Skip to content

D.C.’s Slightly Updated Bucket List

January 25, 2013

On this exact day of last year, I wrote a blog post called D.C.’s Bucket list. It included (obviously) a bunch of shit I hope to do before I kick the bucket. It also included some of the stuff that used to be on my bucket list before I experienced them and was then able to cross off, and a list of the things that I would have put on my bucket list had I thought of them before I actually had the opportunity to do them. Make sense? If not, it’s okay, you can just catch up by reading the post here.

Anyway, I went through the list of items to see if there was anything I could cross off. Turns out there was only one item.

D.C.’s Bucket List

  • Travel to India
  • Travel to Costa Rica
  • See a play on Broadway in New York City
  • Learn basic Spanish
  • Give a $100 bill to a homeless person
  • Publish a novel (UPDATE: I haven’t even submitted it yet. I realized it sucks and needs about a thousand hours worth of edits.)
  • Go zip lining
  • Enter a baking contest
  • Feed a baby pop rocks
  • Hold a baby sloth
  • Ride in a hot air balloon

In my defense of only crossing off a single item, I did learn some Spanish but it was only a few words and half of them were dirty. Definitely not enough to cross off  learn basic Spanish. #LeSigh.

Despite the fact that it has been a slow year in terms of crossing items off my list, I do have a few items to add to it.

  • Take my boyfriend to Vegas. He’s never been and I swear to gawd, we would have so much fun there
  • Join a book club and actually attend a few meetings
  • Learn to knit
  • Learn CPR

Let’s move on to the final part of the list, the things that I would have put on there if I had any idea how much fucking fun they would be. Here are just a few things I did in 2012 that could easily go on anyone’s bucket list.

  • Go on an air boat ride through and alligator, snake and cow ridden swamp
  • Hold an alligator (they have soft bellies)
  • Ride a golf cart like I’m a menace to society who just stole the bat mobile
  • Gift someone in trouble a huge pile a cash and know it wont really hurt me financially
  • Hold a starfish bigger than my head and then drop it back into the ocean

Yeah, it’s been a slow year in terms of adventure. On the upside my best friend is having a baby next month so there’s a good chance I can slip it some pop rocks when no one is looking.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. tallulahrose permalink
    January 25, 2013 9:59 am

    I often think about making one but I would be too worried that I am tempting fate…. I doubt mine could ever match yours though…xx

  2. juliabarrett permalink
    January 25, 2013 7:11 pm

    CPR is easy. Been to Costa Rica and you will love it! LOVE IT. Held a baby sloth there. Get that novel edited so you can cross it off your list.

Leave a Reply

