Skip to content

You Like Me, You Really Like Me! Or Something Like That…

January 23, 2013

I’m a little slow to the uptake on this but I’ve been nominated for two awards. Yay me! Each one has their own rules but what it boils down to is that I get to nominate other fellow bloggers for these awards, which I will do as soon as I’ve made as big of a deal as possible out of ME receiving them.

The first one, which I am the most tardy on reporting about is the Blog of the Year Award. Now, you’re probably thinking, big deal, it’s less than a month into the year. That’s like less of a deal than finding a Jesus face in bread that popped out of this toaster:

jesus toaster

=

jesus toast

Blog of the Year Award 1 star jpegBut you would  be wrong. WRONG! For this nomination was given to me on Dec 30th of last year – the year 2012. That fact, combined with the the very title of the award, lets us know that it is a super important nomination, for which I earned by slaving over my computer for hours creating carefully crafted blog posts such as My Sex Toy Has Gone Rogue and the informative follow up I Found My Vibrator. Merry Christmas. Thank you so much, Emma, for nominating me. I hope my misadventures continue to entertain you in 2013.

very inspiring blogger awardThe next award for which I’ve been nominated is The Very Inspiring Blogger Award. This award comes with a few more rules than the previously mentioned one. For example, I have to tell you guys and ladies seven facts about myself. This might be difficult for me since I already reveal so much (too much) about myself on this very blog on a weekly basis but I’m going to give it a try. Here goes:

1. I firmly believe that my Keurig One-Cup coffee maker has changed my life for the better.

2. I recently trained my dog to roll over but then my boyfriend took credit for it every time she did it. I got mad at him and slept on the sofa, only to realize how truly uncomfortable our chesterfield really is so I went out and bought a new one. Then I bought a coffee table and pillows to match the sofa. When my boyfriend came home to find a newly decorated living room, I told him I guess this is the sort of thing that happens when someone takes credit for his girlfriend’s achievements. He shrugged and said he’d always hated our old sofa anyway but since I now have new furniture, he needs a bigger TV. Now we’re arguing over whether we should get a smart TV, Apple TV or something else.  Honestly, though, I don’t care what we get. I just like to give him a hard time.

3. I would argue that chocolate milk is the best non-alcoholic beverage ever invented.

4. I collect Starbucks mugs. I know it’s stupid but I can’t help myself.

5. I love olives and I love blue cheese but I don’t like olives stuffed with blue cheese. Every time I go to a certain friend’s place, he makes me martinis with blue cheese stuffed olives. Last week I finally asked him, “Why do you ruin perfectly good booze with blue cheese stuffed olives?” to which he replied, “It’s weird, I hate olives and I hate blue cheese but I like blue cheese stuffed olives.” *I honestly don’t know what this reveals about me, if anything, but I just really wanted to tell someone this story.*

6. I still have not put away all of my Christmas decorations.

7. By pure coincidence, when I was 18 some random person carved a big heart with my what happened to be my rather androgynous nick name + my best friend’s name in wet cement outside of my mother’s apartment. My mom saw it and assumed it was me, and I must be a lesbian or perhaps bisexual. For the next couple of years I did not put a lot of thought into why my mom kept personally inviting my best friend along every time we went out for drinks, shopping, dinner, family gatherings, etc. When my best friend moved to another city, my mom acted like it was the biggest deal in the world. She even insisted I come over and talk about it while consuming copious amounts of alcohol. It wasn’t until my mom started to say things like there are other fish in the sea and you’ll find someone else that I caught on. I gently  informed her that I liked boys, not girls. She responded with, “Oh D.C., guys are such dickheads. I was hoping you were smarter than I am.” It took her a while to process this unintended deception but she got over it.

So there it is, seven things you probably didn’t know about me. Tallulah, thanks for nominating me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award and I hope you continue to let me reveal inconsequential and ridiculous things about myself through my posts and ramblings.

Now on with the fun part. Here is where I nominate other folks for these blogging awards. If you see your name here, you have been nominated for both.

Erica Lucke-Dean – She mostly blogs about chickens, ducks, PMS, chocolate and stuff –  you know, all the important issues. If you haven’t checked her Daily Blog out yet, please do so. She is fucking hilarious.

Lorca Damon – She has a razor-sharp wit combined with uncanny observational skills. Her blog is insane so go visit her right now.

Lisa McFerren – She is smart, funny and has an excellent taste in music. She also has an thing for Hard Rock Cafe souvenirs that rivals my obsession with Starbucks mugs. I demand that you visit and comment on her blog.

Kelly Stone Gamble – She is hands down one of the most interesting women on the web and I always learn something cool when I visit her blog. In fact, I am adding hanging out with Kelly Stone Gamble for an evening to my Bucket List. Go see what she’s up to. Right…now.

Toby Neal – She is a super cool chick who lives and writes in Hawaii. Her posts feature the beauty of the island, tips for writing and other fun stuff. It is imperative that you stop by her blog to read a few posts.

Ciara Ballintyne –  She is a lawyer by day, high fantasy writer by night. She writes interesting and informing posts about writing, fantasy and other stuff so go check out her blog, already.

Rachel Thompson – She is a writer and social media extraordinaire. If you want some tips to promote your books, visit her blog and bookmark it because she keeps them coming.

Malia Mallory – She is an erotica writer who shares snippets from her super hot books on her fantabulous blog. Visit it now  and make sure to check out her Six-Sentence Sundays.

Julia Barrett – Her blog posts are personal and fun. She’s (surprise, surprise) a fantastic writer, and you should go see what she’s up to.

Raine Thomas – She is a writer and also a wedding planner. Her blog is full of her own posts as well as lots of guest posts and features of other people’s books and writing. Go visit her blog and meet some new favourite people!

Andi-Roo – She likes to swear and rant a lot, which obviously makes her one of my fave people to visit online. Check out her blog and be prepared to leave your opinions in the comments sections.

Karen DeLabar – She is a super hot red head with glasses. Need I say more?

Amberr Meadows – She covers a range of topics, from travel to books to business advice. If your interests are varied, hers is a blog you need to see.

Beth Ann Garland – She is a retired soldier and super cool chick. Visit her blog to read about her experiences in Iraq and more.

Andy Holloman – He (that’s right, I said he. I don’t only follow women, you know) has published a novel called Shades of Gray. Go find out how this blog is completely different from the erotica trilogy 50 Shades of Grey in so many ways. Like, for example, there is no inner goddess running amok in Andy’s novel.

Angelica Dawson – She writes erotic flash fiction on her blog, and it deserves to be read so go read it, dammit!

Now that I have passed on the awards, here are the rules for each one:

Blogger of the Year:

1 Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award
2 Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award.
3 Please include a link back to this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award – http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/our-awards/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/   and include these ‘rules’ in your post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges!)
4 Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them
5 You can now also join our Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience
6 As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars…

Very Inspiring Blogger Award:

  1. Display the award logo on your blog.
  2. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  3. State 7 things about yourself.
  4. Nominate 15 bloggers for this award and link to them.
  5. Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award’s requirements.

There is is, nominees. Now go follow the rules!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2013 10:14 pm

    Wonderful and hilarious post!!! Thanks for the nomination!

  2. juliabarrett permalink
    January 23, 2013 10:16 pm

    Thanks! Oh the pressure!

    • January 24, 2013 3:41 am

      Feel the pressure, baby. I’m not going to be the only dope on the internet revealing my odd habits or the fact that my mom might be disappointed in my hetero tendencies…Wait. No, I’m probably still the only one.

  3. January 23, 2013 10:55 pm

    The best part about this post (right after finding out that I’m not the only one who still has Christmas strewn about the house) is knowing you like me. You really, really like me (a special thank you to Sally Field…this line NEVER gets old.) The worst part about this post is now I have to write a similar post to thank you (and the others) who nominated me for awards that I ignored so I wouldn’t have to write a post about it. Thank you DC…not just for telling me how great I am, but for being truly unique and hilarious in your own right. You write one of the few blogs I consistently visit even when I don’t have to because you gave me an award. 🙂

    • January 24, 2013 3:42 am

      You are awesome, Erica! And I am excited to force you to write a post about arbitrary awards. That’s the funnest part of getting these.

  4. angelicadawson permalink
    January 23, 2013 11:42 pm

    Thanks for the award/nomination. Quite the list to be included in. 🙂

  5. January 24, 2013 12:08 am

    Wow, D.C.! Thanks for the nomination! And the other nominees are quite phenomenal. I’m honored!! 🙂

    • January 24, 2013 3:44 am

      Of course I would nominate you, funny girl! I NEED to learn at least seven more things about you.

  6. January 24, 2013 1:51 am

    You ROCK, D.C.! You definitely deserve these awards. Thanks so much for the nomination. 🙂

  7. g8postgrrl permalink
    January 24, 2013 3:11 pm

    D.C. First, congratulations on both awards. You certainly deserve them. Second, I love the 7 things about you that you list above. Especially, the ones about training the dog and your mom thinking you were a lesbian. And finally, thank you so much for the nominations. I don’t know that I deserve them, but I’ll take the love.

  8. January 24, 2013 8:28 pm

    Laughing out loud reading about your mom telling you there’s plenty of more fish in the sea and her hilarious response to learning you actually like men.

    • January 24, 2013 9:54 pm

      Thanks Emma! Truthfully, my mom dates big fat losers. My choice in men has proved to be a lot better than hers so she has finally admitted that yes, I am smarter than her after all.

  9. January 25, 2013 1:02 am

    Thank you, DC, for nominating me. You are totally nomination worthy yourself. I love coming here when I have free time (which isn’t often)

  10. January 25, 2013 1:28 am

    Thanks for the nomination! I still haven’t put my Christmas decorations away either, and chocolate milk is an awesome non-alcoholic beverage, but it’s even better with some booze in it 😉

  11. January 26, 2013 12:16 am

    Hey DC. I agree with #1. Keurig is the greatest invention of the 21st century. haha.

  12. February 10, 2013 10:23 pm

    I’m very slow these days, I just saw this. Thanks, DC. I’m ready to hang out anytime.

Trackbacks

  1. My Difficult Mother by guest @mollycampbell

Leave a Reply

