Skip to content

These Are the Songs That Are Stuck in My Head. Enjoy.

April 15, 2013

I’ve had a few songs stuck in my head for about a week now. Of course, I’m the first to admit that if I just stopped playing them over and over, they might not creep into my brain every time I start to drift off to sleep, take a shower or walk the dog. It is so embarrassing when someone asks you to stop whistling at the dog park because you’re confusing all of the canines.

Anyway, I simply can’t stop playing or singing or whistling or humming them, and anyone who has read any of my previous posts already knows that whatever rolls around in my head will eventually escape, only to land with a splat onto this blog. So here they are, in order:

Have you actually listened to the lyrics in this song? I mean, really listened? Holy shit, they’re brilliant.

Little Lion Man by Mumford & Sons
Weep for yourself, my man,
You’ll never be what is in your heart
Weep, little lion man,
You’re not as brave as you were at the start
Rate yourself and rake yourself
Take all the courage you have left
Wasted on fixing all the problems that you made in your own head

But it was not your fault but mine
And it was your heart on the line
I really fucked it up this time
Didn’t I, my dear?
Didn’t I, my dear?

Tremble for yourself, my man,
You know that you have seen this all before
Tremble, little lion man,
You’ll never settle any of your scores
Your grace is wasted in your face,
Your boldness stands alone among the wreck
Now learn from your mother or else spend your days biting your own neck

But it was not your fault but mine
And it was your heart on the line
I really fucked it up this time
Didn’t I, my dear?

But it was not your fault but mine
And it was your heart on the line
I really fucked it up this time
Didn’t I, my dear?
Didn’t I, my dear?

But it was not your fault but mine
And it was your heart on the line
I really fucked it up this time
Didn’t I, my dear?

But it was not your fault but mine
And it was your heart on the line
I really fucked it up this time
Didn’t I, my dear?
Didn’t I, my dear?

There is a theory out there that this song is about a father speaking to his son and basically apologizing for not being able to rise above himself to teach his son how to be a greater man than he, or something like that, blah blah blah. I, however, think it is just a guy talking to himself. Like any other guy caught in the trap of today’s society that is overwrought with so many contradictions and mixed messages where the male role is concerned. He’s angry and powerless against his dueling natures – a solitary creature, a man’s man carrying with him the hard and harsh instincts of his male ancestors along side his desire to be fragile and vulnerable enough to truly give love and be loved back.

Yeah, that’s my take on it. But what do I know, really? I’m just an erotica writer. I don’t think I’ve published anything without the words cock, fuck, or suck in it, like, ever. I don’t do deep thoughts or messages that need to be examined to be understood so I’m probably totally over thinking Little Lion Man. So let’s just move on to the other songs that are stuck on repeat in my mental play list, shall we?

~

And here are they lyrics:

 Stubborn Love by The Lumineers

She’ll lie and steal, and cheat, and beg you from her knees
Make you think she means it this time
She’ll tear a hole in you, the one you can’t repair
But I still love her, I don’t really care

When we were young, oh, oh, we did enough
When it got cold, ooh, ooh, we bundled up
I can’t be told, ah, ah, it can’t be done

It’s better to feel pain, than nothing at all
The opposite of love’s indifference
So pay attention now, I’m standing on your porch screaming out
And I won’t leave until you come downstairs

So keep your head up, keep your love
Keep your head up, my love
Keep your head up, my love
Keep your head up, keep your love

And I don’t blame you dear for running like you did all these years
I would do the same, you’d best believe
And the highway signs say we’re close but I don’t read those things anymore
I never trusted my own eyes

When we were young oh, oh, we did enough
When it got cold, ooh, ooh we bundled up
I can’t be told, ah, ah, it can’t be done

So keep your head up, keep your love
Keep your head up, my love
Keep your head up, my love
Keep your head up, keep your love
Head up, love
Head up, love
Head up, love
Head up, love

~


Ho Hey by The Lumineers

(Ho!)
(Hey!)
(Ho!)
(Hey!)

(Ho!) I’ve been trying to do it right
(Hey!) I’ve been living a lonely life
(Ho!) I’ve been sleeping here instead
(Hey!) I’ve been sleeping in my bed,
(Ho!) I’ve been sleeping in my bed
(Hey!)

(Ho!)

(Ho!) So show me family
(Hey!) All the blood that I would bleed
(Ho!) I don’t know where I belong
(Hey!) I don’t know where I went wrong
(Ho!) But I can write a song
(Hey!)

1, 2, 3
I belong with you, you belong with me, you’re my sweetheart
I belong with you, you belong with me, you’re my sweet
(Ho!)

(Hey!)
(Ho!)
(Hey!)

(Ho!) I don’t think you’re right for him
(Hey!) Look at what it might have been if you
(Ho!) Took a bus to China Town
(Hey!) I’d be standing on Canal
(Ho!) And Bowery
(Hey!)
(Ho!) And she’d be standing next to me
(Hey!)

1, 2, 3
I belong with you, you belong with me, you’re my sweetheart
I belong with you, you belong with me, you’re my sweetheart

Love ‒ we need it now
Let’s hope for some
So, we’re bleeding out

I belong with you, you belong with me, you’re my sweetheart
I belong with you, you belong with me, you’re my sweet
(Ho!)

(Hey!)
(Ho!)
(The last one)
(Hey!)

Great song but I think it’s such a shit video. Here are the lyrics:
Dog Days Are Over by Florence and the Machine
Happiness, it hurt like a train on a track
Coming towards her, stuck still no turning back
She hid around corners and she hid under beds
She killed it with kisses and from it she fled
With every bubble she sank with a drink
And washed it away down the kitchen sink

The dog days are over
The dog days are done
The horses are coming
So you better run

Run fast for your mother and fast for your father
Run for your children for your sisters and brothers
Leave all your love and your longing behind you
Can’t carry love with you if you want to survive

The dog days are over
The dog days are done
Can you hear the horses
‘Cause here they come

And I never wanted anything from you
Except everything you had
And what was left after that too. oh.

Happiness hit her like a bullet in the back
Struck from a great height
By someone who should know better than that

The dog days are over
The dog days are gone
Can you hear the horses
‘Cause here they come

Run fast for your mother and fast for your father
Run for your children for your sisters and brothers
Leave all your love and your longing behind you
Can’t carry love with you if you want to survive

The dog days are over
The dog days are gone
Can you hear the horses
‘Cause here they come

The dog days are over
The dog days are gone
The horses are coming
So you better run

The dog days are over
The dog days are gone
The horses are coming
So you better run

You know, after posting these videos here, I realize that I should stop complaining, really. These are all such good songs, who cares if they’re stuck in my mind? I should just thank my lucky stars I don’t currently have any jingles for breakfast cereal or that Blame It On The Rain song by Milli Vanilli wasting valuable head space.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2013 4:17 pm

    I love every song on this list…. thanks for letting me take a journey with you. 🙂

    Have an amazing day!
    Bad Penny

    • April 15, 2013 5:20 pm

      You have an amazing day, too! Always happy to know I have a musical doppelganger out there!

  2. April 15, 2013 7:57 pm

    D.C. Radiooooooooo!, a little cruel sticking the Milli in my head for the rest of my day, (just give me a song title and it’s hard to shake out) but you redeemed yourself with The Lumineers 🙂

    • April 16, 2013 2:06 pm

      Lol! At least I redeemed myself a little. 🙂 The Lumineers are coming to town soon. I thought I would buy tix but they’re sold out. Now it’s like $400 to buy just one in the VIP section. Oh the fun ways in which I’d spend my money if I were rich.

  3. April 15, 2013 10:40 pm

    You gotta blame it on the rain.
    ‘Cause the rain don’t mind,
    And the rain don’t care…

    You’ve got to blame it on something…

    D.C., I do believe you’re evil.

    Oh, and Florence & the Machine always have dumbass videos for their awesome songs. I just don’t get it.

    • April 16, 2013 2:08 pm

      Fuck. Now that you wrote down the lyrics, I have the song stuck in my head. Urgh!

      AWOL Nation videos are all stupid, too but they are more of a fun kind of dumb.

  4. juliabarrett permalink
    April 15, 2013 11:29 pm

    Ear worm alert! I have the sound track from Jersey Boys stuck in my head.

Leave a Reply

