Skip to content

Going Bitchy Kitschy with Shakespeare

May 22, 2013

Kitsch (/ˈkɪ/; loanword from German) is a style of mass-produced art or design using cultural icons.

The term is generally reserved for unsubstantial or gaudy works, or works that are calculated to have popular appeal.[1]

The concept of kitsch is applied to artwork that was a response to the 19th century art with aesthetics that convey exaggerated sentimentality and melodrama, hence, kitsch art is closely associated with sentimental art.

source – wikipedia

I am quite fond of kitsch. Unfortunately my apartment is about the size of my rich cousin’s walk in closet so I don’t have much room for it. I usually fight my urges to pick up anything kitsch; I just need to remind myself that more flotsam equals less books. Sometimes, however, the impulse centre of my brain wins the war against my will power, which is probably distracted with thoughts of that ooey-gooey pastry it passed up at a breakfast meeting. And what if the kitsch is even remotely book related? Well then I’m screwed. Such was the case with this little item:

Shakespere Insult Gum, Front

Yes, I just had to buy it so I could check out the catty comments made by the master. I’m sure the gum is crazy stale and I will throw this little item in garbage next week but what the hell, at least I can share it with you lovely people before then.  Just click the pic’s for a larger view.

Stale Gumballs

Shakespere insult

Shakespeare insult

Shakespeare insult

Shakespeare insult

shakespeare insult

Shakespeare insult

Shakespeare insult

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melissa Tackett permalink
    May 22, 2013 4:07 pm

    Too cute! Love them all!

Leave a Reply

