Skip to content

Could you NOT choke to death on my birthday?

January 14, 2013

So one last vacation story…

My boyfriend took me out for dinner on my birthday. His parents suggested the restaurant, which turned out to be a hibachi grill place. I was actually pleased as punch with this selection because it was a relaxing atmosphere and it ensured I would be able to stuff myself silly. This is something I rarely do on my birthday because a) I’ve usually just recovered from New Year’s Eve celebrations and b) I always want to make sure I’m not too full or relaxed to have super-hyper-crazy birthday sex. No worries about that when you’re staying in a bedroom that is only separated from the boyfriend’s parents with a thin wall with no soundproofing.

Heimlich

Is that the Heimlich or…?

So we ordered our mountains of food and then marveled at the skill of our chef as he prepared it in front of us. We gave the egg-spinning, onion volcano making god our full attention until someone shouted, “Does anyone know the Heimlich? ANYONE?” and then, “CALL 911.” The BF and I both jumped up and ran over to the table, completely forgetting that neither of us actually knew the Heimlich. A lot of thoughts went through my head after I finally recalled that little tidbit of information. Thoughts like, why oh why didn’t I take that CPR class I signed up for in December before I left on holiday? Why did I choose to put it off to January? Stupid Christmas shopping  getting in the way of saving someone’s life. Idiot! Well, at least I know the mechanics of it. I mean, I can give it a shot right? Like, I can’t make her die any faster…

Luckily someone at another table jumped up and successfully gave the Heimlich. Everyone clapped and then immediately went back to enjoying their meals. Crazy, right? Oh, and then I got a whole birthday cake! It was supplied by the restaurant and the staff all sang Happy Birthday, made me blow out the candle, and then had me bang a gong as hard as I could. Unfortunately is was ill-placed next to my boyfriend’s face at the time but whatever. The point is, I got a birthday cake on the actual day of  my birthday for the first time EVER! How awesome is that?

Okay, I promise that is the last of my vacation stories…unless I decide to make a full post out the day I got to hold a three-foot alligator named Fluffy but I doubt I’ll get around to that.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2013 1:06 pm

    Sounds like something that would happen to our family LOL How nice of that patron to provide you with a blog story
    Happy Belated B’day

  2. January 14, 2013 6:55 pm

    That is pretty awesome 🙂 Happy birthday.

  3. juliabarrett permalink
    January 14, 2013 7:53 pm

    Yeah, my mom laughed so hard she fell off her chair – when her cousin choked on a toothpick. That’s my family. The memory still cracks us up. You’ll remember this birthday! Someone saved a life!

    • January 15, 2013 4:39 pm

      My mom would crack up if I started choking, too. Knowing her, she’d record the incident and put it on Youtube.

      • juliabarrett permalink
        January 15, 2013 5:14 pm

        Heheheheheheh!

Leave a Reply

