Skip to content

Things I Overheard Today

February 27, 2013

It is time for another fun segment of Things I Overheard Today!

It’s already been well established that I should stop eavesdropping on other people’s conversations. But, come on, it’s free entertainment. So let’s all just get over the fact that I’m entirely too nosy and I’ll relay what I heard.

Guy: I really need to find a job.

Girl: Why don’t you fill out applications at places?

Guy: Because so many people just throw them out.

Yeah, I’m sure the telepathic signals you’re sending now are much more effective than actually applying for jobs.

~

Customer: If I order a coffee, will you put whipping cream in it?

Barista: We don’t have whipping cream, we only have whipped cream.

Customer: Okay, just make me the highest fat latte you have. Like, whatever cream has the highest percentage of fat. A large. And put lots of vanilla syrup in it.

If I had the opportunity to see just one thing in the future, it would be what this twenty-ish year old girl orders in a cafe ten years from now.

~

Subway operator/announcer over loud speaker: Ladies and gentlemen, there is a delay in service both north and southbound due to a passenger injury on track level of St. Clair Station. The delay is expected to be lengthy between St. Clair and Bloor so we have called in shuttle buses for passengers at all stations between St. Clair and Bloor.

Random Passenger: WHAT IS GOING ON HERE? WHY IS MY TRAIN SO DELAYED?

Subway operator/announcer over loud speaker: Ladies and gentlemen, there is a delay in service both north and southbound due to a passenger injury on track level of St. Clair Station. The delay is expected to be lengthy so we have called in shuttle buses for passengers at all stations between St. Clair and Bloor.

Random Passenger: GREAT, JUST GREAT. NOW I HAVE TO WALK!

Um, okay…

(please note, in addition to the obvious problems with the above one-sided conversation, we were actually at College Station, which is not between St. Clair and Bloor. The signs above our heads all told us that the next train would arrive in just four minutes.)

~

In addition to the above conversations, I also listened in on a fascinating discussion about which Kardashian sister is the best. It’s Khloe, by the way. According to four teenage girls in a food court, it is Khloe.

~

eavesdropping

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2013 10:45 pm

    Funny – especially the subway comments. I’m trying to think if I overheard anything today. I don’t think so. I’m quite sure I did, but I can’t think of anything. I generally tune it out.
    Jae Mac, I’m Just Sayin’…(Damn!)

  2. February 28, 2013 2:59 am

    Okay, I am going out on a limb here, since I actually know nothing about the Kardashians, but… wouldn’t it be Khloe with a K? I think that’s their deal. All K’s. Like the Ku Klux Klan…

  3. xm1204 permalink
    March 1, 2013 6:54 am

    Ah, I love this! Especially the high-fat latte.

Leave a Reply

