?” “Who did I forget to invite to dinner?” “Do I have to make time to visit my second cousin’s brother in law’s new baby?” Then I pour myself a glass of red, crack open a book and shirk my responsibilities for one more evening.

It’s Christmas. Let’s get to the merrymaking, already.

Red wine with a good book is not the only relaxation technique I employ to get through the holidays, survive the hoopla stay merry and bright get through the holidays . I also stuff my face with chocolate, over-wrap Christmas gifts, carol the wrong words at the top of my lungs, put obnoxious sweaters on my dog and then force her to sit pretty for the camera, and book a vacation to take place directly after the holidays. These stress relieving activities, along with my favourite Christmas beverage help get me through these jolly jolly times.

Which brings me to my contribution to the 12 Blogs of Christmas: Favourite Holiday Drinks. Awesome, right?

So, let’s start off with my fave holiday drink, which is the Kir Royale. I love this drink because I can start drinking it at 9am on Christmas morning with nary an eyebrow raised. In fact, as soon as I pour myself one of these lovely little drinks, people demand I start handing out the flutes. No one ever says, “It’s 5 o’clock somewhere” just before they pop the cork on a bottle of champagne. Any time of day is an acceptable time to partake in the bubbly. Especially over the holiday season.

The Kir Royalebecause there is no wrong time to drink champagne

Just pour ½ ounce of Cassis into the flute and then fill the rest of the flute with champagne. Garnish with whatever (within reason).

Now, lets get on with the other 11 bloggers participating in the 12 blogs of Christmas.

kir royal

Kelly’s Chocolate Kiss – because Kelly Gamble is more of a shooter than a cocktailer

Kelly’s Chocolate Kiss is a sweet treat that will have you licking your lips and sticks–peppermint sticks, that is.

1/3 chocolate vodka

1/3 vanilla vodka

1/3 Bailey’s Irish Cream

Pour equal parts of each ingredient into a cocktail shaker with ice and shake. Strain into a shot glass and serve with a peppermint stick.

Chocolate vodka is sometimes hard to find, so if you can’t, or if you’re a light weight, substitute chocolate liqueur. For an added treat, forget the stick and serve the shooter in this:

Candy Cane Shot Glasses

purchase candy cane shot glasses here

Check out Kelly’s contribution to the 12 blogs of Christmas as she lists our favourite holiday books.

Holiday Sherbet Punch   because candy should get you drunk
46 oz. can Hawaiian Punch
5.5 oz. can pineapple juice
2 liter Sprite
1 qt. rainbow sherbet
1 lb. bag frozen strawberries
1-2 cups dark rum (to taste)

Combine Hawaiian Punch, pineapple juice, Sprite, and dark rum in large punch bowl. Add bag of frozen strawberries. (Do not defrost – the strawberries double as ice cubes.)

Scoop in half of the sherbet with a large melon-baller. Serve immediately. Add melon-ball-sized scoops of remaining sherbet as the punch is served.

For added pizzaz serve in margarita glasses with a salted orange slice.

Holiday Sherbert Punch

Make sure to visit Natalie Kenney’s blog as she will be listing the best of the best when it comes to Christmas cookies.

Peppermint Mocha because no one looks inside a Starbucks cup

My favorite holiday drink is a good ol’ peppermint mocha. Sure, the Starbucks version is wonderful, but I’m happy making this holiday beverage at home, too. On the weekends around Christmas, I might even make a grown-up version with a bit of peppermint schnapps and creme de cacao…delish!

Raine Thomas is listing off the ultimate in Christmas music on her blog. I bet you are dying to know what my selection will be.

The Perfect Drink because T.V. does everything right

Well now, step right up to my bar and let me make you a drink that is Christmas fall-on-the-floor worthy.

On second thought, let’s let The Office show you how.


The recipe: Equal parts: Scotch, Absinthe, Rum, Gin, Vermouth, Triple sec and two packs of Splenda.

Maureen Hovermale is listing the height of Christmas fashion in lingerie and other apparel. Go ahead and take a peek – I know you want to.

Hot Chocolate with Peppermint Schnapps because sometimes husbands know best

When I wrap presents I go a bit psychotic. I’m the one that will use curling ribbons, intricate bows and a stick of cinnamon to dress up a present for a 2 year old. Granted, they usually end up eating the cinnamon stick instead of admiring my handy work, but its all in the spirit of things, right? Last year I went a bit crazy and the ribbon wasn’t working right so my husband brought me a big steaming cup of hot chocolate. I scoffed. Hot Chocolate? Please, my nerves were as frayed as the ends of the ribbon I was working with. He insisted I try it, so I did. Hello peppermint schnapps! After about three cups of the spiked hot chocolate I no longer cared about presentation and I shoved everything in holiday bags. Let the kids eat the tissue paper!

Obviously its very easy to make and I encourage everyone to try it! Make some hot chocolate and pour a half a shot, or a full shot of Peppermint Schnapps into your hot chocolate and enjoy your holiday! (Then you can do what I do. After the third cup ditch the hot chocolate and just drink the schnapps!) 😉

hot chocolate with peppermint schnapps

Join Karen DeLabar’s blog, where she will be listing the best Christmas movies ever!

Washington Applebecause apples aren’t just for Washingtonians anymore

I’m not a big drinker, and I’m certainly not a little drinker either, Goldilocks. I moved to Washington State back in 2005 where a local and very helpful bartender suggested what has become my favorite festive cocktail: a Washington Apple. It is made with only three ingredients so even I can remember how to make it: Crown Royal, any favorite apple schnapps, and cranberry juice. I mix in equal portions and think it tastes fine that way. I serve my Washington Apple cocktails up in a martini glass with a slice of apple either attached to the stemmed glass or a wafer-thin circle of apple floating right in the drink; makes it look like a fine cocktail and it adds a smooth kick to this holiday season! The instructional video link shows how one Seattle bartender likes hers.

Enjoy, Justin

Visit Justin’s blog to learn about a dozen faux pas that us twelve bloggers have committed at one point or another.

White Hot Chocolatebest served before, after or instead of sex

My husband makes me this delicious white hot chocolate that is almost better than sex (and trust me on this the sex is pretty darn good).  He makes it with milk, white chocolate powder, and real whip cream. I wait all year for the first cold November day so I can remind him how much I love it – the hot chocolate not the sex – but I love that too… oh wait – did I say that aloud 😉

white hot chocolate

Melody-Ann will be listing our favourite Christmas toys on her blog today. Yay!

Blue Moon Beer because it will give you the courage to actually moon the in-laws

My favorite beverage during the holidays is simple Blue Moon beer with an orange wedge. I love eggnog, apple cider, pumpkin lattes, and all that jazz, but if I want to drink something to inspire the wintry holiday sentiment, it’s gotta be Blue Moon. I’m not a big fan of alcohol, but I know I need to be properly fortified during the holidays. Two or three Blue Moons at the holiday family dinner eases the pain of the asinine conversations with relatives and even makes me like those bastards a little bit more. If it were not for Blue Moon, the traditional dinner would most surely suck. Merry Christmas!

Blue Moon Beer

Visit Amberr Meadows’ blog as she lists traditional Christmas foods.

Chocolate Monkey because indulging the inner monkey is a Christmas past time

This really doesn’t have anything to do with Christmas. So why is it my favourite Christmas drink? I love cocktails but I very rarely make them (in fact I have more cocktail glasses than I have standard drinking glasses). But it’s a lot of effort to make cocktails for just one person. You can almost sober up between drinks (gosh, no!). Christmas is an excuse to make them. On top of that, I like cocktails with milk, ice cream, and..um… of course…alcohol! Not a combination that is friendly to waistline. However, at Christmas, I have a no-holds-barred policy so this cocktail is perfect. Here’s how to make one:

1 shot banana liqueur
2 shots creme de cacao
2 scoops chocolate ice cream
1 oz chocolate syrup
4 oz chocolate milk
1 1/2 oz whipped cream
1 cherry
1 piece bananas

Blend liqueurs with ice-cream, milk and syrup. Pour into a parfait glass, top with whipped cream and garnish with banana and cherry.
Cheers,
Ciara

Chocolate Monkey

Join Ciara as she lists our fave Christmas decorations.

Chocolate Cake Shots because the best cake comes in liquid form

You never know just what sort of holiday treats you are going to encounter at office Christmas parties.  Of course there are cookies, punches, and crudites with various dipping sauces, but occasionally, someone brings out the big guns and treats you to a drink that really gets the holiday spirit flowing.  When it comes to this recipe, one shot is never enough.

Chocolate Cake Shots

1 part clear, unflavored vodka
1 part Frangelico Hazelnut Liqueur
1 Lemon
Brown sugar

Cut the lemon into wedges or slices and coat each wedge or slice with brown sugar.  In a shot glass, combine one part vodka and one part Frangelico Hazelnut Liqueur.  Drink the shot and immediately place the sugar coated lemon wedge in your mouth.  It tastes just like chocolate cake, and 5 or 6 shots later you will be loosened up enough to be singing karaoke Christmas carols, even if there isn’t a karaoke machine in sight.

chocolate cake shot

Make sure to read all about our favourite Christmas cartoons on Marie’s blog.

Eggnog – because you can pretend it’s not spiked

As holiday drinks go, I try to stick with the traditional. I’m a fan of the old fashioned eggnog (toss a splash of rum in, if you don’t mind). But I’ve found, at least lately, the eggnog is a bit on the heavy side. So my new favorite drink is an eggnog milk shake. Just add a few scoop of vanilla ice cream, a healthy dose of eggnog and a little milk in the blender and…voila! A yummy holiday drink even the kids will love.

eggnog

Visit Erica as she reveals our favourite Christmas memories along with embarrassing pictures of all of us.

And that, folks, are our favourite Christmas beverages. Make sure to visit the other twelve blogs to see what fun stuff we’ve listed on each of them. Oh, and if we neglected your fave holiday drink, please tell us what

Of course, a whole year has passed since I wrote this blog. I’m not the same girl I was twelve months ago. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still all about the Kir Royale. It’s just that once noon hits, I’ve moved on to something slightly, well, dirtier. Here is my other favourite Christmas beverage:

Extra Dirty Martini

Ice cubes

2 ounces vodka (I love gin, too, of course but it has no place in my dirty martini. Stick with the vodka, people)

5 teaspoons olive brine

Splash of dry vermouth

Just fill a cocktail shaker with ice, add the vodka, olive brine and vermouth. Give the drink a good shake, or just swirl it if you’re worried about bruising the vodka (although, why you’d care, I don’t know, your drink will be cloudy from the olive brine any way), or you don’t want to risk watering down the drink by breaking up the ice too much. Pour into an appropriate glass and garnish with a toothpick speared through 3 green olives. (Three green olives are a must for three reasons. 1. They symbolize health, wealth and happiness. 2. It is widely known among martini drinkers that even numbers are bad luck. 3. Olives are  crazy yummy.)

But D.C., how is an extra dirty martini Christmas-y, you ask. Hello? Olives are green and red! You can’t get much more Christmas-y than that.

extra dirty martini

In addition to the developments in my taste buds, there have been some developments with both me and the other participants of this blog hop. First, some of us have new books out. I would love you forever if you checked out the buy links to these books, like the tags and perhaps even pick up one or two of them.

Ciara – Spells: Ten Tales of Magic

Raine Thomas  – Daughters of Saraquael

Justin – Sandcastle and Other Stories

Erica Lucke Dean – To Katie With Love, coming out March 2013

D.C. McMillen, Erotica Author Extraordinaire – A Decent December

Kelly Stone Gamble – Ragtown
Perhaps the greatest achievement of all this 2012, however, is Kelly’s story. It sounds like something from a movie that Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams would star in but instead it is a real-life tale of Kelly’s sudden onset and battle against Toxic Shock Syndrome. I would tell her story but I wouldn’t do a better job than she has already done so please visit Karen’s link and read her story. While you’re there, or here because I posted the donate link below, please consider donating to her extensive hospital bills. Every little bit helps.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2012 3:18 pm

    I never did get the chance last year to sample all of these wonderful drinks. Maybe I should have a go at it this year!

  2. zencherry permalink
    December 19, 2012 3:34 pm

    Why helloooo D.C.! Love the drinks on here. I’m going to make it my moral imperative to try every (hic) one of (hic) them. I’ve a good start already. 😉

    • December 19, 2012 7:44 pm

      Man, I wished we lived on the same street.

      • zencherry permalink
        December 19, 2012 8:21 pm

        Me too. (Clinks glass) 😀

Trackbacks

  1. REDUX -- 12 Blogs of Christmas: The 12 Holiday Faux Pas - Justin Bog | Justin Bog
  2. 12 Blogs of Christmas: The Clauset REDUX | zencherry
  3. Safireblade

Leave a Reply

