Skip to content

Don’t Judge Me. I Do What I Want. Oh, And Stuff About #TheVoice

March 26, 2013

So I was watching The Voice last night (don’t judge me. I do what I want). Christian Porter stepped on the stage and rocked LMFAO’s Sexy And I Know It. And I mean, he really rocked it. After the song, Usher pressed the button and said, “I thought I was going to turn around to a strip show or something,” to which my boyfriend of course yelled, “You were hoping it was a strip show, perv.” I love when my boyfriend directs his angry comments and rants towards the television.

Anyway, here is Christian Porter’s performance:

Now, Christian did not claim to have invented the arrangement to this song BUT when he was deemed “unique and different” and told he “took a risk” and “possessed a certain type of confidence to win a crowd over,” he did not exactly spill the beans that it was, in fact Noah Guthrie who inspired his performance.

I guess I can’t really blame the guy. There are all of those glaring lights and screaming girls and judgey judges focused on you. That has to be a little nerve racking. Besides, didn’t this same thing happen on American Idol (yes, I watched nearly a whole season of American Idol once. Don’t judge me. I do what I want.) David Cook sang this rendition of Billie Jean and received much love and adoration for his originality and mad skills.

Only problem was, he was covering Chris Cornell’s cover of Billie Jean.

Again, I don’t expect these guys to stop the judges mid-sentence and say, I’m not actually that brave or creative. This is _________’s cover of _________. At the same time, credit needs to be given at some point. I suppose that’s what twitter, Facebook and blogs are for.

Here is one more song from Noah. A mash up of Ain’t No Sunshine and Harder To Breath. I love this one.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2013 1:54 pm

    The winner of the UK X-Factor did a performance of “I’m Sexy and I Know It” and likewise kept quiet about where he’d gotten the arrangement. I’d probably keep my mouth shut too, and just enjoy the few minutes of fame. 🙂

  2. juliabarrett permalink
    March 26, 2013 7:20 pm

    The Voice is the only reality show I’m willing to watch. Mostly when they choose their teams. Once the judges choose the teams I don’t really care.

  3. March 30, 2013 11:36 am

    Hey, Noah’s not bad! In fact, he’s pretty damn good! Love the arrangement with that bossa nova beat! I can’t blame Christian for “borrowing” it, but you’re right, it would have been nice if he’d acknowledged the source.

Leave a Reply

