Skip to content

TMI: Because I have a blog and I can.

February 5, 2013
tags:

You know all those annoying people who tweet about what they had for breakfast? Well, I’ve decided to go a step further and blog about about my breakfast. After all, it’s go big or go home, go all out, go annoy the shit out of people…whatever saying fits, really. Let’s get this over with, shall we?

I tried Weetabix for the first time in my life. Somewhere, somehow, someone gave me a full sized sample of the stuff, and since it did not look at all appetizing to the boyfriend, I was actually able to give it a go. The first thing that surprised me was the shape of the cereal. They look like compressed, over-sized hash browns or something. The next big surprise was its sheer ability to soak up as much almond milk as I felt like putting in the bowl. I started with about a third of a cup of almond milk. Like a paper towel in a Bounty commercial, it soaked it up in just a few seconds….hmm. I added what equaled to about half a cup. It disappeared. I added a bit more and when that vanished I just gave up because I was hungry and, frankly, a little bored. I was also quite weary that my experiment with Weetabix had failed before the first spoonful had even touched my lips. If I wanted to eat a bowl of mush, I could have made some oatmeal.

Surprisingly, even with all that almond milk, it was an odd combination of crunchy and soft. Of course, it didn’t taste like much so I added blueberries and blackberries. Not bad, not bad…

After eating the cereal, I became curious about it. I knew Weetabix were in Britain for a while before coming to Canada but, other than that, what’s their deal? So, I looked it up and because I like spreading the knowledge (especially useless knowledge), here’s the deal on Weetabix:

More Than You Ever Wanted to Know About Weetabix

It was invented in Australia, not in Britain like I thought. It was invented by an Australian and a guy from New Zealand. They eventually sold the rights to a company called Sanitarium Health Food Company. That’s right, Sanitarium Health Food Company. According to the Internet, which we all know is never ever wrong, Sanitarium is indeed an alternate spelling of sanatorium, which is a long term illness care facility. It is also a song by Metallica, a movie starring Fatty Arbuckle and a town in California, USA.

Okay, so up until this point (we’ve made it as far as 1930), the cereal  was actually called Weet-Bix, which is equally if not more stupid than Weetabix, the name to which it was changed in 1936. This event occurred at the same time that the cereal was introduced to Britain. Obviously there was a correlation between then new name and the new country but was there a cause? Yes, there was but I don’t know what it was because Wikipedia doesn’t say.

It wasn’t until 1967 that Weetabix arrived in Canada. It landed in the United States one year after that.

So, as you know, I ate my Weetabix berries with fruit and almond milk. I could have poured warm milk instead, according to experts on the interwebs, but that sounds a little gross. Plus, who has the time to go around heating up milk? If I had that kind of time on my hands, I’d be eating eggs and toast instead of a breakfast cereal. And speaking of toast, apparently some people throw those Weetabix pucks in the toaster and spread jam or peanut butter or melted cheese and what not on them…

NOW HOLD ON MINUTE.

Cereal that can go in a toaster? What kind of black magic is this? If I ever get around to popping a Weetabix in a toaster I shall burn it because it’s obviously a witch. A witch!

Okay, well that’s pretty much all I have to say about Weetabix. So let’s end this post with some commercials.


~

~

~

~

~

3 Comments leave one →
  1. juliabarrett permalink
    February 6, 2013 6:24 pm

    My dad used to eat this stuff – with fruit. Not much sugar. I always noticed the way it soaked up milk and I figured if it soaked up milk like this, what would it do to your colon? TMI? It is high in fiber though. But still weird.
    I was afraid you were going to go all Cougartown on me – which is always TMI. Or that Go Daddy kiss, which was waaaaaaaay TMI. It was TMI to the 100th.

  2. February 6, 2013 6:59 pm

    OMG, that kiss was the worst! I hear it is a thousand times more disgusting if you watch the full version online. Ugh.

Trackbacks

  1. D.C. Why do you blog? | Sydney Aaliyah

Leave a Reply

