Skip to content

Mind Blown…Wait…Nope, I’m Cool.

February 12, 2013

Little Green BagI was listening to an old favourite the other day – Little Green Bag by George Baker. I fucking love this song and know pretty much all of the lyrics but I looked ’em up anyway just in case I had a word or two wrong. I mean, I don’t want my neighbours to think I’m an idiot when they hear me shouting off key and at the top of my lungs. In the midst of typing Little Green Bag Lyrics into my search bar, Google offered up the search term Little Green Bag Meaning. I paused, wondering how many idiots don’t know that Little Green Bag is so obviously about a man looking for his illicit drugs along a train track? Curiosity piqued, my finger hovered for just a few seconds and then clicked on the alternate search term. Turns out, I’m wrong about the meaning behind the song, which sadly proves that I’m the idiot. Why is that fact always being proved? Gah!

So, according to various online sources, here is the real deal. When the label Negram originally released the single in 1969, they mislabeled the song  title as Little Green Bag instead of its actual title, Little Green Back.  After that happened, they just had to go with it on the album cover and what not. That’s right folks, George Baker is actually singing green back, not green bag, which makes the line, Lookin’ back on the track for a little green back incredibly rhyme-y, don’t you think?

So, if this is all true,  he’s not talking about drugs. He’s referring to a man’s never ending search for more and more money, all the while not realizing that his quest is putting him on a path of loneliness and a complete lack of personal fulfillment.

My mind would be blown right now except I don’t think this actually changes the meaning of the song all that much. Drugs, money, beauty, shoes, beanie babies….If you’re addicted to something, the result is almost always the same right?

So let’s alter the song title and lyrics to what they should actually be.

Little Green Back

Lookin’ back on the track for a little green back,
Got to find just the kind or I’m losin’ my mind

Out of sight in the night out of sight in the day,
Lookin’ back on the track gonna do it my way.

Out of sight in the night out of sight in the day,
Lookin’ back on the track gonna do it my way.
Lookin’ back

Lookin’ for some happiness
But there is only loneliness to find
Jump to the left, turn to the right
Lookin’ upstairs, lookin’ behind, yeah!

Lookin’ for some happiness
But there is only loneliness to find
Jump to the left, turn to the right
Lookin’ upstairs, lookin’ behind.

Lookin’ back on the track for a little green back,
Got to find just the kind or I’m losin’ my mind

Out of sight in the night out of sight in the day,
Lookin’ back on the track gonna do it my way.

Lookin’ back on the track for a little little green back,
Got to find just the kind or I’m losin’ my mind,
Alright.

Lookin’ for some happiness
But there is only loneliness to find
Jump to the left, turn to the right
Lookin’ upstairs, lookin’ behind.

~~~

Original video

~

Reservoir Dogs Intro

~

little green bag album cover

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 12, 2013 8:39 pm

    I love this song, but the problem is that once seen, the Reservoir Dogs images that accompany it in the movie *cannot* be unseen. That whole soundtrack is one of my faves.

Leave a Reply

